Post Reply

Have I bricked my Desire S? [SOLVED]

28th April 2012, 10:36 AM   |  #11  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
29 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Now that I am sober I want to thank eyahl, nenad_l and ben_pyett for your input.

I managed to get the rom working last night (drunk and all as I was )

I am now running a MIUI rom

Baseband version: 20.4801.30.0822U_3822.10.08.04_M

I need to ask a couple more questions if I may?

The interface is not what I am used to and don't particularly like it. It reminds me of the UI I had on my old Galaxy I9000. Is this as a result of my kernel version?

Kernel version: 2.6.35.14-cyanogenmod+nexx@android-dev#1 Thur Oct 6 14:48:57 BST 2011

My understanding of what I have done by flashing the boot.img is that my kernel is that of the rom from where the boot.img was taken and the MIUI rom sits atop - is this correct?

So if I extract a boot.img from a different rom and then flash I will have a different kernel version and subsequently return my UI to (SENSE) that I'm more familiar to?

Sorry for the n00b questions but I am only learning about this at the moment

Thanks guys
28th April 2012, 10:43 AM   |  #12  
ben_pyett's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag London, Colchester, Wivenhoe
Thanks Meter: 1,905
 
4,931 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2006
More
No problem, and your understanding is not really correct, the UI is determined by the ROM not the boot image (which is ultimately the kernel), so to get sense back you need to flash a sense ROM like Endy

Every time you flash a new ROM simply flash the associated boot

You shouldn't flash a boot from one ROM under another, it's not mix and match, well that's not completely true.

Swyped form ym Dersie S unsig XAD Permuim
Last edited by ben_pyett; 28th April 2012 at 10:50 AM.
28th April 2012, 11:15 AM   |  #13  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
29 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Thanks Ben.

I will look for the 'Endy' rom you suggested.

Ok, so I dl the zip, extract the boot.img, write it from cmd and then flash the rom like normal?

I find it very frustrating to find roms.....almost every time I select a rom to dl I'm redirected to a bad link or to a referral to another referral etc....

If anyone has a source for roms please post it!
28th April 2012, 11:21 AM   |  #14  
eyahl's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag berlin
Thanks Meter: 339
 
1,072 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
Best source for roms is the development section here at desire s xda. Just look through the threads, you will find good quality and stable roms. Endy=endymion ROM
You can look to the index thread, additionally zac made a torrent thread where you can find torrents for the most used roms

Sent by my fingers to your head.
Last edited by eyahl; 28th April 2012 at 11:23 AM.
28th April 2012, 11:52 AM   |  #15  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
29 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Thanks eyahl

I have dl Endy and will try it now.

I'll have a look where you suggested

Thanks
28th April 2012, 11:57 AM   |  #16  
ben_pyett's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag London, Colchester, Wivenhoe
Thanks Meter: 1,905
 
4,931 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2006
More
You must wipe your device (all partitions except sd) prior to each ROM flash

Swyped form ym Dersie S unsig XAD Permuim
28th April 2012, 03:25 PM   |  #17  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
29 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Just want to thank everyone for helping me resolve my issue.

I now have an Endy rom sunning stable for the most part.

Can this thread be marked resolved?

Thanks again
28th April 2012, 03:26 PM   |  #18  
eyahl's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag berlin
Thanks Meter: 339
 
1,072 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by GSR-James

Just want to thank everyone for helping me resolve my issue.

I now have an Endy rom sunning stable for the most part.

Can this thread be marked resolved?

Thanks again

You're welcome :)
Yes, you can mark the thread solved

Sent by my fingers to your head.
28th April 2012, 05:16 PM   |  #19  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
29 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Is there a 'button' or a tool that I can use to mark as solved or does it have to be done by a mod...

or can I just do this:


SOLVED!!!
28th April 2012, 06:13 PM   |  #20  
enigmaamit's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Purgatory, Hades Cluster
Thanks Meter: 1,428
 
2,248 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by GSR-James

Is there a 'button' or a tool that I can use to mark as solved or does it have to be done by a mod...

or can I just do this:


SOLVED!!!

Go to your first post, click EDIT, then on the edit panel, click on ADVANCED and then modify the topic of your thread by adding [SOLVED] in front of it.

You're done.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes