Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,812,579 Members 44,103 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Desire Z on WIND Mobile (which radio version)

Tip us?
 
skewty
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 14
Posts: 126
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Vancouver (Port Moody)
Default Desire Z on WIND Mobile (which radio version)

Has anyone figured out which radio version works best with WIND Mobile in Canada?

My phone seems to randomly lose data connection. To get data back, I turn mobile data off then on again. It happens so frequently, I have it in my Notification window as a toggle.

I have Automatcher v7 to match RIL with radio version. I also have wipe EFS.

Thanks,
Scott

Sent from my HTC Vision using XDA
 
evilcuber
Old
(Last edited by evilcuber; 29th April 2012 at 02:38 AM.)
#2  
evilcuber's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 678
Posts: 1,139
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Toronto

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by skewty View Post
Has anyone figured out which radio version works best with WIND Mobile in Canada?

My phone seems to randomly lose data connection. To get data back, I turn mobile data off then on again. It happens so frequently, I have it in my Notification window as a toggle.

I have Automatcher v7 to match RIL with radio version. I also have wipe EFS.

Thanks,
Scott

Sent from my HTC Vision using XDA
You could try to change your APN settings. Also i thought the DZ dosent work on wind because it has differrent frequencies?

Sent from my HTC Vision using xda premium
____________________________________
Quote:
PHONE: HTC ONE (Unlocked)-Rooted
ROM: TrickDroid 7.5 (Full Sense 5.0, Android 2.2)
Kernel: Stock
------><------
TABLET: ASUS EEE Pad Transformer Prime-(ICS)(Rooted and Unlocked)
ROM: Virtuous Prime S .15 v2
Other Stuff: iPad 2 (Jailbroken)
My ROM: QuadraSense 1.2
Quote:
 
skewty
Old
(Last edited by skewty; 29th April 2012 at 02:20 AM.)
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 14
Posts: 126
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Vancouver (Port Moody)
Quote:
Originally Posted by evilcuber View Post
You need to change your APN settings. Also i thought the DZ dosent work on wind because it has differrent frequencies?
Oops! I meant G2 (T-Mobile). I have a G2.

If my APN settings were incorrect, why would my data work most of the time?
 
blk_jack
Old
#4  
blk_jack's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 4,007
Posts: 2,061
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Toronto
Quote:
Originally Posted by skewty View Post
Oops! I meant G2 (T-Mobile). I have a G2.

If my APN settings were incorrect, why would my data work most of the time?
As someone who has friends on Wind... I'm thinking it may be your network. Also, you're not supposed to match the rils unless you're using sense. Which ROM are you running?

Sent from my Transformer TF101 using xda premium

Samsung SGH-I337M - Slim Bean 4.4
HTC Vision - Andromadus Slim Bean 4.2.2




Come join us on IRC:
#slimusers on freenode

 
uvt_novice
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 183
Posts: 856
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Toronto

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by skewty View Post
Oops! I meant G2 (T-Mobile). I have a G2.

If my APN settings were incorrect, why would my data work most of the time?
Use latest Radio from T-Mobile 26.13.04.19_M, I'm on it, have never lost 3.5 G data connection
Present phone: HTC One (happy to return to HTC)
ROM: Viper One


Tested or used in the past:
HTC Dream/T-Mobile G1>>>>HTC Vision/T-Mobile G2>>>>HTC Amaze 4G >>>HTC One S>>>SGS III:
ROMs: Ginger Yoshi/Ginger COS-DS >> Andromadus, RCMix 4.0, Vision-RunnyMede-Sense 3.5, Virtuous Unity, MikRunny v1.01, BeatMod, >> Energy ROM>>>Viper One S>>>S3Rx

Wife's phone: HTC Glacier>>>HTC Amaze 4G>>>HTC One S
Devs: Team Venom and Sportsstar89
 
skewty
Old
#6  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 14
Posts: 126
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Vancouver (Port Moody)
I am currently running ILWT but experienced the same running CM 7, ICS Audacity and ICS Quattro.

I have flashed the newest TMobile ROM a few times.. It must be the WIND network here.

Sent from my HTC Vision using XDA
 
skewty
Old
#7  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 14
Posts: 126
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Vancouver (Port Moody)
Arrow Update

I don't think it is the network. My father's Amaze does not have this problem in the same places.

ILWT has been the most reliable ROM for me so far. I am currently running Andromadus b4 and am considering switching back because of the data drop-out issue. I have tried 5 different radio versions now.

It must be the ROM. Perhaps it encounters some data it can't make sense of and crashes. Perhaps it just needs to restart itself when this happens. A simple mobile data off, mobile data on fixes it almost every time.

I also find the bars reading incorrect. I be driving down the road with my screen on and the charger plugged in, and it will show me full bars. I can pull over and park for a few minutes, bars still full. Then suddenly half bars, no bars. This behavior is from a device that isn't being physically surrounded / shielded and is stationary.

Anyways, my G2 is getting old and it needs a another core to keep up with the way I now use it. I will wait for Jelly Bean but will likely switch to IOS.


Reasons If You Care

The menu button disaster is a big one for me. Also the lack of quick updates from Google for Nexus S and Nexus One. These devices should have had OS updates released on the same day the Galaxy Nexus was released.

ICS should have been backwards compatible for older devices as well. A few #ifdef in the code for fancy screen rendering and such. Big, huge fail!

Google, also, should have required no physical menu button for access to Google apps to enforce the new way. With only like 7% ICS market share no wonder app devs write for GB.

Google's handling of Android updates has opened my eyes.
 
blk_jack
Old
#8  
blk_jack's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 4,007
Posts: 2,061
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Toronto
Quote:
Originally Posted by skewty View Post
I don't think it is the network. My father's Amaze does not have this problem in the same places.

ILWT has been the most reliable ROM for me so far. I am currently running Andromadus b4 and am considering switching back because of the data drop-out issue. I have tried 5 different radio versions now.

It must be the ROM. Perhaps it encounters some data it can't make sense of and crashes. Perhaps it just needs to restart itself when this happens. A simple mobile data off, mobile data on fixes it almost every time.

I also find the bars reading incorrect. I be driving down the road with my screen on and the charger plugged in, and it will show me full bars. I can pull over and park for a few minutes, bars still full. Then suddenly half bars, no bars. This behavior is from a device that isn't being physically surrounded / shielded and is stationary.

Anyways, my G2 is getting old and it needs a another core to keep up with the way I now use it. I will wait for Jelly Bean but will likely switch to IOS.


Reasons If You Care

The menu button disaster is a big one for me. Also the lack of quick updates from Google for Nexus S and Nexus One. These devices should have had OS updates released on the same day the Galaxy Nexus was released.

ICS should have been backwards compatible for older devices as well. A few #ifdef in the code for fancy screen rendering and such. Big, huge fail!

Google, also, should have required no physical menu button for access to Google apps to enforce the new way. With only like 7% ICS market share no wonder app devs write for GB.

Google's handling of Android updates has opened my eyes.
The issue isn't ICS. The issue is the vendors haven't released proper drivers for ICS. What we're dealing with is code we've hacked up to make things work. If the vendors released ICS source code for our devices things would be much more stable.

We're always working within our means. It's not Android/Google's fault and it's not an ICS issue, it's just circumstance.

Samsung SGH-I337M - Slim Bean 4.4
HTC Vision - Andromadus Slim Bean 4.2.2




Come join us on IRC:
#slimusers on freenode

The Following User Says Thank You to blk_jack For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
skewty
Old
#9  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 14
Posts: 126
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Vancouver (Port Moody)
Default Thanks

I realize where most of the issues lie. I am an EE grad so I can imagine how difficult hacking ROMs together without device drivers might be.

Writing ASM for a microproc with the datasheets is bad enough. Without knowing what each control register is for and what each bit controls, it is a guessing game at best. I get that.

I very much do appreciate your work. As you are aware, from reading my post, I run a ROM you contribute to. Thank you. You have prolonged the life / pleasure balance I require from my smartphone.

I would contribute more to the development, but my post count was less than 10. I was actually working towards my 10 posts today to post in the dev forums. (The Andromadus beta 4 thread to be more precise).
 
blk_jack
Old
#10  
blk_jack's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 4,007
Posts: 2,061
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Toronto
Quote:
Originally Posted by skewty View Post
I realize where most of the issues lie. I am an EE grad so I can imagine how difficult hacking ROMs together without device drivers might be.

Writing ASM for a microproc with the datasheets is bad enough. Without knowing what each control register is for and what each bit controls, it is a guessing game at best. I get that.

I very much do appreciate your work. As you are aware, from reading my post, I run a ROM you contribute to. Thank you. You have prolonged the life / pleasure balance I require from my smartphone.

I would contribute more to the development, but my post count was less than 10. I was actually working towards my 10 posts today to post in the dev forums. (The Andromadus beta 4 thread to be more precise).
Drop by #g2ics on freenode if you're interested

Samsung SGH-I337M - Slim Bean 4.4
HTC Vision - Andromadus Slim Bean 4.2.2




Come join us on IRC:
#slimusers on freenode


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Sony PS4 Remote Play Ported to All Android Devices

Im pretty sure that every informed gamer out there perked their ears up when Sony came out … more

Change Your Samsung Galaxy S2’s Dialer Background in Real Time

As with anything, if youve looked at something long enough, things can … more

Increase Your Multitasking Workflow with C-Floating Windows

Technology has put life on the fast track. Lazy, relaxed days have turned into … more

Compile Your Own Kernel From Source with Comprehensive Tutorial

One glance at any developer section of any device forum on XDA and youll find … more