Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,769,124 Members 39,856 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] If I have aleady flashed a rom, do I still need to wipe data to flash back to it?

Tip us?
 
di14
Old
#1  
di14's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 79
Join Date: Jan 2012
Default [Q] If I have aleady flashed a rom, do I still need to wipe data to flash back to it?

I'm currently on CM9, if I flash to MIUIv4 and I want to switch back, do I have to wipe data and caches again? And if so, I can just restore a Nandroid after flashing it right?
 
‹BERô
Old
#2  
‹BERô's Avatar
Recognized Themer
Thanks Meter 8926
Posts: 13,763
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Texas

 
DONATE TO ME
Make a nandroid of cm9, then wipe data, cache, and dalvik and try miuiv4... its best if you clear data for less errors. But if you don't like it then restore the nandroid... that's it.

Sent from my SPH-D700 using xda premium
Nexus 5: Paranoid RastaKat / Faux123
Nexus 7 FHD: Paranoid RastKat / Faux123
___________________________



The Following User Says Thank You to ‹BERô For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
di14
Old
#3  
di14's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 79
Join Date: Jan 2012
I didnt like it, so I flashed CM9, flashed the latest gapps (i redownloaded both today) and then i went to restore and it said MD5 match failed! and from Rom Manager it said MD5 file not found. Is there anything I can do? Or am I starting over again
 
‹BERô
Old
#4  
‹BERô's Avatar
Recognized Themer
Thanks Meter 8926
Posts: 13,763
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Texas

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by di14 View Post
I didnt like it, so I flashed CM9, flashed the latest gapps (i redownloaded both today) and then i went to restore and it said MD5 match failed! and from Rom Manager it said MD5 file not found. Is there anything I can do? Or am I starting over again
Did you try and rename the backup before restoring? If so that's what did it. You can reflash cm9 again and then advance restore the data... I think if not then yes you'll have to start over.

Sent from my SPH-D700 using xda premium
Nexus 5: Paranoid RastaKat / Faux123
Nexus 7 FHD: Paranoid RastKat / Faux123
___________________________



The Following User Says Thank You to ‹BERô For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
di14
Old
#5  
di14's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 79
Join Date: Jan 2012
no, I never renamed it. Hm that's weird I wonder why it's not working. Well thanks for your help!
 
‹BERô
Old
#6  
‹BERô's Avatar
Recognized Themer
Thanks Meter 8926
Posts: 13,763
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Texas

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by di14 View Post
no, I never renamed it. Hm that's weird I wonder why it's not working. Well thanks for your help!
Did you make it in Rom Manager? Or did you boot into recovery and make it?

Sent from my SPH-D700 using xda premium
Nexus 5: Paranoid RastaKat / Faux123
Nexus 7 FHD: Paranoid RastKat / Faux123
___________________________



 
di14
Old
#7  
di14's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 79
Join Date: Jan 2012
I booted into recovery to make it. And, I followed these from another part of XDA to restore my md5 files from the terminal steps:

adb shell
# cd /sdcard/clockworkmod/backup/2010-06-29.20.22.53
# rm nandroid.md5
# md5sum *img > nandroid.md5

Then when I went to restore the md5 check worked fine, but it said error when restoring my /android_secure, and when I rebooted, the phone is stuck on the CM9 boot animation. I think that's called a boot loop but I'm not sure? Either way, I've tried restarting it and it's still gets stuck on the boot animation. I am able to go into recovery. I feel that I am semi-bricked? I'm not sure. Anyway, HELP!
 
‹BERô
Old
#8  
‹BERô's Avatar
Recognized Themer
Thanks Meter 8926
Posts: 13,763
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Texas

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by di14 View Post
I booted into recovery to make it. And, I followed these from another part of XDA to restore my md5 files from the terminal steps:

adb shell
# cd /sdcard/clockworkmod/backup/2010-06-29.20.22.53
# rm nandroid.md5
# md5sum *img > nandroid.md5

Then when I went to restore the md5 check worked fine, but it said error when restoring my /android_secure, and when I rebooted, the phone is stuck on the CM9 boot animation. I think that's called a boot loop but I'm not sure? Either way, I've tried restarting it and it's still gets stuck on the boot animation. I am able to go into recovery. I feel that I am semi-bricked? I'm not sure. Anyway, HELP!
Lol no if you can get into recovery your fine... just reflash cm9 wiping everything... you'll just have to start fresh.

Sent from my SPH-D700 using xda premium
Nexus 5: Paranoid RastaKat / Faux123
Nexus 7 FHD: Paranoid RastKat / Faux123
___________________________



The Following User Says Thank You to ‹BERô For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
di14
Old
#9  
di14's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 79
Join Date: Jan 2012
Thanks, I'm starting fresh! Now I just hope any future backups I make are not corrupted like this one, I just don't see why/how it happened.
 
‹BERô
Old
#10  
‹BERô's Avatar
Recognized Themer
Thanks Meter 8926
Posts: 13,763
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Texas

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by di14 View Post
Thanks, I'm starting fresh! Now I just hope any future backups I make are not corrupted like this one, I just don't see why/how it happened.
Don't understand either... first time I've seen them get corrupted.. but everything is possible.

Sent from my SPH-D700 using xda premium
Nexus 5: Paranoid RastaKat / Faux123
Nexus 7 FHD: Paranoid RastKat / Faux123
___________________________




The Following User Says Thank You to ‹BERô For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes