Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,807,597 Members 51,107 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

*need assistance*

Tip us?
 
mcord11758
Old
(Last edited by mcord11758; 28th April 2012 at 03:51 AM.)
#31  
mcord11758's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,188
Posts: 7,846
Join Date: Sep 2010
Adb and fastboot are different command lines. adb can not see your service in hboot or fastboot. Fastboot can only see your device in fastboot. Only chance for adb to see a device that is not booting is in recovery or if the device is booting far enough that even though it does not fully boot it can be reached.

The fastboot command are separate from adb

Sent from my HTC Flyer P510e using xda premium
 
ZEDEK
Old
#32  
ZEDEK's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 66
Posts: 467
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: PHILLY
ok..gotcha---I think. In my SDK folder I dont see a "FastBoot" folder by itself--in Platform tools I see "FastBoot.exe"-->again I apologize for my ignorance (Im only use to working on phones not tablets). Before I irritate you any further, can u link me to a site that gives me some info on FastBoot commands and is there any drivers I need to download to make these commands work? Thanks for your time.
 
mcord11758
Old
#33  
mcord11758's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,188
Posts: 7,846
Join Date: Sep 2010
http://forum.xda-developers.com/atta...1&d=1308537331


Sent from my HTC Flyer P510e using xda premium
The Following User Says Thank You to mcord11758 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
ZEDEK
Old
#34  
ZEDEK's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 66
Posts: 467
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: PHILLY
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcord11758 View Post
http://forum.xda-developers.com/atta...1&d=1308537331


Sent from my HTC Flyer P510e using xda premium
Do I add this to my Android SDK or just run as is?
 
mcord11758
Old
#35  
mcord11758's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,188
Posts: 7,846
Join Date: Sep 2010
You use this like adb. Place it in any folder you want, open a command terminal on your PC, change directories to the folder you placed it in, make sure the recovery is in the same folder, execute command by typing it in the command terminal



Sent from my HTC Flyer P510e using xda premium
 
ZEDEK
Old
#36  
ZEDEK's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 66
Posts: 467
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: PHILLY
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcord11758 View Post
You use this like adb. Place it in any folder you want, open a command terminal on your PC, change directories to the folder you placed it in, make sure the recovery is in the same folder, execute command by typing it in the command terminal



Sent from my HTC Flyer P510e using xda premium
ok mcord, I had to do some searching on the web to understand what you were saying--> Im so used to using the UPDATE.ZIP method, but anyway the file that u sent me when I examined it I found that the FASTBOOT file is located in my platform tools in the Android SDK folder...so I used this thread to assist me in understanding--->http://androidforums.com/evo-3d-all-...t-sd-card.html
So I then changed the file name of "cwm-4.0.1.4-express" to "recovery.img"and then placed it in the platform tools folder where the FASTBOOT file was and then used this code:
fastboot flash recovery recovery.img
and got the following error:cannot load 'recovery.img'---did I do something wrong? I feel like I'm so close to making this work
 
mcord11758
Old
#37  
mcord11758's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,188
Posts: 7,846
Join Date: Sep 2010
Check spelling and confirm out I'd in the same directory

Sent from my HTC Flyer P510e using xda premium
 
ZEDEK
Old
#38  
ZEDEK's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 66
Posts: 467
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: PHILLY
hmmm...(I dont know why this is so hard). I get this message:
FAILED (remote: signature verify fail) <----------does this mean its not in the same directory?

*FRUSTRATED*
 
mcord11758
Old
#39  
mcord11758's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,188
Posts: 7,846
Join Date: Sep 2010
Taking a stab at it but your hboot is not unlocked. It would say it at the top of the hboot screen. Maybe you can try to unlock it but I am not sure that will work without debugging
 
ZEDEK
Old
#40  
ZEDEK's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 66
Posts: 467
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: PHILLY
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcord11758 View Post
Taking a stab at it but your hboot is not unlocked. It would say it at the top of the hboot screen. Maybe you can try to unlock it but I am not sure that will work without debugging
This is what it says at the top of the tablet:
EXPRESS PVT SHIP S-ON RL
HBOOT- 1.13.0000
MICROP-0656
RADIO- 1.05.11.0531
Jun 10 2011, 00:12:16

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Android App Review: Control Your Phone with Quick Control Panel – XDA Developer TV

Your Android smart device has many features that you … more

Play Music on Android Wear with Stellio Music Player

Android Wear smartwatchesare growing inpopularity every day. Some devices have already … more

Schedule is up for xda:devcon ’14

With xda:devcon ’14 just around the corner, and the venue close to selling out, there is a lot … more

aLogcat Returns Thanks to XDA Love

The developers of Android, that is Google, gave users several great debugging tools that can be used in … more