FORUMS

PSA: You Can Optimize Your Note 4’s Recents Menu & RAM

The Note 4 never had the fastest Recents Menu, and despite its 3GB of RAM, … more

XDA Picks: Best Apps of the Week (July 25 – Aug 1)

Apps are at the front and center of any smartphone experience, and with over a … more

Voices Of XDA: Orbiting The Earth With Android

Editor’s note: This week’s feature has been written by forum … more

CloudPlayer: DIY HiFi Music Streaming Solution

In our Helpful Guide to Music Streaming Services, we mentioned several different services … more

[Q] Problems with Nandroid advanced restore

9 posts
Thanks Meter: 2
 
By paperskye, Junior Member on 28th April 2012, 04:45 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
I actually have two questions here.

I'm trying to do an advance restore of the data from a previous backup using CWM. recovery 5.0.2.7 and having some problems.

In recovery, when I click on 'advanced restore' I am told there are no files. I then choose the regular 'restore' option and it shows the files to choose from.
I can then go back one screen and select 'advanced restore' again and it will now display the list of backups. When I select a backup and try to restore the data, I get a MD5 mismatch error. This happens when I try to do an advanced restore with any of my backups, not just a certain one. Also, I can do a normal restore without any problems.

I tried this:
http://www.geekdevs.com/2011/10/solv...-clockworkmod/

Then this:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1606047

I've read several threads but most of them seem to be solved after trying one of the above methods. I also haven't seen any that describe the backup list not displaying at first.

Secondly, I found this problem because I'm running Pyr'o'Ice ICS Desensed 1.1.3 and stupidly tried to tether with wifi and my phone got stuck in a reboot loop. I want to restore the userdata via Nandroid recovery, but will that also restore the tether setting that causes that bug?
My main issue is with the Nandroid recovery, but I thought someone reading this might also know the answer to that question also.

Any help is greatly appreciated.
 
 
28th April 2012, 05:03 PM |#2  
Emmanuel U's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Chi-Town Suburbs
Thanks Meter: 2,409
 
More
Edit: (didn't read whole post)
1. Open your sdcard on pc (usb mounted)
2. ensure there is a folder in clockworkmod/backup (ex: 2011-08-10.02.40.28)


if your sure the nandroid isn't corrupted and you want to restore it anyway, you can modify the md5sum.
1. go get a md5sum checker
2.With your phone mounted on your pc...go into the clockworkmod/backups/(yourbackups folder)
3. md5 sum all the images in there (write it down somewhere)
4. open the nandroid.md5 with a text editor
5. replace the md5s with the ones you wrote down
6. Try restoring it again
Last edited by Emmanuel U; 28th April 2012 at 05:06 PM.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Emmanuel U For This Useful Post: [ View ]
28th April 2012, 08:50 PM |#3  
KingCheetah's Avatar
Member
Flag Lynnwood
Thanks Meter: 10
 
More
Question This doesn't appear to do anything
Quote:
Originally Posted by xmc wildchild22

Edit: (didn't read whole post)
1. Open your sdcard on pc (usb mounted)
2. ensure there is a folder in clockworkmod/backup (ex: 2011-08-10.02.40.28)


if your sure the nandroid isn't corrupted and you want to restore it anyway, you can modify the md5sum.
1. go get a md5sum checker
2.With your phone mounted on your pc...go into the clockworkmod/backups/(yourbackups folder)
3. md5 sum all the images in there (write it down somewhere)
4. open the nandroid.md5 with a text editor
5. replace the md5s with the ones you wrote down
6. Try restoring it again

I'm having exactly the same problem as the OP, and I'm not sure how this will help as all md5sum does is give the md5s listed in the nandroid.md5 file. Using this method, all one is doing is putting the exact same md5s over what is there in the nandroid.md5 file.

I really need a method to make the Nandroid Advance Restore work in order to get back my data after updating to 1.63.531.2.


Any other suggestions? --
--
KingCheetah
28th April 2012, 09:38 PM |#4  
Emmanuel U's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Chi-Town Suburbs
Thanks Meter: 2,409
 
More
y do u guys need to advanced restore...just restore
28th April 2012, 10:22 PM |#5  
KingCheetah's Avatar
Member
Flag Lynnwood
Thanks Meter: 10
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by xmc wildchild22

y do u guys need to advanced restore...just restore

Heh, well, in my case, I'm trying not to have to restore my phone from scratch after updating to 1.63.531.2, as well as keep the update. A straight restore will just take me back to DS Mod 1.55.531.3. Advanced Restore would allow restoration of data without overwriting the boot.img, system, etc.

So, no further methods to try to address this error?
--
KingCheetah
28th April 2012, 11:04 PM |#6  
Emmanuel U's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Chi-Town Suburbs
Thanks Meter: 2,409
 
More
then take the system.img from the 1.63 update and put in replace of the nandroids one....then redo the md5 checksum for the system.img like i had showed before
The Following User Says Thank You to Emmanuel U For This Useful Post: [ View ]
29th April 2012, 02:33 AM |#7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by xmc wildchild22

Edit: (didn't read whole post)
1. Open your sdcard on pc (usb mounted)
2. ensure there is a folder in clockworkmod/backup (ex: 2011-08-10.02.40.28)


if your sure the nandroid isn't corrupted and you want to restore it anyway, you can modify the md5sum.
1. go get a md5sum checker
2.With your phone mounted on your pc...go into the clockworkmod/backups/(yourbackups folder)
3. md5 sum all the images in there (write it down somewhere)
4. open the nandroid.md5 with a text editor
5. replace the md5s with the ones you wrote down
6. Try restoring it again


The md5s are already the same.
That also doesn't address the issue why I am told that there are no files found when I try the advanced restore option without first going to the regular restore and backing out.
The Following User Says Thank You to paperskye For This Useful Post: [ View ]
29th April 2012, 06:40 PM |#8  
KingCheetah's Avatar
Member
Flag Lynnwood
Thanks Meter: 10
 
More
Lightbulb Investigation ongoing, but an idea to help
Quote:
Originally Posted by paperskye

The md5s are already the same.
That also doesn't address the issue why I am told that there are no files found when I try the advanced restore option without first going to the regular restore and backing out.

This may have something to do with the way in which CWM 5.0.2.7 saves the majority of data to tar files instead of img files. This behavior of CWM is part of the discussion in this thread: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1624516

Yogi2010 made the suggestion of using the Modaco 4.0.0.9 recovery for backups that can be successfully used with Advanced Restore. I believe Modaco's AR works because it saves all data to img files.

I'm going to attempt an update to 1.63 using Modaco for backup and then AR of data afterward. If successful, we know that Modaco is the key for utilizing AR due to the file type it uses for data storage.

Why CWM 5.0.2.7 behaves as it does regarding AR remains an open question.

I'll report back to this thread with results after my update attempt --
--
KingCheetah
29th April 2012, 08:38 PM |#9  
KingCheetah's Avatar
Member
Flag Lynnwood
Thanks Meter: 10
 
More
Thumbs up Modaco functional with Advanced Restore
I used the Modaco 4.0.0.9 recovery for my backup prior to updating to 1.63, then followed with an Advanced Restore of data afterward, which successfully restored my phone environment. So AR is functional with Modaco, but not CWM 5.0.2.7. I don't know for certain if the fact that CWM uses tar files has something to do with its inability to execute AR, but it certainly seems like this is a contributing factor.

I'm going to Google this and see if I can come up with any further info on CWM that might explain its behavior.

So far, it's Modaco FTW. Itz on my fone, reestoring my data --
--
KingCheetah
29th April 2012, 09:55 PM |#10  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Did you use this to get Modaco? I noticed it says you must have s-off but in your thread you said you have s-on.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1179125

My problem is that with the data I want to restore, my phone gets stuck in a boot loop. I am thinking that I might be able to install Modaco, restore the data where I can't start up my phone and then do a Modaco backup while still in recovery. Then restore a functioning backup (so my phone boots up) and finally do an advanced restore where I only restore the data I need from the bootloop backup.
The Following User Says Thank You to paperskye For This Useful Post: [ View ]
29th April 2012, 11:04 PM |#11  
KingCheetah's Avatar
Member
Flag Lynnwood
Thanks Meter: 10
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by paperskye

Did you use this to get Modaco? I noticed it says you must have s-off but in your thread you said you have s-on.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1179125

That's the original thread Paul (Modaco's creator) posted. I downloaded my copy via Blue's invaluable Developers Reference: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...45&postcount=7. Scroll down to the Recovery section, and under Clockworkmod 4.0.0.9 Recovery there's a download link; but it's the same file.

As to being s-off, I think that's how things used to be. Obviously, all you need now is the bootloader to be unlocked so you can fastboot flash the recovery img file. Otherwise, I couldn't have been doing all the monkeying I've been doing recently.

Quote:
Originally Posted by paperskye

My problem is that with the data I want to restore, my phone gets stuck in a boot loop. I am thinking that I might be able to install Modaco, restore the data where I can't start up my phone and then do a Modaco backup while still in recovery. Then restore a functioning backup (so my phone boots up) and finally do an advanced restore where I only restore the data I need from the bootloop backup.

My experience is limited, but from your description, I'm not sure if the Advanced Restore option will be the smoking gun for your problem. The way I understand it, ClockworkMod recovery--of which Modaco is an unofficial flavor--takes the equivalent of a disk image of your phone while the OS is inactive (like many disk imaging programs for the PC). If you've got some ratty data causing the boot looping, that data is going to be stored along with everything else in the snapshot during backup. It will also be restored using regular restore or Advanced. So, I'm not certain how using a different recovery module will accomplish your goal of stopping the boot loop. Also, remember that any backups made with CWM 5.0.2.7 will be incompatible with Modaco recovery since it uses only img files.

This definitely needs to go to someone more experienced in troubleshooting Android, I think. Maybe you could edit the title of this thread to reflect the boot looping problem. This will hopefully get someone like Blue involved to help out. Sorry not to have a definitive answer for this. I suppose you could flash Modaco (same as you flashed CWM 5.0.2.7) and see if it does what you're hoping it will do. Best advice I can give.

Apologies for not having a concrete solution, and best of luck --
--
KingCheetah

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes