Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,778,543 Members 37,165 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] How does one capture OTA update.zip?

Tip us?
 
OldGaf
Old
#21  
OldGaf's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 71
Posts: 274
Join Date: Feb 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by OldGaf View Post
Just upgraded with the File from t_r_j.... so far so good!
Will have a link in about 30 min.

Sent from my A500 using Tapatalk 2

Here ya go... worked fine for me but no guarantees.... as usual, use at your own risk.

update.zip

Lets see how long the bandwidth lasts!

Big thanks to t_r_j
 
Saturn007
Old
#22  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 16
Posts: 101
Join Date: Jan 2012
Cheers for the link OldGaf and for the upload + effort t_r_j

I am on build 7.014.15_com_gen1 and currently downloading this from here won't be able to install until late today. (heading to work now arghhhh)

just curious about a few things.

1. would i lose my data (apps/games) if i install this?
2. would the official ota done from tablet delete or retain my apps & games?
3. i am not sure why PA_CUS1 is in the build name now and whether I will get something similar if i do it over ota? I am thinking must be your region code? if so where are you located t_r_j if you don't mind sharing?
 
OldGaf
Old
#23  
OldGaf's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 71
Posts: 274
Join Date: Feb 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Saturn007 View Post
Cheers for the link OldGaf and for the upload + effort t_r_j

I am on build 7.014.15_com_gen1 and currently downloading this from here won't be able to install until late today. (heading to work now arghhhh)

just curious about a few things.

1. would i lose my data (apps/games) if i install this?
2. would the official ota done from tablet delete or retain my apps & games?
3. i am not sure why PA_CUS1 is in the build name now and whether I will get something similar if i do it over ota? I am thinking must be your region code? if so where are you located t_r_j if you don't mind sharing?
I did not loose anything with any of the leaks or this official one.
From what i have read the extension means nothing.
I was gen2 on 3.2, gen1 on all the leaks and now cus1.
 
t_r_j
Old
#24  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 72
Join Date: Apr 2012
I am in the US eastcost. This is my info from the Tablet I captured the image from.

Before: 3.2.1 Acer_A500_7.014.02_COM_GEN2
After: 4.0.3 Acer_AV041_A500_1.033.00_PA_CUS1
 
youngwolves
Old
#25  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by t_r_j View Post
Forgive me if this has been asked and answered but I can not find the answer if it has.
How does one capture the OTA update.zip?
Here is how I did:
1. Download and install Wireshark
2. Download and install Connectify Lite (so you can turn your PC with Wifi to a Wifi hotspot)
3. Use your PC to connect to the internet via LAN cable
4. Run Connectify, share the internet connection
5. Run Wireshark and start capturing packet from the LAN interface (make sure there are no software connecting to the internet)
6. Connect your Acer A500 to your Wifi hotspot on PC
7. On Acer A500: open Settings -> About -> System -> Check for update -> Click Download and Install
8. In the Wireshark window you will see many packets, you can stop capturing now.
9. Look in the upper part of Wireshark -> search for something like: GET /Acer_A500_4.010.40_7.006.03_COM_GEN1_1316137926088 _14fd4822.zip HTTP 1.1 ....
10. This is the file you want to download
 
spyd77
Old
#26  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 25
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Sabadell, Barcelona
Quote:
Originally Posted by OldGaf View Post
Here ya go... worked fine for me but no guarantees.... as usual, use at your own risk.

update.zip

Lets see how long the bandwidth lasts!

Big thanks to t_r_j
Sorry for being late, but I mirrored the file anyway. My server has no bandwidth cap.

http://www.brainrage.com/update.zip

I'll take the file down in a week or two (this file makes my site backups too fat).
Actual phone / tablet:
HTC One X (Stock 4.1) / Acer Iconia Tab A500 32Gb (Stock 4.0.3)
Old phones:
HTC Desire HD - HTC HD2 - HTC Touch Pro - Qtek 9000 (HTC Universal) - Motorola MPX220 - ... - Philips Genie - Nokia 5110 - Motorola MR-30
The Following User Says Thank You to spyd77 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
spyd77
Old
#27  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 25
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Sabadell, Barcelona
I just installed. My A500 was a GEN2 one, now it's a CUS1.

Almost everything I tried works as expected. Notes:
  • Tablet seems to boot faster than with 3.2.1
  • Autorotate and rotate block switch works for me (this is something everyone is complaning about)
  • Google maps didn't work in the first boot (app started, but only showed a black background, and incomplete menu) After a reboot, it worked fine.
  • Flash plugin and Twitter app upgraded (yesterday there wasn't any upgrades, but it can be just coincidence)
  • Videos in general (media player, YouTube app, IMDB app) start very choppy, after several seconds stabilizes and then they play smooth.
  • OMG I can install Chrome at last!
Now I'll have to tidy the mess of icons on my home screen. I was so sure to need a hard reset I didn't care.
Actual phone / tablet:
HTC One X (Stock 4.1) / Acer Iconia Tab A500 32Gb (Stock 4.0.3)
Old phones:
HTC Desire HD - HTC HD2 - HTC Touch Pro - Qtek 9000 (HTC Universal) - Motorola MPX220 - ... - Philips Genie - Nokia 5110 - Motorola MR-30

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes