Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,807,518 Members 50,851 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Proposal to set dalvik-vm optimizing all code

Tip us?
 
cdzo72
Old
#11  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 775
Posts: 2,626
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Heredia

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Testing this now. Opera Mobile is definitely faster, and I honestly think the start time from a wipe of the dalvik cache wasn't any longer than normal.

Second that... wiping Dalvik on the Streak seems to be the same for me

Sent from my cm_tenderloin using Tapatalk 2
 
HP TouchPad 32gb
Unofficial CM11

Samsung Galaxy S IV i9505 - Omega ROM v30 NE5
Ktoonsez Kernel
 
Edrill
Old
#12  
Edrill's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 43
Posts: 217
Join Date: Nov 2010
Same here. Didn't notice any major difference in boot time then usual.

MIUI seems a bit more responsive after this. And I've always found MIUI to be a bit laggy compared to CM and DSC! Gonna observe it for some more time before I can be 100% sure.
 
sinan33
Old
#13  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 130
Posts: 569
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Tarsus

 
DONATE TO ME
Miui 2.4.20 is not laggy like old versions and it boots very fast.After i edited build.prop it's more responsive and i wrote the results of benches.
 
_n0p_
Old
#14  
_n0p_'s Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,827
Posts: 2,557
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Kiev
Just a warning:
When I was experimenting with this settings, i've got caught in situation when CM7 dvm was trying to use /cache for dalvik-cache and failed.
Works fine with Nexus S dvm (as in DSC v7.0)
And I can confirm higher scores in Smartbench.
More, Smartbench somehow gives results, similar to clock value - ~930 on 998400, ~1340 on 1344000, so overclock does matter in this case.
 
Strephon Alkhalikoi
Old
#15  
Strephon Alkhalikoi's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 415
Posts: 1,380
Join Date: Aug 2010
So do you recommend using it or going back to the original settings?
Noob FAQ
Q: Can someone suggest a link I can follow that will walk me through the root process for this phone?
A: Simple answer is no. Do your homework. No spoonfeeding here. Check the stickies and the search engine. You'll find it soon enough.

My Stuff: Stargate Boot Animation | ICS-style Theme for DSC | MultiFlasher | Traveller DSC | PseudoCream
 
_n0p_
Old
#16  
_n0p_'s Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,827
Posts: 2,557
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Kiev
I sure do.
But just in case keep handy /system/lib/libdvm.so from DSC 7.0 and nandroid backup.
libdvm.so from CM7 has reference to /cache - I wonder if binary change to /data would help.
 
Dude_Virus
Old
#17  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 78
Posts: 714
Join Date: Mar 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by sinan33 View Post
It works with MIUI too but you have to delete the another line that contains

dalvik.vm.dexopt-flags=m=y

i guess this lines value is overlapping with the other lines "u=y" value.

---------- Post added at 08:11 AM ---------- Previous post was at 08:03 AM ----------

The result of first test is:
Productivity index=716
Gaming index=981

with smart bench 2012

---------- Post added at 08:20 AM ---------- Previous post was at 08:11 AM ----------

The result of second test is:

Productivity index=1074
Gaming index=1569

with smart bench 2011
Ok so i need to change only the entry dalvik.vm.dexopt-flags. Below is my buildprop part where the dalvik entries are so just confirm as to what all needs to be changed

#streakOwner's recommended
dalvik.vm.startheapsize=48m
dalvik.vm.heapsize=48m
dalvik.vm.execution-mode=int:jit
dalvik.vm.dexopt-flags=v=n,o=v
dalvik.vm.dexopt-data-only=1
dalvik.vm.lockprof.threshold=150
davlik.vm.verify-bytecode=false
ro.android.kernel.checkjni=0
#wifi.supplicant_scan_interval=120
windowsmgr.max_events_per_sec=80
keyguard.no_require_sim=true
The Following User Says Thank You to Dude_Virus For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
_n0p_
Old
#18  
_n0p_'s Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,827
Posts: 2,557
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Kiev
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dude_Virus View Post
Ok so i need to change only the entry dalvik.vm.dexopt-flags. Below is my buildprop part where the dalvik entries are so just confirm as to what all needs to be changed

#streakOwner's recommended
dalvik.vm.startheapsize=48m
dalvik.vm.heapsize=48m
dalvik.vm.execution-mode=int:jit
dalvik.vm.dexopt-flags=v=n,o=v
dalvik.vm.dexopt-data-only=1
dalvik.vm.lockprof.threshold=150
davlik.vm.verify-bytecode=false
ro.android.kernel.checkjni=0
#wifi.supplicant_scan_interval=120
windowsmgr.max_events_per_sec=80
keyguard.no_require_sim=true
Change
dalvik.vm.dexopt-flags=v=n,o=v

to
dalvik.vm.dexopt-flags=v=n,o=a,u=y
or
dalvik.vm.dexopt-flags=v=n,o=a,u=y,m=y (testing now with register optimization)
The Following User Says Thank You to _n0p_ For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Dude_Virus
Old
#19  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 78
Posts: 714
Join Date: Mar 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by _n0p_ View Post
Change
dalvik.vm.dexopt-flags=v=n,o=v

to
dalvik.vm.dexopt-flags=v=n,o=a,u=y
or
dalvik.vm.dexopt-flags=v=n,o=a,u=y,m=y (testing now with register optimization)
Thanks for the values....but dont i need to change the cache size to 74 as mentioned in the original post tht the cache goes to 74 mb
 
_n0p_
Old
#20  
_n0p_'s Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,827
Posts: 2,557
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Kiev
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dude_Virus View Post
Thanks for the values....but dont i need to change the cache size to 74 as mentioned in the original post tht the cache goes to 74 mb
You've took cache size for heap size. That's different things. hunderteins was referring for catalog with built dalvik cache (/data/dalvik-cache)

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to _n0p_ For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Tags
dalvik-vm, optimize
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes