Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,742,782 Members 38,260 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

HTC One X-At&t Apn settings for data, 3g and etc.

Tip us?
 
xxkennynycxx
Old
#21  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 14
Join Date: Feb 2008
What kind of numbers do you guys get on Speed Test for download/upload? On a 3G or 4G area.
 
methodz
Old
#22  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 348
Join Date: Nov 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by xxkennynycxx View Post
What kind of numbers do you guys get on Speed Test for download/upload? On a 3G or 4G area.
I really want to know the answer to this question too.

Perhaps post your general area (Los Angeles, ca)
Then your average speed (hspa+ about 3mbs)

Please and thank you.
 
BarryH_GEG
Old
#23  
BarryH_GEG's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 4127
Posts: 8,631
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Spokane, Washington
Quote:
Originally Posted by methodz View Post
I really want to know the answer to this question too.

Perhaps post your general area (Los Angeles, ca)
Then your average speed (hspa+ about 3mbs)

Please and thank you.
For some reason, Speed Test doesn't work on my phone. The upload's correct but the d/l shows like 500KB which isn't right.

Here are the results using AT&T's web speed test. I'm in a non-HSPA+ market and to compare, my i9100 was 3MBish. The upload's showing slower on AT&T than with Speed Test for some reason. Overall, speeds feel better than my SGS2. I'm going to some HSPA+ markets this weekend and I'll do some tests there.

The Following User Says Thank You to BarryH_GEG For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
ceo.mtcl
Old
#24  
ceo.mtcl's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 398
Posts: 2,119
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: St. Paul, MN
Quote:
Originally Posted by BarryH_GEG View Post
For some reason, Speed Test doesn't work on my phone. The upload's correct but the d/l shows like 500KB which isn't right.

Here are the results using AT&T's web speed test. I'm in a non-HSPA+ market and to compare, my i9100 was 3MBish. The upload's showing slower on AT&T than with Speed Test for some reason. Overall, speeds feel better than my SGS2. I'm going to some HSPA+ markets this weekend and I'll do some tests there.

i had exact same issue. When I used the apn settings as 'phone' it fixed it.

Sent from my HTC One X using Tapatalk 2
Current Phones:
๑۩۞۩๑ LG G2 AT&T ๑۩۞۩๑

Benefits of International Samsung Galaxy S3 for US (AT&T) users
 
pewpewbangbang
Old
#25  
pewpewbangbang's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 273
Posts: 2,007
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Ann Arbor & NYC
I use phone APN

Best so far has been 5 mbps down and 1.7 mbps up which is about right.
 
swich2mac
Old
#26  
Member
Thanks Meter 14
Posts: 41
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by pewpewbangbang View Post
I use phone APN

Best so far has been 5 mbps down and 1.7 mbps up which is about right.

How are you guys using the "phone" settings on your HTC One X on AT&T? When I create a new APN and follow those instructions and save, there is no radio button that will allow me to select that newly created APN when I use "phone". If I go put in the old school 'wap.cingular' and save, then the radio button will appear so that I can select that APN to use.

BTW, I have an unlocked and rooted One X from the UK region.
 
swich2mac
Old
#27  
Member
Thanks Meter 14
Posts: 41
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by swich2mac View Post
How are you guys using the "phone" settings on your HTC One X on AT&T? When I create a new APN and follow those instructions and save, there is no radio button that will allow me to select that newly created APN when I use "phone". If I go put in the old school 'wap.cingular' and save, then the radio button will appear so that I can select that APN to use.

BTW, I have an unlocked and rooted One X from the UK region.

Here is a screen shot from my One X showing no radio button after creating the 'phone' APN! Puzzled...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	APN.jpg
Views:	459
Size:	13.6 KB
ID:	1030137  
 
lobran
Old
#28  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 1
Join Date: Apr 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by swich2mac View Post
Here is a screen shot from my One X showing no radio button after creating the 'phone' APN! Puzzled...
here's what works for me:

Name: AT&T (this doesn't matter)
APN: wap.cingular
Proxy: empty
Port: empty
Username:empty
Password:empty
Server: empty
MMSC: empty
MMS Proxy: empty
MMS Port: empty
MMS protocol: WAP 2.0
MCC:310
MNC:410
APN Type: default,internet,mms,hipri,supl

The radio button will populate when you put something in the 'APN Type' field.
The Following User Says Thank You to lobran For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
sl8125
Old
#29  
sl8125's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 16
Posts: 952
Join Date: Mar 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by mayad79 View Post
BTW you don't need a smartphone data plan. I pay only $15 a month for unlimited data. Shazaaam.

Sent from my HTC Desire using XDA
This is very good to know. Depending on SGS3 this is my go to phone. Been on a nexus one and waiting to compare the two.

Sent from my Nexus One using XDA
Nexus One (AT&T) - CyanogenMod
 
meihcydna
Old
#30  
Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 36
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Orange County
i'm curious, i opened an ATT line with an iPhone data plan and would that be a 3g or 4g plan? Considering that the new iPhone 4S is HSPA+ and is considered "4g".

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes