Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,729,436 Members 45,065 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Development] CyanogenMod porting

Tip us?
 
R341M@N
Old
#2571  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 149
Posts: 108
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Kirov
Quote:
Originally Posted by Common Sense View Post
<4>[ 3956.853851] wlan0: Broadcom Dongle Host Driver mac=00:00:00:00:00:00
Confirm that, just the same in wifi advanced settings.
 
oisis
Old
#2572  
oisis's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2106
Posts: 1,251
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Out of nowhere
Has somebody try to change mac address using command ip? The problem is wrong mac address maybe.

Sent from my GT-I9001 using XDA
 
mobuch
Old
#2573  
mobuch's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 37
Posts: 86
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Gdańsk
Quote:
Originally Posted by oisis View Post
Has somebody try to change mac address using command ip? The problem is wrong mac address maybe.

Sent from my GT-I9001 using XDA
Trying to set mac via adb:
ifconfig wlan0 hw ether <some mac>

but i'm getting:
error: SIOCSIFADDR (Invalid argument)
 
oisis
Old
#2574  
oisis's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2106
Posts: 1,251
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Out of nowhere
Try use ip command. From root acount.

Sent from my GT-I9001 using XDA
The Following User Says Thank You to oisis For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
mobuch
Old
(Last edited by mobuch; 28th April 2012 at 02:42 PM.)
#2575  
mobuch's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 37
Posts: 86
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Gdańsk
Quote:
Originally Posted by oisis View Post
Try use ip command. From root acount.

Sent from my GT-I9001 using XDA


I was able to set the mac:
ip link set dev wlan0 addres <some_mac>

After that I was able to connect, however it seems to be connecting to open and WEP networks only (so still ****ty)...

WPA and WPA2 fails on 'authentication problem', logcat says there is not configuration for the network and refers to the key.. which 100% good:

Code:
I/wpa_supplicant( 2706): wlan0: Associated with some_mac
D/dalvikvm( 1650): GC_CONCURRENT freed 409K, 8% free 9977K/10759K, paused 1ms+3ms
I/wpa_supplicant( 2706): wlan0: WPA: 4-Way Handshake failed - pre-shared key may be incorrect
I/wpa_supplicant( 2706): wlan0: CTRL-EVENT-DISCONNECTED bssid=some_mac reason=0
D/SupplicantStateTracker( 1522): Failed to authenticate, disabling network 0
I/wpa_supplicant( 2706): wlan0: No network configuration found for the current AP
I/wpa_supplicant( 2706): wlan0: CTRL-EVENT-DISCONNECTED bssid=00:00:00:00:00:00 reason=0
 
herzau
Old
(Last edited by herzau; 28th April 2012 at 03:33 PM.)
#2576  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 50
Posts: 111
Join Date: Dec 2011
Temporary Fix for Wifi problem

1. If your wi-fi is on turn it off
2. Open Root Explorer and go to the /data folder
3. Find and select via long touch the file .mac.info (need show hidden files)
4. Use the option "Open in Text Editor"
5. Change the MAC address to the what you want (Ex: 00:11:22:33:44:55).
6. Touch the menu button and select "Save & Exit"
7. Turn on your wifi and connect to the preferred network.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to herzau For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
mobuch
Old
#2577  
mobuch's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 37
Posts: 86
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Gdańsk
Quote:
Originally Posted by herzau View Post
Temporary Fix for Wifi problem

1. If your wi-fi is on turn it off
2. Open Root Explorer and go to the /data folder
3. Find and select via long touch the file .nvmac.info (need show hidden files)
4. Use the option "Open in Text Editor"
5. Change the MAC address to the what you want (Ex: 00:11:22:33:44:55).
6. Touch the menu button and select "Save & Exit"
7. Turn on your wifi and connect to the preferred network.

Note: This change aren't permanent, when you reboot you phone the MAC address goes back to the original.
In 9001 case the file is called .mac.info..
Kind of funny that this is used by wpa_supplicant.. if I understand it correctly, it does not read current mac from the device, but from the file updated on boot?
 
herzau
Old
(Last edited by herzau; 28th April 2012 at 03:40 PM.)
#2578  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 50
Posts: 111
Join Date: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by mobuch View Post
In 9001 case the file is called .mac.info..
Kind of funny that this is used by wpa_supplicant.. if I understand it correctly, it does not read current mac from the device, but from the file updated on boot?
edited, thx
File is not updated on boot, MAC device is not recognized by the wifi drivers
 
R341M@N
Old
#2579  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 149
Posts: 108
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Kirov
Quote:
Originally Posted by herzau View Post
Temporary Fix for Wifi problem

1. If your wi-fi is on turn it off
2. Open Root Explorer and go to the /data folder
3. Find and select via long touch the file .mac.info (need show hidden files)
4. Use the option "Open in Text Editor"
5. Change the MAC address to the what you want (Ex: 00:11:22:33:44:55).
6. Touch the menu button and select "Save & Exit"
7. Turn on your wifi and connect to the preferred network.
Thx for the info buddy! At last we have "fully working rom" :)
 
YMYA
Old
#2580  
YMYA's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 67
Posts: 299
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Cairo
What bugs was fixed in the last kernel? Where can I find it?
Sorry to post this..too much spam to go through..
If I helped you please press the THANKS button

Owner of the i9001 SGS+ running CM9

Tags
4.0.4, arco, arco&sky=sgs+ dreamteam, arco-fangroup, arco68 rules, badger badger badger mushroom, best in the world, cm7, cm9, cm9 by arco68, cm9 for sgs+, cyanogenmod, each new tag represents a justin bieber fan, i want to add a tag, ics, ics mods, ics recovery, king arco, king of spam thread, make camera working ;d, manbearpig, we love arco
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes