Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,737,452 Members 42,842 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Kingston SDC10/32GB

Tip us?
 
DavisNT
Old
#1  
DavisNT's Avatar
Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 405
Posts: 337
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Riga

 
DONATE TO ME
Default Kingston SDC10/32GB

I recently bought Kingston SDC10/32GB memory card and it has some problems with my LG P500 (looks like sometimes phone is unable to write information to this memory card).
I had partition it with 1920 MB ext4 /sd-ext partition (rest was FAT32).
First ever problem was restoring /sd-ext backup using Amon Ra recovery (recovery-ra-thunderg-3.06-gnm) - after waiting about 3 hours I connected phone to PC and with ADB looked that unyaffs process is running, unyaffs was not killable (with kill and killall commands) nor reboot command worked, at last I pulled battery to stop it.
Another accident was moving /data/app and /data/Dalvik-cache to this memory card - after doing this I wiped Dalvik-cache and /cache (via recovery), then phone didn't boot. After about 10 minutes of watching CyanogenMod boot animation I connected phone to PC, tried to run adb shell and it couldn't connect to phone (I killed adb daemon before connecting).

When I connected this card to PC (using USB microSD adapter) and checked it with Check Flash it showed no problems.

The question - is anybody using Kingston SDC10/32GB in his LG P500?
I think either card that I bought is malfunctioning, either it is somehow incompatible with LG P500 (I don't know - may be it drains too much electricity)...

P.S. Kingston 32 GB class 4 microSD card works well in these conditions.
The Following User Says Thank You to DavisNT For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
stikmenow775
Old
#2  
stikmenow775's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 26
Posts: 198
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Victoria
Mmm 2gb of a2sd no ... test with max 1gb maybe this is rhe problem
I ear thar more 1gb is instable

Sent from my LG-P500 using Tapatalk 2
 
DavisNT
Old
#3  
DavisNT's Avatar
Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 405
Posts: 337
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Riga

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by stikmenow775 View Post
Mmm 2gb of a2sd no ... test with max 1gb maybe this is rhe problem
I ear thar more 1gb is instable
Thank you for your answer! Strange - this works well with my 32GB class 4 card. Also I have made sector by sector copy of my old card and after cleaning Dalvik cache on new card phone hung on CyanogenMod boot animation.

What do other people say about this 1 GB limitation?

Sent from my LG-P500 using Tapatalk 2
If you like my post, press Thanks on that post. If you like my thread, rate that thread. Thanks!

My Latest App: Jelly Bean 4.x Airplane Mode Helper

Phone: Samsung Galaxy S3 I9300
Baseband: I9300XXEMC2
ROM: CyanogenMod 11 nightlies
Mods: Pictures2SD

Ex Phone: Samsung Galaxy S2 I9100; I9100BVLPE baseband; CM 10.1; Mods: Swap SDcards mod for SGS2 CM10
Ex Phone: LG Optimus One P500; New Baseband; CyanogenMod 7.2.0; candied kernel by DJNoXD (2.4-caveman-vsync version); Move to sd-ext
 
glarepate
Old
#4  
Member
Thanks Meter 26
Posts: 94
Join Date: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by DavisNT View Post
Thank you for your answer! Strange - this works well with my 32GB class 4 card. Also I have made sector by sector copy of my old card and after cleaning Dalvik cache on new card phone hung on CyanogenMod boot animation.

What do other people say about this 1 GB limitation?

Sent from my LG-P500 using Tapatalk 2
There is some discussion about this over on Android Central that points to sd-ext filesystems 1GB and larger causing problems with link2sd. Sorry I don't have a link but it should be something you can find. I saw it in the Optimus V forums.
 
fdaconta
Old
#5  
Member
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 60
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Moriches, NY
Default SD card problem

I had a similar problem with my P509 and a 32gb class4 card check the pins in the micro sd card slot, the center pin was not making good contact and the phone was giving me all kinds of problems.
 
DavisNT
Old
#6  
DavisNT's Avatar
Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 405
Posts: 337
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Riga

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by fdaconta View Post
I had a similar problem with my P509 and a 32gb class4 card check the pins in the micro sd card slot, the center pin was not making good contact and the phone was giving me all kinds of problems.
I adjusted microSD slot pins and it didn't help. Looks like my card has some electrical interface problems (overcurrent?) - sometimes with SDC10/32GB inserted my phone is not recognized as valid USB device by computer (Windows tray notification about misbehaving USB device is shown).
So does anybody have a good working Kingston SDC10/32GB (32 GB Class 10 microSD card) in his LG P500?
 
allenwalker1998
Old
#7  
allenwalker1998's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 192
Posts: 847
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Singapore
Quote:
Originally Posted by DavisNT View Post
I adjusted microSD slot pins and it didn't help. Looks like my card has some electrical interface problems (overcurrent?) - sometimes with SDC10/32GB inserted my phone is not recognized as valid USB device by computer (Windows tray notification about misbehaving USB device is shown).
So does anybody have a good working Kingston SDC10/32GB (32 GB Class 10 microSD card) in his LG P500?
our phone was never meant to support up to 32gb.

Sent from my LG-P500 using xda premium

 
DavisNT
Old
#8  
DavisNT's Avatar
Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 405
Posts: 337
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Riga

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by allenwalker1998 View Post
our phone was never meant to support up to 32gb.
Sorry - didn't get the idea, specs say that up to 32 GB microSD is supported:
http://www.lg.com/uk/mobile-phones/lg-P500-optimus-one
http://www.gsmarena.com/lg_optimus_one_p500-3516.php
If you like my post, press Thanks on that post. If you like my thread, rate that thread. Thanks!

My Latest App: Jelly Bean 4.x Airplane Mode Helper

Phone: Samsung Galaxy S3 I9300
Baseband: I9300XXEMC2
ROM: CyanogenMod 11 nightlies
Mods: Pictures2SD

Ex Phone: Samsung Galaxy S2 I9100; I9100BVLPE baseband; CM 10.1; Mods: Swap SDcards mod for SGS2 CM10
Ex Phone: LG Optimus One P500; New Baseband; CyanogenMod 7.2.0; candied kernel by DJNoXD (2.4-caveman-vsync version); Move to sd-ext
 
allenwalker1998
Old
#9  
allenwalker1998's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 192
Posts: 847
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Singapore
Quote:
Originally Posted by DavisNT View Post
Sorry - didn't get the idea, specs say that up to 32 GB microSD is supported:
http://www.lg.com/uk/mobile-phones/lg-P500-optimus-one
http://www.gsmarena.com/lg_optimus_one_p500-3516.php
oh sry i meant using 32gb on our phone causes lots of troubles

Sent by a 14-year old kid learning kernel compiling

 
PalachMB
Old
#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Kodinsk
I'm try format flash: 2Gb/30Gb, 2Gb - FAT32, 30Gb - ext2fs. But smartfone mount only FAT partition and ignore ext2fs. Partition ext2fs need for files over 4Gb.
If set partiotions from recovery, then mounts work fine, but partition manager in recovery have limit for ext partiotion 4096 Mb.
Please, help.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Modernize Your Emails with Email Popup

SMS andHangouts messages likely won’t ever replace traditional Emails for more formal … more

Change Your Toast Notification Style with XToast

Android uses multipletypes of notifications. One of these isknown as a toast notification. … more

Port Sony Xperia Themes to CyanogenMod 11 with Ease

In addition the obvious proficiency with graphics, creating agood Android theme … more

Cell Phone SIM Unlock Bill Just Steps Away from President’s Desk

For all those who believe that Cinderella stories don’t actually … more