FORUMS

Analysis & Opinion

Top Forum Discussions

HTC One X-At&t Apn settings for data, 3g and etc.

651 posts
Thanks Meter: 48
 
By Jesushasadroid, Senior Member on 20th April 2012, 11:14 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
25th April 2012, 06:42 AM |#21  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
What kind of numbers do you guys get on Speed Test for download/upload? On a 3G or 4G area.
 
 
26th April 2012, 06:36 AM |#22  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by xxkennynycxx

What kind of numbers do you guys get on Speed Test for download/upload? On a 3G or 4G area.

I really want to know the answer to this question too.

Perhaps post your general area (Los Angeles, ca)
Then your average speed (hspa+ about 3mbs)

Please and thank you.
26th April 2012, 06:50 AM |#23  
BarryH_GEG's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Spokane, Washington
Thanks Meter: 4,437
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by methodz

I really want to know the answer to this question too.

Perhaps post your general area (Los Angeles, ca)
Then your average speed (hspa+ about 3mbs)

Please and thank you.

For some reason, Speed Test doesn't work on my phone. The upload's correct but the d/l shows like 500KB which isn't right.

Here are the results using AT&T's web speed test. I'm in a non-HSPA+ market and to compare, my i9100 was 3MBish. The upload's showing slower on AT&T than with Speed Test for some reason. Overall, speeds feel better than my SGS2. I'm going to some HSPA+ markets this weekend and I'll do some tests there.

The Following User Says Thank You to BarryH_GEG For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th April 2012, 07:49 AM |#24  
ceo.mtcl's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag St. Paul, MN
Thanks Meter: 427
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by BarryH_GEG

For some reason, Speed Test doesn't work on my phone. The upload's correct but the d/l shows like 500KB which isn't right.

Here are the results using AT&T's web speed test. I'm in a non-HSPA+ market and to compare, my i9100 was 3MBish. The upload's showing slower on AT&T than with Speed Test for some reason. Overall, speeds feel better than my SGS2. I'm going to some HSPA+ markets this weekend and I'll do some tests there.

i had exact same issue. When I used the apn settings as 'phone' it fixed it.

Sent from my HTC One X using Tapatalk 2
26th April 2012, 07:53 AM |#25  
pewpewbangbang's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Ann Arbor & NYC
Thanks Meter: 275
 
More
I use phone APN

Best so far has been 5 mbps down and 1.7 mbps up which is about right.
29th April 2012, 02:58 AM |#26  
Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pewpewbangbang

I use phone APN

Best so far has been 5 mbps down and 1.7 mbps up which is about right.


How are you guys using the "phone" settings on your HTC One X on AT&T? When I create a new APN and follow those instructions and save, there is no radio button that will allow me to select that newly created APN when I use "phone". If I go put in the old school 'wap.cingular' and save, then the radio button will appear so that I can select that APN to use.

BTW, I have an unlocked and rooted One X from the UK region.
29th April 2012, 03:08 AM |#27  
Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by swich2mac

How are you guys using the "phone" settings on your HTC One X on AT&T? When I create a new APN and follow those instructions and save, there is no radio button that will allow me to select that newly created APN when I use "phone". If I go put in the old school 'wap.cingular' and save, then the radio button will appear so that I can select that APN to use.

BTW, I have an unlocked and rooted One X from the UK region.


Here is a screen shot from my One X showing no radio button after creating the 'phone' APN! Puzzled...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	APN.jpg
Views:	476
Size:	13.6 KB
ID:	1030137  
30th April 2012, 12:55 AM |#28  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by swich2mac

Here is a screen shot from my One X showing no radio button after creating the 'phone' APN! Puzzled...

here's what works for me:

Name: AT&T (this doesn't matter)
APN: wap.cingular
Proxy: empty
Port: empty
Username:empty
Password:empty
Server: empty
MMSC: empty
MMS Proxy: empty
MMS Port: empty
MMS protocol: WAP 2.0
MCC:310
MNC:410
APN Type: default,internet,mms,hipri,supl

The radio button will populate when you put something in the 'APN Type' field.
The Following User Says Thank You to lobran For This Useful Post: [ View ]
1st May 2012, 03:21 AM |#29  
sl8125's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 16
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mayad79

BTW you don't need a smartphone data plan. I pay only $15 a month for unlimited data. Shazaaam.

Sent from my HTC Desire using XDA

This is very good to know. Depending on SGS3 this is my go to phone. Been on a nexus one and waiting to compare the two.

Sent from my Nexus One using XDA
1st May 2012, 06:10 AM |#30  
Member
Orange County
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
i'm curious, i opened an ATT line with an iPhone data plan and would that be a 3g or 4g plan? Considering that the new iPhone 4S is HSPA+ and is considered "4g".
3rd May 2012, 12:13 AM |#31  
Junior Member
Flag Fairfax, VA
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Having the same issue with my T-mobile one X(no data)
Having the same issue with my T-mobile one X(no data)...called Tmobile and they gave me there aPN but it did not work.

please help

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes