Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

CyanogenMod 7 for Captivate Q&A

OP atinm

19th April 2012, 01:35 PM   |  #3001  
korockinout13's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 532
 
2,026 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kalda01

It was mentioned in another post that Nexus S modems are compatible with I897.
What's the advantage of those modems over native Captivate modems ?

This is the thread about the Nexus modems:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1493225

I've been testing them out lately, with bad luck. They don't seem to work for everyone. Also, they don't have 850 band, which is important to many, but some have reported getting exceptional service. Data speeds are okay but not the best it seems. However, people say the sound quality is great, but I didn't really notice much in a side to side comparison.

So try at your own risk.

Sent from my CM9 ICS i897 Captivate
20th April 2012, 11:51 AM   |  #3002  
Senior Member
Flag Yavne
Thanks Meter: 27
 
734 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by korockinout13

I've been testing them out lately, with bad luck. They don't seem to work for everyone. Also, they don't have 850 band, which is important to many, but some have reported getting exceptional service. Data speeds are okay but not the best it seems. However, people say the sound quality is great, but I didn't really notice much in a side to side comparison.

So try at your own risk.

Sent from my CM9 ICS i897 Captivate

I don't need band 850 so I think I'll try out those modems.
20th April 2012, 01:27 PM   |  #3003  
korockinout13's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 532
 
2,026 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kalda01

I don't need band 850 so I think I'll try out those modems.

Flash while unplugged. If it doesn't work, wipe cache and try again

Sent from my CM9 ICS i897 Captivate
22nd April 2012, 05:26 AM   |  #3004  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Here's my problem, I keep all my music on the external sd card and for some reason my captivate keeps randomly adding multiple versions of the same files everytime I pull up a directory, however there's only one version on the SD card, and it always just skips over the seemingly blank versions when I actually select a file.

Is there any file I need to wipe in order to fix this?
Last edited by GravityBoots; 22nd April 2012 at 05:35 AM.
28th April 2012, 11:24 PM   |  #3005  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 54
 
181 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Well, what do we have here? Are they starting up CM7 nightlies for our Captivates again?
http://download.cyanogenmod.com/?typ...e=captivatemtd

There is a CM7 nightly posted on 21Apr2012. Direct link:
http://download.cyanogenmod.com/get/...mtd-signed.zip

I may have to try it out!

- Jim
3rd May 2012, 11:35 PM   |  #3006  
Senior Member
Flag Yavne
Thanks Meter: 27
 
734 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by korockinout13

Flash while unplugged. If it doesn't work, wipe cache and try again

Sent from my CM9 ICS i897 Captivate

KF1 caused many calls to disconnect.
What modem would work well for a carrier that utilizes 1800 band in GSM and 2100 in 3G ?
4th May 2012, 12:06 AM   |  #3007  
korockinout13's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 532
 
2,026 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kalda01

KF1 caused many calls to disconnect.
What modem would work well for a carrier that utilizes 1800 band in GSM and 2100 in 3G ?

I'm not surprised, I wouldn't expect those modems to work. Any modem should work fine. It's a matter of trial and error

Sent from my ICS Samsung Captivate
4th May 2012, 08:39 AM   |  #3008  
Senior Member
Flag Yavne
Thanks Meter: 27
 
734 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by korockinout13

I'm not surprised, I wouldn't expect those modems to work. Any modem should work fine. It's a matter of trial and error

Sent from my ICS Samsung Captivate

A few of the modem I've tried cause the sound quality on the other end of the call to sound like I'm calling from a cave. Why is that happening ?
It is not clear to me if some of the modems are pre-set to utilize only certain frequencies and not ANY frequency supported by the hardware.
Is it possible that a modem was created for a specific carrier and thus only supports the frequencies used by that carrier?
Is there an app or any other way to check what GSM & 3G bands are actually being used by the modem in real time ?
5th May 2012, 06:16 AM   |  #3009  
korockinout13's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 532
 
2,026 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
Donate to Me
More
Some modems just don't sound very good, I think it's just that sure of them don't really do well with the audio hardware, or different bands are being used. They probably are carrier designed, but many carriers share the same frequencies. A modem from a different carrier could even work better for you. You can monitor/change the frequencies by using service mode. It should be *#*#0011#*#* to view current status, and *#*#2263#*#* for band selection

Sent from my ICS Samsung Captivate
5th May 2012, 09:10 AM   |  #3010  
Senior Member
Flag Yavne
Thanks Meter: 27
 
734 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by korockinout13

Some modems just don't sound very good, I think it's just that sure of them don't really do well with the audio hardware, or different bands are being used. They probably are carrier designed, but many carriers share the same frequencies. A modem from a different carrier could even work better for you. You can monitor/change the frequencies by using service mode. It should be *#*#0011#*#* to view current status, and *#*#2263#*#* for band selection

Sent from my ICS Samsung Captivate

I'm not sure the service mode is supported by CM7 or is it modem specific ?
Back in Froyo days I had a I9000 based rom where service mode did work.
Now with CM7 none of the modems seem to support service mode.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
2.3.4, captivate, cyanogen, cyanogenmod, gingerbread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes