FORUMS

What Do You Think About Fingerprint Scanners?

More and more phones are featuring fingerprint scanners, and with many promising … more

What’s Next for Samsung and Its Flagships?

If we were to say that the Galaxy S6 was a leap of faith made by Samsung, we … more

The Ultimate Showcase of dBrand Skins

In the search for ways to protect, accessorize, and personalize; a user has many options. One … more

Huawei’s Rapid Rise to Third Place in the Smartphone Race

Huawei has quickly grown to become one of the world’s biggest … more

GB ROM that supports Bluetooth Keyboards/Mouse

153 posts
Thanks Meter: 3
 
By knowthenazz, Senior Member on 28th April 2012, 08:11 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Hi,

I'm trying to find a P1000 Gingerbread ROM that will support Bluetooth keyboards and mice.

I'm currently running Overcome 4.10, and RedPill 2.00 kernel. With this combination and with the original Overcome kernel, I was able to pair with my Bluetooth keyboard, but, not connect to it.

From this post:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1502638


It seems like a 2.3.5 and a 2.3.6 kernel wont work properly with Bluetooth connections..

So is there still a stable, fast 2.3.4 ROM that supports Bluetooth keyboards and mice available? I don't even mind going back to stock, but, I can't seem to find one.

I'm on the Canadian Bell P1000.

Thanks!
 
 
28th April 2012, 09:37 PM |#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
I am on BOCA RC2 v2.0.8. I've tried a Logitech diNovo Mini keyboard/mouse combo on this ROM, and it first behaved as you say: paired bu not connected. It stayed the same when I selected it and tried to connect. However, I could use both the mouse and keyboard functionality in this state. Later, when I looked at it on the Blutooth settings page, I've seen that the state changed to "connected".
28th April 2012, 10:13 PM |#3  
knowthenazz's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Vancouver, Canada (Samsung Galaxy S2/Samsung Galaxy Nexus/Google Nexus 7)
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by vhallac

I am on BOCA RC2 v2.0.8. I've tried a Logitech diNovo Mini keyboard/mouse combo on this ROM, and it first behaved as you say: paired bu not connected. It stayed the same when I selected it and tried to connect. However, I could use both the mouse and keyboard functionality in this state. Later, when I looked at it on the Blutooth settings page, I've seen that the state changed to "connected".


Hi vhallac,

Thanks for getting back to me.

I've read that in other threads as well, and I've tried it with Overcome, but it didn't seem to work for me.

Did you do anything else to get the keyboard/mouse to work? Or did you just wait a bit?

Thanks!
28th April 2012, 11:04 PM |#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by knowthenazz

Did you do anything else to get the keyboard/mouse to work? Or did you just wait a bit?

Nothing special. I got stuck on pairing a little until I figured out entering the PIN. Clicked the device, selected connect, and while it was trying to connect (which took a while), I got bored and moved the mouse, and I had a pointer on screen (while it was still reporting that it wanted to connect). I switched to an edit box and tried the keyboard, and it worked. When I got back to the settings screen, it reported that it was connected. Probably a refresh issue on the UI.

Out of curiosity, do you have the file /system/lib/bluez-plugin/input.so? I guess that's the library for handling HID.
28th April 2012, 11:19 PM |#5  
knowthenazz's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Vancouver, Canada (Samsung Galaxy S2/Samsung Galaxy Nexus/Google Nexus 7)
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by vhallac

Nothing special. I got stuck on pairing a little until I figured out entering the PIN. Clicked the device, selected connect, and while it was trying to connect (which took a while), I got bored and moved the mouse, and I had a pointer on screen (while it was still reporting that it wanted to connect). I switched to an edit box and tried the keyboard, and it worked. When I got back to the settings screen, it reported that it was connected. Probably a refresh issue on the UI.

Out of curiosity, do you have the file /system/lib/bluez-plugin/input.so? I guess that's the library for handling HID.


Hi again,

Yup, I have the directory and the input.so file.

Hmm, well, I suspect that it's a bit flaky for 2.3.6.

Thanks for your help. I'm hoping someone might post link to a 2.3.4 ROM that might work properly. But few ROMs seem to keep the links to previous versions for some reason.

Thanks again for your help!
29th April 2012, 02:46 PM |#6  
alexgogan's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Dublin
Thanks Meter: 26
 
Donate to Me
More
Had the same issue with a few that I tried, and none worked "out of the box" but when you grab an app from the market then had no probs https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...roid.blueinput or this one https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...uekeyboard.ime worked perfectly for me
The Following User Says Thank You to alexgogan For This Useful Post: [ View ]
29th April 2012, 10:04 PM |#7  
knowthenazz's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Vancouver, Canada (Samsung Galaxy S2/Samsung Galaxy Nexus/Google Nexus 7)
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexgogan

Had the same issue with a few that I tried, and none worked "out of the box" but when you grab an app from the market then had no probs https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...roid.blueinput or this one https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...uekeyboard.ime worked perfectly for me

Hi alexgogan,

Thanks for your suggestions. I'll try them out and report back!
1st May 2012, 01:18 AM |#8  
alexgogan's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Dublin
Thanks Meter: 26
 
Donate to Me
More
No probs hope they work out for ya



Sent from my LT26i using XDA
1st May 2012, 12:46 PM |#9  
Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
More
I am using a chinese BT keyboard with the Overcome 4.1.0 and it's working out of the box. I used to use a BT mouse as well, but that was with 4.0.0.

I don't know the exact problem you are getting. The only problem i got with keyboard was, when pairing, it asked to enter some digits in keyboard and press the enter key. But it gave me around 2 seconds to do that, failing which resulted in no pairing. So i just sped up my fingers and it paired and worked beautifully.

I can't verify more things now, as currently I am on CM9 ICS 4.0.4 build. Keyboard works fine here as well though.
17th May 2012, 09:58 AM |#10  
knowthenazz's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Vancouver, Canada (Samsung Galaxy S2/Samsung Galaxy Nexus/Google Nexus 7)
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexgogan

Had the same issue with a few that I tried, and none worked "out of the box" but when you grab an app from the market then had no probs https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...roid.blueinput or this one https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...uekeyboard.ime worked perfectly for me

Hi alexgogan,

I finally managed to get the Galaxy Tab back in my hands for a bit, and I tried your suggestion. Actually, I tried this one (Only because it was reviewed slightly higher):

Bluetooth Keyboard Easyconnect
https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...2JzZXJ2aWNlIl0.


And like you said, it seems to work now! My bluetooth icon doesn't indicate a connection for some reason, but, the keyboards connect quite well.

Thanks for your help!
17th May 2012, 10:00 AM |#11  
knowthenazz's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Vancouver, Canada (Samsung Galaxy S2/Samsung Galaxy Nexus/Google Nexus 7)
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by obahmood

I am using a chinese BT keyboard with the Overcome 4.1.0 and it's working out of the box. I used to use a BT mouse as well, but that was with 4.0.0.

I don't know the exact problem you are getting. The only problem i got with keyboard was, when pairing, it asked to enter some digits in keyboard and press the enter key. But it gave me around 2 seconds to do that, failing which resulted in no pairing. So i just sped up my fingers and it paired and worked beautifully.

I can't verify more things now, as currently I am on CM9 ICS 4.0.4 build. Keyboard works fine here as well though.

@ obahmood

Thanks for your input. I did get past entering the digits on the keyboard step, but, I still wasn't able to connect until I used the app in the previous post.

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes