FORUMS

Intel & Micron Announce “Revolutionary” Storage Tech

Intel & Micron have announced 3D Xpoint technology—”the … more

Google Now Interfaces With Third-Party Messaging Apps

Google has announced that Ok Google voice commands can now be used to send … more

Make Your Lockscreen More Productive With Widgets

Are you running Android Lollipop? Do you miss the ability to add widgets to your lock … more

Moto X Style, Moto X Play and Moto G Forums Are Here!

The latest family members of the new generation of Motorola devices are … more

[Q] v21y/GB 2.3.4 update causes apps to not be able to install/update

4 posts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
By mikefarny, Junior Member on 29th April 2012, 02:06 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
I recieved the OTA update for the G2x to the latest v21y firmware and Gingerbread 2.3.4 OS. Everything seems to have gone fine, except that now in Google Play apps it gives me the following error when trying to install or update *any* app:

'Error downloading "xxx". There is insufficient space on the device.'

Of course, I have an additional 8 GB micro SD card that is almost totally empty, and the internal phone storage has 3.2 GB available. The phone memory lists 0.94 GB available as well.

I followed the usual advice of clear data / clear cache for both Google Play and Download Manager. I unmounted/mounted both phone and SD cards. I turned off the phone, pulled the battery for a bit, took out the external SD card, put the battery back in, and booted back up. I rebooted a bunch of times. I put the external SD card back in. I cleared off extra crud from phone storage via a file manager, and I cleared caches on all installed apps.

This has never happened before, and directly after the update it has happened 100% of the time I have tried.

Any ideas? Is this happening to anyone else who got the update? (I'm completely on stock, btw, still not out of warranty.)
 
 
29th April 2012, 02:21 AM |#2  
kwes1020's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Port Arthur, Texas
Thanks Meter: 877
 
Donate to Me
More
Clear market apparently cache/data

Sent from my LG-P999 using xda premium
29th April 2012, 02:27 AM |#3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kwes1020

Clear market apparently cache/data

Sent from my LG-P999 using xda premium

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikefarny

I followed the usual advice of clear data / clear cache for both Google Play and Download Manager.

Isn't that it? Is there something more that constitutes clearing market cache/data?
29th April 2012, 02:28 AM |#4  
kwes1020's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Port Arthur, Texas
Thanks Meter: 877
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikefarny

Isn't that it? Is there something more that constitutes clearing market cache/data?

Oh reading fails me sometimes. Try wiping cache and dalvik in cwm maybe.

Sent from my LG-P999 using xda premium
29th April 2012, 02:32 AM |#5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kwes1020

Oh reading fails me sometimes. Try wiping cache and dalvik in cwm maybe.

Sent from my LG-P999 using xda premium

Does that require rooting? I haven't installed CWM yet, as I was holding off on all the experimentation until my year was up.

If there's no other usual thing to try, if T-mo doesn't come back with a reasonable response I suppose that's the next step.
29th April 2012, 03:00 AM |#6  
kwes1020's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Port Arthur, Texas
Thanks Meter: 877
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikefarny

Does that require rooting? I haven't installed CWM yet, as I was holding off on all the experimentation until my year was up.

If there's no other usual thing to try, if T-mo doesn't come back with a reasonable response I suppose that's the next step.

No it requires Nvflashing cwm. But that will ruin your "warranty" on a end of life phone

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using xda premium
29th April 2012, 03:01 AM |#7  
mt3g's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Phoenix
Thanks Meter: 3,132
 
Donate to Me
More
Or a factory reset beofre rooting, although if you factory reset might as well root the phone lol.

Sent from my LG-P999 using xda premium
29th April 2012, 03:21 AM |#8  
kwes1020's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Port Arthur, Texas
Thanks Meter: 877
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mt3g

Or a factory reset beofre rooting, although if you factory reset might as well root the phone lol.

Sent from my LG-P999 using xda premium

You can factory reset without root. That's what T-Mobile will tell you to do anyways. I've went through six g2x in the past two weeks...that's their answer to everything lol

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using xda premium
Last edited by kwes1020; 29th April 2012 at 03:26 AM.
29th April 2012, 04:05 AM |#9  
mt3g's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Phoenix
Thanks Meter: 3,132
 
Donate to Me
More
I'm aware of that, just saying that's an option.

Sent from my LG-P999 using xda premium
29th April 2012, 06:26 AM |#10  
kwes1020's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Port Arthur, Texas
Thanks Meter: 877
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mt3g

I'm aware of that, just saying that's an option.

Sent from my LG-P999 using xda premium

I root everything I get on day one. Nothing stock and limiting my user options appeals to me. You can always revert to stock or if you hard brick no one could tell anyways.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using xda premium
The Following User Says Thank You to kwes1020 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
29th April 2012, 08:18 AM |#11  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
So a factory reset fixed it. I didn't have to wipe the phone and external SD, and so I'm just reinstalling apps and setting up a few of them. This was a good time for some spring cleaning anyway, I suppose.

It was probably some stupid permissions thing, but without root I can't even fix that.

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes