FORUMS

What Do You Think About Fingerprint Scanners?

More and more phones are featuring fingerprint scanners, and with many promising … more

What’s Next for Samsung and Its Flagships?

If we were to say that the Galaxy S6 was a leap of faith made by Samsung, we … more

The Ultimate Showcase of dBrand Skins

In the search for ways to protect, accessorize, and personalize; a user has many options. One … more

Huawei’s Rapid Rise to Third Place in the Smartphone Race

Huawei has quickly grown to become one of the world’s biggest … more

Kingston SDC10/32GB

379 posts
Thanks Meter: 496
 
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
I recently bought Kingston SDC10/32GB memory card and it has some problems with my LG P500 (looks like sometimes phone is unable to write information to this memory card).
I had partition it with 1920 MB ext4 /sd-ext partition (rest was FAT32).
First ever problem was restoring /sd-ext backup using Amon Ra recovery (recovery-ra-thunderg-3.06-gnm) - after waiting about 3 hours I connected phone to PC and with ADB looked that unyaffs process is running, unyaffs was not killable (with kill and killall commands) nor reboot command worked, at last I pulled battery to stop it.
Another accident was moving /data/app and /data/Dalvik-cache to this memory card - after doing this I wiped Dalvik-cache and /cache (via recovery), then phone didn't boot. After about 10 minutes of watching CyanogenMod boot animation I connected phone to PC, tried to run adb shell and it couldn't connect to phone (I killed adb daemon before connecting).

When I connected this card to PC (using USB microSD adapter) and checked it with Check Flash it showed no problems.

The question - is anybody using Kingston SDC10/32GB in his LG P500?
I think either card that I bought is malfunctioning, either it is somehow incompatible with LG P500 (I don't know - may be it drains too much electricity)...

P.S. Kingston 32 GB class 4 microSD card works well in these conditions.
The Following User Says Thank You to DavisNT For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
30th April 2012, 06:10 PM |#2  
stikmenow775's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Victoria
Thanks Meter: 26
 
More
Mmm 2gb of a2sd no ... test with max 1gb maybe this is rhe problem
I ear thar more 1gb is instable

Sent from my LG-P500 using Tapatalk 2
30th April 2012, 10:04 PM |#3  
DavisNT's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Flag Riga
Thanks Meter: 496
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by stikmenow775

Mmm 2gb of a2sd no ... test with max 1gb maybe this is rhe problem
I ear thar more 1gb is instable

Thank you for your answer! Strange - this works well with my 32GB class 4 card. Also I have made sector by sector copy of my old card and after cleaning Dalvik cache on new card phone hung on CyanogenMod boot animation.

What do other people say about this 1 GB limitation?

Sent from my LG-P500 using Tapatalk 2
5th May 2012, 04:33 AM |#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 32
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by DavisNT

Thank you for your answer! Strange - this works well with my 32GB class 4 card. Also I have made sector by sector copy of my old card and after cleaning Dalvik cache on new card phone hung on CyanogenMod boot animation.

What do other people say about this 1 GB limitation?

Sent from my LG-P500 using Tapatalk 2

There is some discussion about this over on Android Central that points to sd-ext filesystems 1GB and larger causing problems with link2sd. Sorry I don't have a link but it should be something you can find. I saw it in the Optimus V forums.
8th May 2012, 03:53 PM |#5  
Member
Flag East Islip, NY
Thanks Meter: 27
 
More
SD card problem
I had a similar problem with my P509 and a 32gb class4 card check the pins in the micro sd card slot, the center pin was not making good contact and the phone was giving me all kinds of problems.
22nd May 2012, 09:14 AM |#6  
DavisNT's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Flag Riga
Thanks Meter: 496
 
Donate to Me
More
Question
Quote:
Originally Posted by fdaconta

I had a similar problem with my P509 and a 32gb class4 card check the pins in the micro sd card slot, the center pin was not making good contact and the phone was giving me all kinds of problems.

I adjusted microSD slot pins and it didn't help. Looks like my card has some electrical interface problems (overcurrent?) - sometimes with SDC10/32GB inserted my phone is not recognized as valid USB device by computer (Windows tray notification about misbehaving USB device is shown).
So does anybody have a good working Kingston SDC10/32GB (32 GB Class 10 microSD card) in his LG P500?
22nd May 2012, 02:48 PM |#7  
allenwalker1998's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Singapore
Thanks Meter: 193
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by DavisNT

I adjusted microSD slot pins and it didn't help. Looks like my card has some electrical interface problems (overcurrent?) - sometimes with SDC10/32GB inserted my phone is not recognized as valid USB device by computer (Windows tray notification about misbehaving USB device is shown).
So does anybody have a good working Kingston SDC10/32GB (32 GB Class 10 microSD card) in his LG P500?

our phone was never meant to support up to 32gb.

Sent from my LG-P500 using xda premium
23rd May 2012, 11:10 AM |#8  
DavisNT's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Flag Riga
Thanks Meter: 496
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by allenwalker1998

our phone was never meant to support up to 32gb.

Sorry - didn't get the idea, specs say that up to 32 GB microSD is supported:
http://www.lg.com/uk/mobile-phones/lg-P500-optimus-one
http://www.gsmarena.com/lg_optimus_one_p500-3516.php
24th May 2012, 01:01 PM |#9  
allenwalker1998's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Singapore
Thanks Meter: 193
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by DavisNT

Sorry - didn't get the idea, specs say that up to 32 GB microSD is supported:
http://www.lg.com/uk/mobile-phones/lg-P500-optimus-one
http://www.gsmarena.com/lg_optimus_one_p500-3516.php

oh sry i meant using 32gb on our phone causes lots of troubles

Sent by a 14-year old kid learning kernel compiling
2nd July 2012, 03:12 AM |#10  
Junior Member
Flag Kodinsk
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
I'm try format flash: 2Gb/30Gb, 2Gb - FAT32, 30Gb - ext2fs. But smartfone mount only FAT partition and ignore ext2fs. Partition ext2fs need for files over 4Gb.
If set partiotions from recovery, then mounts work fine, but partition manager in recovery have limit for ext partiotion 4096 Mb.
Please, help.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes