Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,778,037 Members 52,425 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Running Rooted 3.2.1 to ICS? Do I unroot?

Tip us?
 
tu3218
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 253
Posts: 2,468
Join Date: Apr 2009
Default Running Rooted 3.2.1 to ICS? Do I unroot?

I'm running completely stock, no rom anything. Just flashed updates from users here to update me to the latest HC. I received the ICS update but pretty sure it won't work since I'm rooted and running CWM recovery. What do I need to do to install ICS? thanks
 
3d0rr
Old
#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 15
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Caracas

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by tu3218 View Post
I'm running completely stock, no rom anything. Just flashed updates from users here to update me to the latest HC. I received the ICS update but pretty sure it won't work since I'm rooted and running CWM recovery. What do I need to do to install ICS? thanks
Same question here

Sent from my A500 using XDA
@3d0rr
Table: Acer Iconia A500 - Stock ICS 4.0.3 1.033.00_PA_CUS1
Phone: Samsung Galaxy Mini GT-S5570L - Official CM7 Nightly
 
thorne75
Old
#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: New Jersey
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3d0rr View Post
Same question here

Sent from my A500 using XDA
I am in the same camp.
I'm running a rooted 3.2 stock by Timmy Dean.
I'm happy I didn't jump the gun when I Saw the update last night, because it seems I would have truly been screwed.

What I would like to know is if a rooted 3.2 can simply be unrooted. Seems this would the simplest thing to do.

Thanks in advance for any and all help.
 
tu3218
Old
#4  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 253
Posts: 2,468
Join Date: Apr 2009
Apparently the root doesn't matter. It will just be removed when we install the ota ICS. What worries me is recovery. Because it has to boot into a recovery to install ICS. I had CWM installed then flashed to stock by acer recovery tool in the play store. But when I manually boot into recovery, I get a exclamation point inside a triangle. What recovery are you guys running?
 
3d0rr
Old
#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 15
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Caracas

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by tu3218 View Post
Apparently the root doesn't matter. It will just be removed when we install the ota ICS. What worries me is recovery. Because it has to boot into a recovery to install ICS. I had CWM installed then flashed to stock by acer recovery tool in the play store. But when I manually boot into recovery, I get a exclamation point inside a triangle. What recovery are you guys running?
I have CWM recovery by thor2002. I think we can't update via ITS unless we flash original recovery

Sent from my A500 using XDA
@3d0rr
Table: Acer Iconia A500 - Stock ICS 4.0.3 1.033.00_PA_CUS1
Phone: Samsung Galaxy Mini GT-S5570L - Official CM7 Nightly
 
tu3218
Old
#6  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 253
Posts: 2,468
Join Date: Apr 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3d0rr View Post
I have CWM recovery by thor2002. I think we can't update via ITS unless we flash original recovery

Sent from my A500 using XDA
Yeah I think so as well. I flashed stock via the Acer recovery tool but I get nothing when I boot into recovery except what I stated above. I'm not sure if that's right or not.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using XDA
 
jpinsl
Old
(Last edited by jpinsl; 1st May 2012 at 01:12 AM.) Reason: update
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 31
Posts: 165
Join Date: May 2008
I was happily running timmydean's rooted 3.2.1 based on the leaked OTA. The ICS upgrade came through and installed just fine. No loss of data and the programs I tried all worked. I was on stock 4.0.4 unrooted.

However, I'm now borked. I rebooted into recovery (Power, Vol -) to see about rooting via the backdoor I'd installed. I had thor's 1.7 Touch CWM recovery installed. I got some weird message that recovery was broken. (Don't recall the exact msg.)

After that, it hung on the "android" screen. Soft-bricked.

So I did a factory reset (Power, vol+, rock screen switch) and ended up back on 3.2.1. Now, the Settings > About > Check update results in the "Network coverage is currently poor. Please move to a location with better coverage to continue." message.

My WiFi is fine, speedtest.net reports a 20 Mbps download. All other apps function well. I'm pulling a DCHP address from my router.

I'm fairly sure this is a badly-worded error message from Acer and actually refers to server overload or some other issue on their end.

Also, installing the latest Acer Iconia Update preps the system for ICS. At one point, installing it allowed the update to proceed, but not to ICS. Uninstalling/reinstalling that update seemed to jog the system at one time.

So I tried wiping data/cache/dalvik and went back to stock 3.2. Same error message when updating. Wiped again and went back to stock 3.0.1. Same error message.

So I'm stuck and am going to give it a few days to see if Acer can sort out their upgrade path. If not, I will probably load CM9 or Thor's ICS ROM. (I do have a Nandroid, so I can get back to where I was pre-ICS.)

All in all, I'm very disappointed in Acer for borking my tablet.
________
Update: So now a day later, the "poor coverage" message was replaced by an "update available". Installed A500_7.014.03_com_gen1, after reboot, another update A500_7.014.15_com_gen1 installed. I am now on stock 3.2.1.

System update shows "Your device is up to date".

Will see what tomorrow brings, but this is certainly frustrating.
 
dibb_nz
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 436
Posts: 1,543
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Shake City
Quote:
Originally Posted by thorne75 View Post
I am in the same camp.
I'm running a rooted 3.2 stock by Timmy Dean.
I'm happy I didn't jump the gun when I Saw the update last night, because it seems I would have truly been screwed.

What I would like to know is if a rooted 3.2 can simply be unrooted. Seems this would the simplest thing to do.

Thanks in advance for any and all help.
********************************************
Could you guys running the backdoor and still rooted please try this:

1) Try and capture the build no. of the update
2) See if the update will download BUT do not install yet
3) Go to /cache/fota/ and find the zip -
4) copy it to yr external sd
5) post back the build no.
thanks!!!

Procedure for manual install:
1/ rename the file as : update.zip
2/ place the file on the micro sd card
3/ turn off the tablet
4/ press the down volume key and the power button at the same time untill the tablets turns on
5/ the iconia will start the upgrade process by itself.

OR just redownload the update and it install

*********************************************
I had trouble when i reverted to stock in the weekend
and it was a bit of a process to get the OTA's to 3.2.1.
I did manage to hold "full root" but had to revert a couple of times
by putting stock recovery back and using backdoor .
I accidentally factory reset and everything went a bit pear shaped from there...oops!!

Im still waiting for the OTA ICS - getting network coverage error -one good thing
is my partners tab is only 5 days old and still pure factory,
her tab shows same error so at least we know its not root/backdoor problem
So yeah if u gonna take the OTA best to get rid of the backdoor unless you wanna play guinea pig for us all>>>>
dunno why we aint found one of those yet

I dont think you can cause too much of a problem where a "hard reset" pwr/vol -/rotation lock/ combo wont fix...you can then root from there.

---------- Post added at 12:45 PM ---------- Previous post was at 12:36 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3d0rr View Post
I have CWM recovery by thor2002. I think we can't update via ITS unless we flash original recovery

Sent from my A500 using XDA
hi 3d0rr!!

i think those of us with the backdoor should be meticulous if/when taking the OTA.
we shouldnt need to unroot and use stock recovery as the ota should get rid of that in the flash. But to ensure a stress free OTA it may pay to do it anyway.

i know you previously told me u were stock gen 1 - but is that from factory, just finished reading a very interesting post regarding the different 'gens' so i for one am sticking with factory build gen :just for the official OTA anyway:

Acer Iconia a500: Guides & How to's

Guide - Where's my CPUID at
How To - Root, unbrick ICS
How To - Flash unlocked bootloader w/apxFlash Tool
How To - Flash unlocked bootloader w/Manual nvFlash
___________________________________

Iconia A500: CM 10 Flex JB
GT I9300: Stock
HTC ONE M7: Stock s-off
 
3d0rr
Old
#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 15
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Caracas

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by dibb_nz View Post
********************************************

hi 3d0rr!!

i think those of us with the backdoor should be meticulous if/when taking the OTA.
we shouldnt need to unroot and use stock recovery as the ota should get rid of that in the flash. But to ensure a stress free OTA it may pay to do it anyway.

i know you previously told me u were stock gen 1 - but is that from factory, just finished reading a very interesting post regarding the different 'gens' so i for one am sticking with factory build gen :just for the official OTA anyway:
Dibb_nz, I was stock gen 2. I don't wanna take OTA until be sure it's safe. Unless now I know that a hard factory reset may save my tab if something happen.

Can you tell us where did you read that post about 'gens'? I still a little confuse about that


Sent from my A500 using XDA
@3d0rr
Table: Acer Iconia A500 - Stock ICS 4.0.3 1.033.00_PA_CUS1
Phone: Samsung Galaxy Mini GT-S5570L - Official CM7 Nightly
 
3d0rr
Old
(Last edited by 3d0rr; 30th April 2012 at 03:04 AM.)
#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 15
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Caracas

 
DONATE TO ME
BTW, the network coverage errors seems to be an Acer's error. First I received OTA and a day after that I see that error on my tab. And a couple of hours later I have OTA again. So, don't worry, you should get OTA asap

Sent from my A500 using XDA
@3d0rr
Table: Acer Iconia A500 - Stock ICS 4.0.3 1.033.00_PA_CUS1
Phone: Samsung Galaxy Mini GT-S5570L - Official CM7 Nightly

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Software Build Automation with Jenkins – XDA Developer TV

Many members of the XDA community come to learn and begin in the exciting … more

Add Bits and Pieces of Honami to Your Current ROM

In the last few months, we’ve talked about quite a few Sony Honami-related projects. … more

Always Enter the Correct Password with HideNoPasswords

If you’ve ever entered apassword on your mobile device, you’ve surely … more

Revert to Stock Recovery Effortless with Simple Recovery Switcher

Android updates released as OTA packages are very easy to apply,but they … more