FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[XS][LT26] Firmware Compilation

755 posts
Thanks Meter: 794
 
Post Reply Email Thread
28th April 2012, 01:39 PM |#81  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by del1701

Have you tried using 7zip ?
Have you tried renaming the rar file to ftf ?

No I have not tried using 7zip, I will give that a try now! Thanks. How do you convert a rar file to ftf? I added .ftf to the end of the file extension and still no go plus I tried using 7-zip also. see screenshot
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen-shot.jpg
Views:	324
Size:	24.9 KB
ID:	1028993  
 
 
28th April 2012, 05:47 PM |#82  
augie7107's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Boston
Thanks Meter: 355
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by alc2077

No I have not tried using 7zip, I will give that a try now! Thanks. How do you convert a rar file to ftf? I added .ftf to the end of the file extension and still no go plus I tried using 7-zip also. see screenshot

Choose extract here and you should be able to extract the .ftf.

Looks like winzip.
The Following User Says Thank You to augie7107 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift augie7107 Ad-Free
28th April 2012, 07:57 PM |#83  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by augie7107

Choose extract here and you should be able to extract the .ftf.

Looks like winzip.

When I unzip the downloaded file, there's a another zipped file named "IMAGE.img" that appears, exact error message I get whenever I attempt to extract the IMAGE.img is "CANNOT OPEN FILE: IT DOES NOT APPEAR TO HAVE A VALID ARCHIVE". That's the file that I have not been able to unpack to extract the ftf file. I have spent countless hours reading through the forum and I can't seem to find an answer. Quite frustrating because I have rooted HTC & Samsung devices and have never spent this many hours trying to flash a root image like I am with the XPS. Makes me question whether or not I want to keep this phone

The exact error message i receive is "
Thanks for the help
29th April 2012, 02:08 AM |#84  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
I was able to finally flash my xperia using QuickIMG App. Made it so much easier, thanks guys for all your suggestions........
1st May 2012, 10:45 PM |#85  
Member
Flag erbil
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
Lightbulb
both of ftf files are same size firmwares and root.and i dl orginal lobanon firmware and flashed i cant dl root firmware because of my internet limit.now how can i root my phone?i dont want to use doomkernel to root it because when i flash doomkernel it reboot at start up..my phone is unluck

i know this is not right place to ask this.sorry.
2nd May 2012, 11:58 AM |#86  
Yakandu's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Bilbao
Thanks Meter: 794
 
Donate to Me
More
I update some links and the organization of the main post, now you can find things quickly

And i have a question, there is any [spoiler][/spoiler] like option here?
2nd May 2012, 05:44 PM |#87  
augie7107's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Boston
Thanks Meter: 355
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yakandu

I update some links and the organization of the main post, now you can find things quickly

And i have a question, there is any [spoiler][/spoiler] like option here?

On the 6.0.A.4.1 firmware you have Jap Generic. This is Docomo branded firmware.
2nd May 2012, 05:54 PM |#88  
Yakandu's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Bilbao
Thanks Meter: 794
 
Donate to Me
More
corrected
2nd May 2012, 07:37 PM |#89  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 47
 
More
Just to double check I can flash the [FIRMWARE][6.0.A.3.73] Central Europe 1 Generic: OT on my locked bootloader xperia s? I'm guessing the rooted version is for unlocked bl only?

Also I assume its fine but do I have to back up my files apps etc. or will they remain there after flashing?

Sorry still a new to all this

thanks
2nd May 2012, 07:40 PM |#90  
Senior Member
Flag Linz
Thanks Meter: 82
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by adsada arc

Just to double check I can flash the [FIRMWARE][6.0.A.3.73] Central Europe 1 Generic: OT on my locked bootloader xperia s? I'm guessing the rooted version is for unlocked bl only?

Also I assume its fine but do I have to back up my files apps etc. or will they remain there after flashing?

Sorry still a new to all this

thanks

Yes you can, I did the same yesterday.
Rooted one is for unlocked bootloader.

Your apps and settings will be there as long as you uncheck wipe user data.

I also got one question: After updating to CE1 Generic at least one app specific to my provider is still installed and not removable. Do I have to wipe the user data for this to go away (I don't mind it so I won't do it, just curious)?
The Following User Says Thank You to Pezo For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Pezo Ad-Free
3rd May 2012, 02:48 PM |#91  
Sikiduck's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 49
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pezo

I also got one question: After updating to CE1 Generic at least one app specific to my provider is still installed and not removable. Do I have to wipe the user data for this to go away (I don't mind it so I won't do it, just curious)?

Yes, I believe so

Sent from my LT26i using xda premium
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes