Some of Our Favorite Features in Android 5.0 Lollipop

Android 5.0 Lollipop is the latest major revision to Google’s mobile operating … more

Sony SmartEyeglass SDK Developer Preview Released

A little over a month ago in Tokyo, Japan, Sony unveiled its new SmartEyeglasstechnology. … more

XDA and Leaseweb: Server Trial/Moto 360 Contest (Winners!)

About a month ago, we held a contest along with XDA’s host, Leaseweb, to … more

Updated Android Lollipop Preview Images – XDA TV

The Android Lollipop Preview Images are now available! That and much more news is … more
Post Reply

[Q] galaxy player 5 international soft bricked

OP jnmaster

27th April 2012, 05:56 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
I recently got a galaxy player 5 international with froyo. I rooted it with no problems, but when I tried to flash a kernel with cwm recovery it would get stuck in a boot loop unless i went into the cwm recovery mode. I noticed that the kernel I used, rumirand's r14, was based off of GB and thought that might be my problem. I tried updating my firmware to GB using WT Ho's custom rom, and now it just hangs on the samsung logo, but I can still get into cwm. I made sure to wipe both caches and wipe data before installing the rom. Is this fixable or have I turned it into an expensive paperweight?
27th April 2012, 03:27 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag Réunion Island, Saint-Denis
Thanks Meter: 25
 
176 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
More
Did you try a factory reset?
27th April 2012, 04:45 PM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Flag Kragujevac
Thanks Meter: 217
 
801 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
I am not expert but i tried the same with R14 kernel and bricked but done the same with R13 and it worked .
27th April 2012, 08:03 PM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris4evernoob

Did you try a factory reset?

Now or before installing the rom? I did a factory reset before installing, but I haven't done one since.

Quote:
Originally Posted by DZonikg

I am not expert but i tried the same with R14 kernel and bricked but done the same with R13 and it worked .

I just flashed the R13 kernel, but I'm still in the same situation.
28th April 2012, 11:17 AM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Flag Réunion Island, Saint-Denis
Thanks Meter: 25
 
176 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
More
Instead of flashing a new kernel there should be factory reset option on the first set you have or in "mounts and storage"
28th April 2012, 11:26 PM   |  #6  
zilian28's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Goiânia
Thanks Meter: 33
 
111 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
Talking
I had this problem once and I managed to solve it flashing a full rom (like 2.3.5 rooted and with rj kernel). It seems some users are having problems when flashing only the kernel. After you solve the problem, flash back group rom.
29th April 2012, 03:31 AM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
I just tried the rom+kernel. It said it was successful but it must not have been because it was hanging on boot again, and now it won't respond to the power button. If I plug it in to the computer it gets an image of a battery turns off and repeats.
29th April 2012, 09:06 AM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 91
 
238 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by jnmaster

I just tried the rom+kernel. It said it was successful but it must not have been because it was hanging on boot again, and now it won't respond to the power button. If I plug it in to the computer it gets an image of a battery turns off and repeats.

Can you go back to CWM after flashing rom+kernel? If yes, usually it is a matter of wiping the data and Dalvik cache. Which ROM+Kernel did you flashed?
29th April 2012, 11:58 PM   |  #9  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by WT Ho

Can you go back to CWM after flashing rom+kernel? If yes, usually it is a matter of wiping the data and Dalvik cache. Which ROM+Kernel did you flashed?

No, I'm not able to get a response from the power button.

I used the ROM + kernel you posted http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1446774

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Galaxy Player 4.0, 5.0 General by ThreadRank