Android 5.0.2 and New Factory Images For Nexus 7 (Wi-Fi) Available

Android 5.0 is has been publicly available since early November, and the … more

Github Tutorial App Shows You How to Use… Github

Github can get pretty complicated and using it can become quite daunting, especially … more

Google Glass-like Clip-On For Regular Glasses Developed by Sony

For the price of $2,000, a pair of glasses that can run apps, take pictures, … more

Micromax Takes OnePlus to Court! Android Wear Receives Lollipop – XDA TV

Android 5.0 Lollipop is available officially for the Moto 360! … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

quick question

OP pbanj

29th April 2012, 10:58 AM   |  #1  
pbanj's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 97
 
351 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
More
i decided i may activate my view but sprint doesn't get coverage in this are. i was wondering if there is anyway to unlock it to work on a different carrier.

i tried searching on here and google but all it showed me was results for rooting and unlocking the bootloader both of which i have done, but i could have missed something it is almost 5am.

any help is appreciated thanks.
29th April 2012, 07:43 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag Northern Arizona
Thanks Meter: 89
 
566 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2007
More
I would consider a tethering plan or rooting your phone to tether that way.

CDMA phones are simply a no go for that. The View is just too good not to keep though. Beautiful device and it works very well.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using xda premium
29th April 2012, 09:00 PM   |  #3  
pbanj's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 97
 
351 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sbrownla

I would consider a tethering plan or rooting your phone to tether that way.

CDMA phones are simply a no go for that. The View is just too good not to keep though. Beautiful device and it works very well.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using xda premium

oh i plan on keeping it, i have had it for a while. was just trying to see if i could get in on someone else. thanks
30th April 2012, 02:20 AM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 199
 
725 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
I've heard you can make it work on Clear, but if you don't have Sprint service, it's pretty unlikely you'll have Clear service.
30th April 2012, 03:52 AM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 175
 
748 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2009
More
I'm pretty sure you can get it working on Boost Mobile.

With a CDMA device, your options for moving to a device to a different carrier are basically non-existent. You're essentially limited to the carrier that sells the device and any pre-pay carriers (and sometimes small, regional carriers) that use the network of the original carrier.
30th April 2012, 03:54 AM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 199
 
725 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
Unfortunately, Boost is going to have the same issue, since they are just a prepaid brand of Sprint. You can try PagePlus, though their data rates aren't exactly the cheapest.
The Following User Says Thank You to freak4dell For This Useful Post: [ View ]
30th April 2012, 04:17 AM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 175
 
748 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by freak4dell

Unfortunately, Boost is going to have the same issue, since they are just a prepaid brand of Sprint. You can try PagePlus, though their data rates aren't exactly the cheapest.

Touché. Not sure what I was thinking there.
30th April 2012, 07:21 PM   |  #8  
pbanj's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 97
 
351 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
More
the only ones who get service in my area are us cell and Verizon, so it looks like im s**t out of luck
1st May 2012, 04:40 AM   |  #9  
Junior Member
Flag Pensacola, Fl.
Thanks Meter: 5
 
25 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
Yeah, if you don't get good Sprint service you count Boost Mobile out. I'm on Boost and love it. I'm on the $15 a month plan and its worked out real good for me. The speeds are acceptable and are more than enough to listen to an MLB game or watch a movie on Netflix without constant buffering. Groove ip and google voice give me an extra phone number with unlimited calling if I should ever need it.

Your best bet is to tether like someone above me has posted. Only real drawback to that is that tethering drains your battery rather quickly.

Sent from my PG41200 using xda premium
1st May 2012, 04:51 AM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 199
 
725 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Antiph3d

Yeah, if you don't get good Sprint service you count Boost Mobile out. I'm on Boost and love it. I'm on the $15 a month plan and its worked out real good for me. The speeds are acceptable and are more than enough to listen to an MLB game or watch a movie on Netflix without constant buffering. Groove ip and google voice give me an extra phone number with unlimited calling if I should ever need it.

Your best bet is to tether like someone above me has posted. Only real drawback to that is that tethering drains your battery rather quickly.

Sent from my PG41200 using xda premium

How are you doing a $15/month plan? I don't see anything like that on their website.

Also, have they started allowing WiMax access yet? I remember reading something about Boost having access to the Clear network soon.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes