FORUMS

Two New Moto X and New Moto G Announced, Details Inside

Today’s Moto event just ended and now we have a clear look at all of … more

How Strong Is Your Connection? – XDA Xposed Tuesday

Everyone is always talking about their bars. How many bars of WiFi do they … more

OnePlus 2 Announced: Specs, Price and Details

The OnePlus 2 has just had its Virtual Reality Launch event, and at the XDA Office we all … more

A Helpful Guide to Music Streaming Services

With the launch of Apple Music, music streaming services have recently gained a lot of … more

[Q] Tethering without T-mobile knowing

4,045 posts
Thanks Meter: 701
 
By ctowne, Senior Member on 26th April 2012, 11:50 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
28th April 2012, 07:30 PM |#11  
ctowne's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Orono, Maine
Thanks Meter: 701
 
More
Post
Well I won't use tethering a ton because I'm usually in wifi range. I got a Xoom off of craigslist last week and I don't feel like paying for Verizon 4G LTE so I figured I could attempt to tether with the G2x cuz I'm cheap
 
 
28th April 2012, 10:47 PM |#12  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 39
 
More
Lol you guys are making this way too complex for the OP. Just get OpenGarden or Barnacle Tether from the Play Store! Just have to be rooted.
29th April 2012, 12:28 AM |#13  
ctowne's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Orono, Maine
Thanks Meter: 701
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rrroach

Lol you guys are making this way too complex for the OP. Just get OpenGarden or Barnacle Tether from the Play Store! Just have to be rooted.

For some reason the wifi from both of those apps show up on my laptop but not on my xoom tablet. Any thoughts on why that would be?
29th April 2012, 02:33 AM |#14  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 39
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ctowne

For some reason the wifi from both of those apps show up on my laptop but not on my xoom tablet. Any thoughts on why that would be?

Some devices can't connect to an Ad-Hoc connection (which is what those apps create), like the PS3. Perhaps your tablet is like that too.
29th April 2012, 04:47 PM |#15  
ctowne's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Orono, Maine
Thanks Meter: 701
 
More
Post
Ok thanks. I guess I'll just use the built in tethering app. I was using it yesterday for an hour or so and had no problems.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes