Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,730,580 Members 40,833 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Wolf's ultimate flash and downgrade guide (NO ROOT NEEDED) (root opportunity for .21)

Tip us?
 
steven178s
Old
#21  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 199
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Queens
Quote:
Originally Posted by wolf849 View Post
It should, that depends whether you had such issues on HC. If you did not than by downgrading you should get rid of them.



After 1st reboot? Maybe give it a try after full bootup.
I cant get step 5 of method 2 to work. It dont allow adb shell to start.
Steven TG.
Twitter

Phones: G1/MT3G/NexusOne/G2/Vibrant/MT4G/Nexus S/MT4G/GS4G/GALAXY S II/Amaze 4G/GSIII/Galaxy Note 2/GS4/NOTE3/HTC M8
Bold= Favorite
 
wolf849
Old
#22  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 220
Posts: 68
Join Date: Mar 2009

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by steven178s View Post
I cant get step 5 of method 2 to work. It dont allow adb shell to start.
Check if ADB is turned on in settings and try adb kill-server

P.S. Read more about what ADB is and search for tutorials on google.
Wanna help?

Register your DropBox
 
steven178s
Old
#23  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 199
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Queens
Quote:
Originally Posted by wolf849 View Post
Check if ADB is turned on in settings and try adb kill-server

P.S. Read more about what ADB is and search for tutorials on google.
Ive used adb many times before. Its the transformer. Its not listed as a adb device. Im on the newest ics update trying to downgrade.
Steven TG.
Twitter

Phones: G1/MT3G/NexusOne/G2/Vibrant/MT4G/Nexus S/MT4G/GS4G/GALAXY S II/Amaze 4G/GSIII/Galaxy Note 2/GS4/NOTE3/HTC M8
Bold= Favorite
 
wolf849
Old
#24  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 220
Posts: 68
Join Date: Mar 2009

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by steven178s View Post
Ive used adb many times before. Its the transformer. Its not listed as a adb device. Im on the newest ics update trying to downgrade.
Than it may be a case of drivers or... but not likely adb. I personally used linux. However on windows I had problem that adb did not recognize the tab so I reinstalled drivers from viperMOD and used the ADB stored in its archives. Maybe you should give it a shot. Otherwise get linux LiveCD and do it from terminal prompt.
Wanna help?

Register your DropBox
 
steven178s
Old
#25  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 199
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Queens
Thank You i figured out the problem. I was not using the right blob, and I did not let it boot all the way before completing the next step.
Steven TG.
Twitter

Phones: G1/MT3G/NexusOne/G2/Vibrant/MT4G/Nexus S/MT4G/GS4G/GALAXY S II/Amaze 4G/GSIII/Galaxy Note 2/GS4/NOTE3/HTC M8
Bold= Favorite
 
qmaxmobile
Old
#26  
qmaxmobile's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 58
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Altavilla Vicentina
Thumbs up Thanks, many many thanks!!!!

Thanks, here in Italy are all desperate, however, this system works, thank you! You really are a genius

Happy owner of Tf Asus 101G (ex) Fota Stock rom 9.2.2.3 ICS
 
kgb-agent
Old
#27  
Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 31
Join Date: Jul 2008
Default Method 2 said it works but seems not to have



Hi Folks

Have a Transformer Prime that yesterday I Asus unlocked - I need to change roms so I can access the 3g dongle features as I travel alot overseas and will use local sims. So i was pleased to see this thread about getting recovery on my Prime as I had installed the OTA update to version 9.4.2.21.

I used Method 2 and everything went as expected from the shell commands --- correct amount of time, correct numbers written etc ---- all looked good. However after a reboot it booted as normal and in 'settings/ about' it still shows:
Android Version 4.0.3
Kernel 2.6.39.4-00003-g12de84f
Build Num iml74k.WW_epad-9.4.2.21-20120323
So I downloaded the other 500 meg blob file and thought I would try that one --- however, when I go to the adb shell I now get this error ?
C:\Asus Transformer\Prime Stuff\viperMOD PrimeTime v4.5\
adb devices
List of devices attached
C1OKAS064362 device


C:\Asus Transformer\Prime Stuff\viperMOD PrimeTime v4.5\adb shell

shell@android:/ $ mv /data/local/tmp /data/local/tmp.bak
mv /data/local/tmp /data/local/tmp.bak
failed on '/data/local/tmp' - Not a directory

255|shell@android:/ $
Any ideas ... this is getting weird

Cheers
<---------------------------------------->
HTC Sensation
ROM: CoreDroid v5.1 ICS 4.0.3 Sense 3.6
Radio :11.69.3504.00U_11.22.3504.07_M
HBOOT:1.27 l SuperCID l Rooted l S-OFF
Kernel: 3.0.16-v1.4.0-SebastianFM
Recovery: 4ext Touch Recovery
<---------------------------------------->
The Following User Says Thank You to kgb-agent For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
roygaard
Old
#28  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 18
Join Date: Sep 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by kgb-agent View Post

shell@android:/ $ mv /data/local/tmp /data/local/tmp.bak
mv /data/local/tmp /data/local/tmp.bak
failed on '/data/local/tmp' - Not a directory

255|shell@android:/ $
[/INDENT]
Any ideas ... this is getting weird

Cheers
Try to list the directory at /data/local by doing something like:

Quote:
android:/ $ cd /data/local
android:/dat/local $ ls -l
I think you already symlinked the tmp-directory once so that you can go to the next step when the directory already looks like:
Quote:
android:/data/local $ ls -l
-rwxrwxrwx shell shell 684 2012-01-24 23:56 mempohelper
lrwxrwxrwx shell shell 2012-04-29 11:51 tmp -> /dev/block/mmcblk0p4
drwxrwx--x shell shell 2012-04-27 09:13 tmp.bak
regards,
Roy
 
wolf849
Old
#29  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 220
Posts: 68
Join Date: Mar 2009

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by kgb-agent View Post
Have a Transformer Prime that yesterday I Asus unlocked
Than if you have unlocked bootloader my guide will not work for you because it will lead you to turn your TFP into brick. Read about it in this thread.

Quote:
Originally Posted by kgb-agent View Post
I used Method 2 and everything went as expected from the shell commands --- correct amount of time, correct numbers written etc ---- all looked good. However after a reboot it booted as normal and in 'settings/ about' it still shows:
Android Version 4.0.3
Kernel 2.6.39.4-00003-g12de84f
Build Num iml74k.WW_epad-9.4.2.21-20120323
It is normal because you have used BLOB file dedicated for TF101. To obtain blob for your device you have to extract it out of ASUS update what is pretty simple (just unzip archive). However do not flash BLOB by this method if you are unlocked.

Quote:
Originally Posted by kgb-agent View Post

shell@android:/ $ mv /data/local/tmp /data/local/tmp.bak
mv /data/local/tmp /data/local/tmp.bak
failed on '/data/local/tmp' - Not a directory
255|shell@android:/ $
It is the case that once you have done it and now you have tmp.bak file in /data/local to over work that just do

mv /data/local/tmp /data/local/tmp.mad

and it will work. But again if you are unlocked search for method to flash CWM through fastboot.
Wanna help?

Register your DropBox
 
roygaard
Old
(Last edited by roygaard; 29th April 2012 at 11:39 AM.)
#30  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 18
Join Date: Sep 2011
Default Rooted - thanks!!!!

I've bought a new "ASUS TF 201" with stock 9.4.2.21 installed on it and using your "option-2"-Downgrade-method, Vipermod-option 1 (xda), OTA RootKeeper (from the market) and OTA-Update (thanks to ASUS) to .21 I am on .21 rooted!!!! Don't install .21 manually - I've heard that this method "disables" RootKeeper.

BTW: I've used ASUS Firmware 9.4.2.15 for downgrading: DE_epaduser9_4_2_15UpdateLauncher.zip (German)

GREAT WORK!!!!!

The Following User Says Thank You to roygaard For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes