XDA Xposed Tuesday: XHangouts Will Improve Your Hangouts

Ever since Google started supporting text messaging in Hangouts many people have … more

Shattered Screen? Turn Your Broken Device into a Complete Media Center!

A cracked screen usually means you’ll have to spend a hefty … more

Gmail 5.0: Material Design and Multiple Account Support

Google started to materialize many of its applications right after announcing the … more

Some of Our Favorite Features in Android 5.0 Lollipop

Android 5.0 Lollipop is the latest major revision to Google’s mobile operating … more
Post Reply

Busted Front Cam?

OP HearthC0re

19th April 2012, 08:43 AM   |  #11  
HearthC0re's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Solingen
Thanks Meter: 16
 
248 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
Donate to Me
More
So.. Taking it apart and trying to fix it seems to be the only way for now.
Bummer, that there is no analytic software for purposes like this, yet.

Sent from my R800i using XDA
19th April 2012, 02:49 PM   |  #12  
savage24x's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 90
 
597 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by speedyink

I think that is what's up with mine, as I said, on rare occasions it will work, then if I flip to the back cam and back to the front I get the cant connect message. Loose ribbon cable or something methinks.

It's soldered in place. Bad contacts then.

Sent from my R800x using XDA
20th April 2012, 01:55 AM   |  #13  
speedyink's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 369
 
1,454 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by savage24x

It's soldered in place. Bad contacts then.

Sent from my R800x using XDA

Sweet, sounds fun to fix.
29th April 2012, 12:46 AM   |  #14  
cyrusalmighty's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Hartford
Thanks Meter: 146
 
822 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
Donate to Me
More
As far as a way of checking & knowing if it's broken u can try *#*#7378423#*#* to enter service menu from phone dialer. At least that's the service menu number for r800i, I think Verizon's r800x was different number. You can check almost all parts of the phone But I don't remember if front & rear camera had an option.

Sent from my ICS KA twizz-elve
29th April 2012, 01:31 AM   |  #15  
speedyink's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 369
 
1,454 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by cyrusalmighty

As far as a way of checking & knowing if it's broken u can try *#*#7378423#*#* to enter service menu from phone dialer. At least that's the service menu number for r800i, I think Verizon's r800x was different number. You can check almost all parts of the phone But I don't remember if front & rear camera had an option.

Sent from my ICS KA twizz-elve

I punch in that number, and at the very last digit (*) it erases everyting I just typed, but doesn't go to a service menu. Might be an ICS beta thing though..
30th April 2012, 08:17 PM   |  #16  
HearthC0re's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Solingen
Thanks Meter: 16
 
248 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
Donate to Me
More
Nope, getting the same on CM7 R800i.
21st August 2012, 02:13 AM   |  #17  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by cyrusalmighty

As far as a way of checking & knowing if it's broken u can try *#*#7378423#*#* to enter service menu from phone dialer. At least that's the service menu number for r800i, I think Verizon's r800x was different number. You can check almost all parts of the phone But I don't remember if front & rear camera had an option.

Sent from my ICS KA twizz-elve

Hi! I've been having some issues like the ones previously described (camera cannot connect, etc): most of the time the front camera doesn't work and when it actually does the image quality is awful. I tried using what you said to access service menu ( *#*#7378423#*#*) and it worked. It does have a rear & front camera option. Main camera works just fine. However, when I try to test the front camera it doesn't work. Is there any way to fix this like reinstalling the camera apk?

If so, where can I get the camera apk?
21st August 2012, 02:16 AM   |  #18  
fma965's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Cornwall, UK
Thanks Meter: 1,408
 
3,093 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by speedyink

I punch in that number, and at the very last digit (*) it erases everyting I just typed, but doesn't go to a service menu. Might be an ICS beta thing though..

you would need the service menu apk in /system/app for the service menu to work

Sent from my R800i using Tapatalk 2

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes