FORUMS

Google No Longer Sending Calendar SMS Notifications

In a not entirely surprising move, Google announced that it’s putting an … more

Enable Multi-Window Mode on M Developer Preview

What was not mentioned in yeterday’s keynote was Android M’s multi-window … more

I/O Summary: Google Cardboard Virtual Reality

One year ago, Google introduced cardboard. Amazingly enough, that was all it took to fire … more

Android M Preview Images – XDA TV

Android M preview images are available. That and much more news is covered by Jordan when he … more

[Development] CyanogenMod porting

Thanks Meter: 454
 
By YardE, Senior Member on 7th November 2011, 01:05 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
28th April 2012, 12:42 PM |#2571  
Senior Member
Flag Kirov
Thanks Meter: 151
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Common Sense

<4>[ 3956.853851] wlan0: Broadcom Dongle Host Driver mac=00:00:00:00:00:00

Confirm that, just the same in wifi advanced settings.
 
 
28th April 2012, 01:00 PM |#2572  
oisis's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Out of nowhere
Thanks Meter: 2,106
 
More
Has somebody try to change mac address using command ip? The problem is wrong mac address maybe.

Sent from my GT-I9001 using XDA
28th April 2012, 01:04 PM |#2573  
mobuch's Avatar
Member
Flag Gdańsk
Thanks Meter: 43
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by oisis

Has somebody try to change mac address using command ip? The problem is wrong mac address maybe.

Sent from my GT-I9001 using XDA

Trying to set mac via adb:
ifconfig wlan0 hw ether <some mac>

but i'm getting:
error: SIOCSIFADDR (Invalid argument)
28th April 2012, 01:12 PM |#2574  
oisis's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Out of nowhere
Thanks Meter: 2,106
 
More
Try use ip command. From root acount.

Sent from my GT-I9001 using XDA
The Following User Says Thank You to oisis For This Useful Post: [ View ]
28th April 2012, 01:26 PM |#2575  
mobuch's Avatar
Member
Flag Gdańsk
Thanks Meter: 43
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by oisis

Try use ip command. From root acount.

Sent from my GT-I9001 using XDA



I was able to set the mac:
ip link set dev wlan0 addres <some_mac>

After that I was able to connect, however it seems to be connecting to open and WEP networks only (so still ****ty)...

WPA and WPA2 fails on 'authentication problem', logcat says there is not configuration for the network and refers to the key.. which 100% good:

Code:
I/wpa_supplicant( 2706): wlan0: Associated with some_mac
D/dalvikvm( 1650): GC_CONCURRENT freed 409K, 8% free 9977K/10759K, paused 1ms+3ms
I/wpa_supplicant( 2706): wlan0: WPA: 4-Way Handshake failed - pre-shared key may be incorrect
I/wpa_supplicant( 2706): wlan0: CTRL-EVENT-DISCONNECTED bssid=some_mac reason=0
D/SupplicantStateTracker( 1522): Failed to authenticate, disabling network 0
I/wpa_supplicant( 2706): wlan0: No network configuration found for the current AP
I/wpa_supplicant( 2706): wlan0: CTRL-EVENT-DISCONNECTED bssid=00:00:00:00:00:00 reason=0
Last edited by mobuch; 28th April 2012 at 02:42 PM.
28th April 2012, 03:01 PM |#2576  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 50
 
More
Temporary Fix for Wifi problem

1. If your wi-fi is on turn it off
2. Open Root Explorer and go to the /data folder
3. Find and select via long touch the file .mac.info (need show hidden files)
4. Use the option "Open in Text Editor"
5. Change the MAC address to the what you want (Ex: 00:11:22:33:44:55).
6. Touch the menu button and select "Save & Exit"
7. Turn on your wifi and connect to the preferred network.
Last edited by herzau; 28th April 2012 at 03:33 PM.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to herzau For This Useful Post: [ View ]
28th April 2012, 03:10 PM |#2577  
mobuch's Avatar
Member
Flag Gdańsk
Thanks Meter: 43
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by herzau

Temporary Fix for Wifi problem

1. If your wi-fi is on turn it off
2. Open Root Explorer and go to the /data folder
3. Find and select via long touch the file .nvmac.info (need show hidden files)
4. Use the option "Open in Text Editor"
5. Change the MAC address to the what you want (Ex: 00:11:22:33:44:55).
6. Touch the menu button and select "Save & Exit"
7. Turn on your wifi and connect to the preferred network.

Note: This change aren't permanent, when you reboot you phone the MAC address goes back to the original.

In 9001 case the file is called .mac.info..
Kind of funny that this is used by wpa_supplicant.. if I understand it correctly, it does not read current mac from the device, but from the file updated on boot?
28th April 2012, 03:14 PM |#2578  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 50
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mobuch

In 9001 case the file is called .mac.info..
Kind of funny that this is used by wpa_supplicant.. if I understand it correctly, it does not read current mac from the device, but from the file updated on boot?

edited, thx
File is not updated on boot, MAC device is not recognized by the wifi drivers
Last edited by herzau; 28th April 2012 at 03:40 PM.
28th April 2012, 03:44 PM |#2579  
Senior Member
Flag Kirov
Thanks Meter: 151
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by herzau

Temporary Fix for Wifi problem

1. If your wi-fi is on turn it off
2. Open Root Explorer and go to the /data folder
3. Find and select via long touch the file .mac.info (need show hidden files)
4. Use the option "Open in Text Editor"
5. Change the MAC address to the what you want (Ex: 00:11:22:33:44:55).
6. Touch the menu button and select "Save & Exit"
7. Turn on your wifi and connect to the preferred network.

Thx for the info buddy! At last we have "fully working rom" :)
28th April 2012, 03:55 PM |#2580  
YMYA's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Cairo
Thanks Meter: 67
 
More
What bugs was fixed in the last kernel? Where can I find it?
Sorry to post this..too much spam to go through..
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
4.0.4, arco, arco&sky=sgs+ dreamteam, arco-fangroup, arco68 rules, badger badger badger mushroom, best in the world, cm7, cm9, cm9 by arco68, cm9 for sgs+, cyanogenmod, each new tag represents a justin bieber fan, i want to add a tag, ics, ics mods, ics recovery, king arco, king of spam thread, make camera working ;d, manbearpig, we love arco
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes