Post Reply

no face unclock?

OP chismay

28th April 2012, 03:15 AM   |  #1  
chismay's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag LONDON
Thanks Meter: 153
 
960 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
ok i got so annoyed with acer i updated my tab myself im now running:

IMAGE VERSION:
ACER_AV041_A500_RV03RC01_WW_GEN1

BUILD:
ACER_AV041_A500_1.031.00_WW_GEN1


YAY...... am i correct in saying we didnt get the faceunlock?
28th April 2012, 12:09 PM   |  #2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
37 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Those are not the correct image and builds, you have a leaked build stuck in there.

Acer_Av041_A500_rv05rc01_PA_cis1 is the official imae

Acer_AV041_A500_1.033.00_PA_cus1 is official build
28th April 2012, 01:29 PM   |  #3  
civato's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 15,370
 
3,782 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by diiorio

Those are not the correct image and builds, you have a leaked build stuck in there.

Acer_Av041_A500_rv05rc01_PA_cis1 is the official imae

Acer_AV041_A500_1.033.00_PA_cus1 is official build

Some got 1.031.00 as OTA from Acer its all about region and even on the 1.033.00 there is no face unlock.
28th April 2012, 09:31 PM   |  #4  
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
37 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
THe facelock ws removed due to the fact it is not reliable. It has been removed from current builds till google refines it and decides to release an actaul secure one that can't be unlocked by a coomon photo grpah or similiar looking people.

Simply because it's concidered a security flaw.

Now if you have installed a leak, you can face the potential of 1. the wrogn bootloader is in place and you won't get the 2 step (1-86 and 1-10)optimization processes before final reboot.

Even if you flash back, you need to change to the default bootloader as well.

031 is the old leak. there has been discussions over the issue on other forums and they figuared out what was causign improper updating .
29th April 2012, 01:08 AM   |  #5  
chismay's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag LONDON
Thanks Meter: 153
 
960 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
ok ive come to find this to be true i have a leaked version even though a few people confirmed it was the official.....thanks,

ok so ive tried a few methods of goin back to stock to getting back to stock to get the ota but of course since no recovery no luck.

ive tried the method in this thread

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1622425

but i cant get the tab into apx mode? ive tried loads of times but i just can get it to go into apx with the pin/reset power method,

ive tried using the pbj20upgrade.exe but it says i need the new image version (Acer_A500_1.016.05_COM_GEN1)

any idea what step i take from here as i seem to have hit a wall
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes