Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Wolf's ultimate flash and downgrade guide (NO ROOT NEEDED) (root opportunity for .21)

OP wolf849

28th April 2012, 09:00 PM   |  #21  
Senior Member
Flag Queens
Thanks Meter: 3
 
203 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by wolf849

It should, that depends whether you had such issues on HC. If you did not than by downgrading you should get rid of them.



After 1st reboot? Maybe give it a try after full bootup.

I cant get step 5 of method 2 to work. It dont allow adb shell to start.
28th April 2012, 09:16 PM   |  #22  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 220
 
68 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by steven178s

I cant get step 5 of method 2 to work. It dont allow adb shell to start.

Check if ADB is turned on in settings and try adb kill-server

P.S. Read more about what ADB is and search for tutorials on google.
28th April 2012, 09:35 PM   |  #23  
Senior Member
Flag Queens
Thanks Meter: 3
 
203 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by wolf849

Check if ADB is turned on in settings and try adb kill-server

P.S. Read more about what ADB is and search for tutorials on google.

Ive used adb many times before. Its the transformer. Its not listed as a adb device. Im on the newest ics update trying to downgrade.
28th April 2012, 09:55 PM   |  #24  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 220
 
68 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by steven178s

Ive used adb many times before. Its the transformer. Its not listed as a adb device. Im on the newest ics update trying to downgrade.

Than it may be a case of drivers or... but not likely adb. I personally used linux. However on windows I had problem that adb did not recognize the tab so I reinstalled drivers from viperMOD and used the ADB stored in its archives. Maybe you should give it a shot. Otherwise get linux LiveCD and do it from terminal prompt.
29th April 2012, 02:20 AM   |  #25  
Senior Member
Flag Queens
Thanks Meter: 3
 
203 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
More
Thank You i figured out the problem. I was not using the right blob, and I did not let it boot all the way before completing the next step.
29th April 2012, 04:56 AM   |  #26  
qmaxmobile's Avatar
Member
Flag Altavilla Vicentina
Thanks Meter: 3
 
61 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
More
Thumbs up Thanks, many many thanks!!!!
Thanks, here in Italy are all desperate, however, this system works, thank you! You really are a genius

Happy owner of Tf Asus 101G (ex) Fota Stock rom 9.2.2.3 ICS
29th April 2012, 11:03 AM   |  #27  
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
31 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
Method 2 said it works but seems not to have


Hi Folks

Have a Transformer Prime that yesterday I Asus unlocked - I need to change roms so I can access the 3g dongle features as I travel alot overseas and will use local sims. So i was pleased to see this thread about getting recovery on my Prime as I had installed the OTA update to version 9.4.2.21.

I used Method 2 and everything went as expected from the shell commands --- correct amount of time, correct numbers written etc ---- all looked good. However after a reboot it booted as normal and in 'settings/ about' it still shows:
Android Version 4.0.3
Kernel 2.6.39.4-00003-g12de84f
Build Num iml74k.WW_epad-9.4.2.21-20120323
So I downloaded the other 500 meg blob file and thought I would try that one --- however, when I go to the adb shell I now get this error ?
C:\Asus Transformer\Prime Stuff\viperMOD PrimeTime v4.5\
adb devices
List of devices attached
C1OKAS064362 device


C:\Asus Transformer\Prime Stuff\viperMOD PrimeTime v4.5\adb shell

shell@android:/ $ mv /data/local/tmp /data/local/tmp.bak
mv /data/local/tmp /data/local/tmp.bak
failed on '/data/local/tmp' - Not a directory

255|shell@android:/ $
Any ideas ... this is getting weird

Cheers
The Following User Says Thank You to kgb-agent For This Useful Post: [ View ]
29th April 2012, 12:06 PM   |  #28  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by kgb-agent


shell@android:/ $ mv /data/local/tmp /data/local/tmp.bak
mv /data/local/tmp /data/local/tmp.bak
failed on '/data/local/tmp' - Not a directory

255|shell@android:/ $
[/INDENT]
Any ideas ... this is getting weird

Cheers

Try to list the directory at /data/local by doing something like:

Quote:

android:/ $ cd /data/local
android:/dat/local $ ls -l

I think you already symlinked the tmp-directory once so that you can go to the next step when the directory already looks like:
Quote:

android:/data/local $ ls -l
-rwxrwxrwx shell shell 684 2012-01-24 23:56 mempohelper
lrwxrwxrwx shell shell 2012-04-29 11:51 tmp -> /dev/block/mmcblk0p4
drwxrwx--x shell shell 2012-04-27 09:13 tmp.bak

regards,
Roy
29th April 2012, 12:10 PM   |  #29  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 220
 
68 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kgb-agent

Have a Transformer Prime that yesterday I Asus unlocked

Than if you have unlocked bootloader my guide will not work for you because it will lead you to turn your TFP into brick. Read about it in this thread.

Quote:
Originally Posted by kgb-agent

I used Method 2 and everything went as expected from the shell commands --- correct amount of time, correct numbers written etc ---- all looked good. However after a reboot it booted as normal and in 'settings/ about' it still shows:

Android Version 4.0.3
Kernel 2.6.39.4-00003-g12de84f
Build Num iml74k.WW_epad-9.4.2.21-20120323

It is normal because you have used BLOB file dedicated for TF101. To obtain blob for your device you have to extract it out of ASUS update what is pretty simple (just unzip archive). However do not flash BLOB by this method if you are unlocked.

Quote:
Originally Posted by kgb-agent


shell@android:/ $ mv /data/local/tmp /data/local/tmp.bak
mv /data/local/tmp /data/local/tmp.bak
failed on '/data/local/tmp' - Not a directory
255|shell@android:/ $

It is the case that once you have done it and now you have tmp.bak file in /data/local to over work that just do

mv /data/local/tmp /data/local/tmp.mad

and it will work. But again if you are unlocked search for method to flash CWM through fastboot.
29th April 2012, 12:30 PM   |  #30  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Rooted - thanks!!!!
I've bought a new "ASUS TF 201" with stock 9.4.2.21 installed on it and using your "option-2"-Downgrade-method, Vipermod-option 1 (xda), OTA RootKeeper (from the market) and OTA-Update (thanks to ASUS) to .21 I am on .21 rooted!!!! Don't install .21 manually - I've heard that this method "disables" RootKeeper.

BTW: I've used ASUS Firmware 9.4.2.15 for downgrading: DE_epaduser9_4_2_15UpdateLauncher.zip (German)

GREAT WORK!!!!!
Last edited by roygaard; 29th April 2012 at 12:39 PM.

The Following User Says Thank You to roygaard For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes