Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,779,457 Members 51,507 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

How to backup the Prime without root..

Tip us?
 
bimbobo
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 53
Posts: 520
Join Date: Jan 2012
Question How to backup the Prime without root..

I am on WW 21, Titanium Backup is installed, but since I lost the root after the last update, Titanium no longer works and I cannot re-root.

I would like to make a factory reset of the Prime and not to lose my installed programs.

What should I use to do that. The Prime is not unlocked.
Is there a simple app that can make a backup of my apps.

Regards
Skype NDA betatester
NetGear NDA betatester

Asus Transformer Prime 32GB Grey - JB 4.1.1
German Prime used in Denmark, by an Italian with Prime setup in English

<a href=http://www.speedtest.net target=_blank rel=nofollow ><img src=http://www.speedtest.net/result/1908850537.png border=0 alt= title= /></a>
 
buxtahuda
Old
#2  
buxtahuda's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 162
Posts: 1,375
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Cleveland, MS
Quote:
Originally Posted by bimbobo View Post
I am on WW 21, Titanium Backup is installed, but since I lost the root after the last update, Titanium no longer works and I cannot re-root.

I would like to make a factory reset of the Prime and not to lose my installed programs.

What should I use to do that. The Prime is not unlocked.
Is there a simple app that can make a backup of my apps.

Regards
Google is your friend!

Could use the included AppBackup from ASUS. I'm pretty sure MyBackup Pro does not require root and will back up nearly everything you would want to. Be sure to move any music/photos/whatever to an external mSD/SD card as well.
T-Mobile G2 w/ Google (HTC Vision/Desire Z) - Rooted: EMaokpM6

ASUS Transformer Prime CG 64GB C1OKAS017xxx: Rooted & Boosted

W7Ux64 / Ubuntu 12.04 LTS Desktop:

COOLER MASTER Storm Sniper Black case
KINGWIN Mach 1 1000W power supply
ASRock A75 PRO4 mobo
AMD A8-3850 APU
HIS Radeon HD 6770 graphics
16 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws RAM
5+ TB SATA storage
The Following User Says Thank You to buxtahuda For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
131313
Old
(Last edited by 131313; 28th April 2012 at 10:59 AM.)
#3  
131313's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 105
Posts: 226
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Zürich
@bimbobobo
I wonder where all your problems come from ..

Easy find:
adb.exe backup-all.


That should do.

And you missed the forum as well, I woonder where all your problems come from..
1st Samsung S3
4th Asus TF201 " 64GB C2" //: JB dock & stock tha @ ASUS,] microsd-card mod tha @ aznmode

Don’t thank me, I am a thankoholic !!

Clean-Setup of tf201: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...7#post28071617
 
bimbobo
Old
#4  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 53
Posts: 520
Join Date: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by 131313 View Post
@bimbobobo
I wonder where all your problems come from ..

Easy find:
adb.exe backup-all.


That should do.

And you missed the forum as well, I woonder where all your problems come from..
I have no issues in this case, just wanna make a reset and not reinstall my apps, wifi and all the rest

I tried adb.exe and followed the guide in this forum, but I could not find out.

I would like a tool that take a clone of my Prime's stuff and save on an external HDD or directly on the SD Card I have.

Maybe I am not nerd enough to find out
Skype NDA betatester
NetGear NDA betatester

Asus Transformer Prime 32GB Grey - JB 4.1.1
German Prime used in Denmark, by an Italian with Prime setup in English

<a href=http://www.speedtest.net target=_blank rel=nofollow ><img src=http://www.speedtest.net/result/1908850537.png border=0 alt= title= /></a>
 
131313
Old
#5  
131313's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 105
Posts: 226
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Zürich
Default loosing root is not an issue??

To me it would be the first concern ...
the second that I missed the forum...
but try the internal Asus backup as buxtahuda suggested. That's the reason why they put it there, isn't it? Otherwise you know where to complain don't you ?

But than it's always better to reinstall from scratch after a reset, isn't it?
And as buxtahuda stated also: Google is your friend. Just login with your resetted prime into your account. Google has stored almost all your installed applications if you let your device synchronize before you resetted it.

Good luck noob
from another noob
1st Samsung S3
4th Asus TF201 " 64GB C2" //: JB dock & stock tha @ ASUS,] microsd-card mod tha @ aznmode

Don’t thank me, I am a thankoholic !!

Clean-Setup of tf201: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...7#post28071617
The Following User Says Thank You to 131313 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
bimbobo
Old
(Last edited by bimbobo; 28th April 2012 at 01:28 PM.)
#6  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 53
Posts: 520
Join Date: Jan 2012
I found out.. thanks guys.
Skype NDA betatester
NetGear NDA betatester

Asus Transformer Prime 32GB Grey - JB 4.1.1
German Prime used in Denmark, by an Italian with Prime setup in English

<a href=http://www.speedtest.net target=_blank rel=nofollow ><img src=http://www.speedtest.net/result/1908850537.png border=0 alt= title= /></a>
 
buxtahuda
Old
#7  
buxtahuda's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 162
Posts: 1,375
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Cleveland, MS
Quote:
Originally Posted by 131313 View Post
@bimbobobo
I wonder where all your problems come from ..

Easy find:
adb.exe backup-all.


That should do.

And you missed the forum as well, I woonder where all your problems come from..
I need to do more adb Lol, I'm going to have to look into this function, I've never paid attention to it.

Would be great to be able to create images like a nandroid without root, but I guess that's kind of an oxymoron statement since you have to be able to get into the system files.
T-Mobile G2 w/ Google (HTC Vision/Desire Z) - Rooted: EMaokpM6

ASUS Transformer Prime CG 64GB C1OKAS017xxx: Rooted & Boosted

W7Ux64 / Ubuntu 12.04 LTS Desktop:

COOLER MASTER Storm Sniper Black case
KINGWIN Mach 1 1000W power supply
ASRock A75 PRO4 mobo
AMD A8-3850 APU
HIS Radeon HD 6770 graphics
16 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws RAM
5+ TB SATA storage

The Following User Says Thank You to buxtahuda For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes