Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,742,650 Members 40,322 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] cant import sim contacts

Tip us?
 
Ne-oL
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 29
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Al-Ain
Default [Q] cant import sim contacts

hello
im a new member here(old watcher xD), and this is my first post, i would hate to make it about asking for help instead of saying hi but im having this problem/s for a while now and its really getting on my nerves, (please excuse my mistakes since english is not my first language)
here is the story:
i bought at&t locked atrix 2 (GSM), bought unlock code and did long research for the last couple of days about the whole android OS roms (IOS user )
and im using the phone now (unlocked) with our carrier Etisalat and it works great but my problems are as follows:
1- it always connect to 4g which i think is consuming more battery and sometimes the coverage is weak so i wish to turn it to 2g or at least 3g if 2g not possible (tried to change it from settings but the option is grayed and also downloaded apps and widgets and still the same)
2-whenever i reboot the phone or close it and then open it, i get a notification that says: "sim card full, delete messages to free space"(every single time), and i have no messages at all (in the sim and outside the sim) and i only have 52 contacts in the sim, which leads us to my third problem
3- i have contacts in the sim but i cant import them because accoring to the phone "there is no contacts on your sim card", and the funny part is i can access them from the same phone thru an app called SIM Toolkit (not sure but i think it comes embedded inside the sim) but the app does not import them or make me copy them, just watch them and if i want i can write them on paper xD, and also it show that the sim can contain 2000 name
200 email
200 number
all of them are empty except the names field which has 52 name.
by the way those three problems have traveled with me thru the roms xD
stock, supercharged, supercharged v2, stock deoxed, and finally victory(the best ) so i dont think its a problem with the roms.
also i tried to leave the AT&T bloatware but nothing changed.
i hope i can find the solution/s with you guys & sorry for the long paragraph.
 
Ne-oL
Old
#2  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 29
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Al-Ain
Default Bump

up, perhaps someone would know something useful.
 
strider28304
Old
#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 10
Join Date: Feb 2010
I had the same problem with the phone not reading the contacts on the sim card. What I did was install a free app call Sim Contacts from google play. I selected all the contacts and from the app setting, selected batch operation to "batch copy to phone contacts" However if you reset the data on your phone, it needs to be done again. I hope this help.
The Following User Says Thank You to strider28304 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Ne-oL
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 29
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Al-Ain
Default Thanks :)))

thanks for the help, and i did try to use several programs (yours included)but non worked.
anyway i tried to take the sim and use it on my old nokia phone and after couple tries it finally showed up that there is messages in the sim and i deleted the hell out of them xD and when i returned the sim, the phone never showed up that message again and not only that but it also made the contacts visible to the phone and i could import them and everything worked out )))

however there is still the first problem not solved yet and any help would be truly appreciated ?
why is the choice of changing the network type (4g,3g,2g) greyed out ?
 
Ne-oL
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 29
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Al-Ain
Default finally solved all the problems

it really saddens me that no one tried to help me except one (has my sincere gratitude) and i finally found a solution to my problem with changing the network type, the sad thing is that no one helped me out (yep im b!#@%ing about it), the good or even funny thing is that i found the solution here in the forums by other XDA members (after 4 hours or searching), and im posting this now because someone else might be needing help regarding this subject:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1103967
thanks XDA
The Following User Says Thank You to Ne-oL For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
kirkgbr
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 18
Posts: 121
Join Date: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ne-oL View Post
it really saddens me that no one tried to help me except one (has my sincere gratitude) and i finally found a solution to my problem with changing the network type, the sad thing is that no one helped me out (yep im b!#@%ing about it), the good or even funny thing is that i found the solution here in the forums by other XDA members (after 4 hours or searching), and im posting this now because someone else might be needing help regarding this subject:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1103967
thanks XDA
You worked it out on your own and found he solution by searching. Good job!!!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Slide Dial Replacement Dialer Lets You Make Calls from Anywhere

If you frequently make phone calls, your dialer (aka phone app)is one of the … more

Navigate with Your Samsung Gear 2 Using DMA Navi Watch

Whether you’re travelling to a new destination or exploring some previously … more

Xperia Z1 Stereo Speaker Mod, Cell Phone Unlocking Legal Again! – XDA Developer TV

Cell Phone Unlocking is legal again!! That and much … more

[OTA Captured] Verizon LG G Pad 8.3 Finally Gets Official KitKat Update

It’s been almost nine months since the LG G Pad … more