Microsoft Band Fitness Tracker Announced, Available

The wearable market has been around for a few years, with Pebble and Samsung smartwatches … more

Forums Added for the Oppo R5, Oppo N3, and Xiaomi Redmi Note

Just yesterday, Oppo unveiled a pair of rather unique smartphones, the Oppo … more

How to Play Music From Android Wear – XDA TV

Yesterday, we showed you how to do some advanced things with your Moto 360 quite easily … more

Google Updates Play Games, Wallet, Docs, Sheets, Slides, Drive, Google+, and Camera

While we haven’t really had much in the way of … more
Post Reply

Stock ICS Launcher with official ICS update?

OP Ryjabo

28th April 2012, 11:03 AM   |  #1  
Ryjabo's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 128
 
710 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
When this phone gets updated to ICS... I realize that it won't come with the stock launcher, but if I were to install the actual stock launcher would it work? I know there are a lot of Google apps that can't be installed without other Google services or framework things installed, so that's why I'm asking.

And I don't mean some hack-job port of it from the Market... I am talking about the real thing.
28th April 2012, 01:44 PM   |  #2  
rwilco12's Avatar
Forum Moderator / AndroidFileHost Rep
Thanks Meter: 11,684
 
3,295 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryjabo

When this phone gets updated to ICS... I realize that it won't come with the stock launcher, but if I were to install the actual stock launcher would it work? I know there are a lot of Google apps that can't be installed without other Google services or framework things installed, so that's why I'm asking.

And I don't mean some hack-job port of it from the Market... I am talking about the real thing.

Actually it will have the stock launcher included. You'll just need to make it the primary.
28th April 2012, 01:55 PM   |  #3  
Ryjabo's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 128
 
710 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwilco12

Actually it will have the stock launcher included. You'll just need to make it the primary.

How do you know this?

XDA Premium | Galaxy Nexus | Sprint
28th April 2012, 03:25 PM   |  #4  
rwilco12's Avatar
Forum Moderator / AndroidFileHost Rep
Thanks Meter: 11,684
 
3,295 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryjabo

How do you know this?

XDA Premium | Galaxy Nexus | Sprint

I guess I really don't know, it's more an educated guess. I based it on the fact that every version of Android that's been released so far (official or otherwise) had had it.

Samsung just likes to make TW the default. Download Homesmack or Home Switcher to change your default.
28th April 2012, 03:35 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 489
 
1,416 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
It will have the stock launcher included, you just have to clear defaults for the twiz launcher in settings. The current gb version has the stock gb launcher hidden away and all of the ics leaks have had the stock ics launcher hidden away.

Sent from my SPH-D710 using Tapatalk 2
28th April 2012, 11:53 PM   |  #6  
Ryjabo's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 128
 
710 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kingsway8605

It will have the stock launcher included, you just have to clear defaults for the twiz launcher in settings. The current gb version has the stock gb launcher hidden away and all of the ics leaks have had the stock ics launcher hidden away.

Sent from my SPH-D710 using Tapatalk 2

The stock GB TW has a launcher like the stock GB launcher but it is not stock... it is like a gimp knockoff.

XDA Premium | Galaxy Nexus | Sprint
29th April 2012, 01:20 AM   |  #7  
kingdazy's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Philadelphia, PA
Thanks Meter: 687
 
1,612 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryjabo

The stock GB TW has a launcher like the stock GB launcher but it is not stock... it is like a gimp knockoff.

XDA Premium | Galaxy Nexus | Sprint

The launcher is stock, lots of the apps are not.


Sent from my calculator watch.
29th April 2012, 02:02 AM   |  #8  
MeWarning's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Waukesha, WI
Thanks Meter: 62
 
335 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
More
Ya it has the stock launcher. That's what I use.
29th April 2012, 05:38 AM   |  #9  
Ryjabo's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 128
 
710 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kingdazy

The launcher is stock, lots of the apps are not.

Sent from my calculator watch.

Not the other one with 2.3 TW...

XDA Premium | Galaxy Nexus | Sprint

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes