FORUMS

The OnePlus 2 & The Year of Smartphone Compromises

We are very close to entering the last third of 2015, and we have now seen many of … more

OnePlus 2 Teardown, Major Android Vulnerability – XDA TV

The OnePlus 2 has been officially released. That and much more news is … more

What Do You Think About Fingerprint Scanners?

More and more phones are featuring fingerprint scanners, and with many promising … more

What’s Next for Samsung and Its Flagships?

If we were to say that the Galaxy S6 was a leap of faith made by Samsung, we … more

Official ASUS Thread - ICS Update on TF101 (20-Mar-2012)

87 posts
Thanks Meter: 1,612
 
By Gary Key, Member on 20th March 2012, 11:01 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
29th April 2012, 08:41 PM |#781  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 969
 
More
my original. I've now placed the loaner into the dock and will start using it (was just sitting there before)...

EDIT: Ok, now the loaner has done the EXACT same thing! Too weird! Left the TF docked and "open", put into standby and a few minutes later I watched it reboot itself.

It did NOT get stuck as the Asus screen (neither did my transformer).

It's wild how they rebooted so close together like that after being up for so long!


So, are there any beta testers left that still have NOT experienced any random reboot/SOD issues?

Sent from my GT-P6210 using Tapatalk 2
Last edited by jtrosky; 29th April 2012 at 09:20 PM.
 
 
29th April 2012, 09:25 PM |#782  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 650
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jtrosky

It's wild how they rebooted so close together like that after being up for so long!

My guess is something is gradually getting more and more corrupted, until it reaches the point where I reboot is inevitable.
29th April 2012, 09:40 PM |#783  
acc3d's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
More
I did a factory reset before and after installing the 9.2.1.21 update. My TF101 seemed to be running well until this morning when I experienced the following:

- audio playback seems to have stopped working (a problem I experienced with previous ICS builds)
- auto screen rotation stopped working
- finally, my tablet randomly rebooted and got stuck at the Asus logo


Sigh, will they ever get ICS running well on the TF101? I guess I'll put the tablet back in the drawer until the next update; it continues to be useless.



Sent from my Transformer TF101 using Tapatalk 2
29th April 2012, 09:46 PM |#784  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 43
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jtrosky

my original. I've now placed the loaner into the dock and will start using it (was just sitting there before)...

EDIT: Ok, now the loaner has done the EXACT same thing! Too weird! Left the TF docked and "open", put into standby and a few minutes later I watched it reboot itself.

It did NOT get stuck as the Asus screen (neither did my transformer).

It's wild how they rebooted so close together like that after being up for so long!


So, are there any beta testers left that still have NOT experienced any random reboot/SOD issues?

Sent from my GT-P6210 using Tapatalk 2

My unit didn't get stuck, or ask for the PIN input either, on this reboot. I just discovered it in Reboot Logger, and confirmed it on the Up Time status.
Edit: I just realized that the reason it didn't ask for the PIN input is that the update cleared out that setting, and I hadn't reestablished it.

Sent from my Transformer TF101 using Tapatalk 2
Last edited by vicw; 30th April 2012 at 05:35 PM.
29th April 2012, 09:49 PM |#785  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 43
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by acc3d

...
Sigh, will they ever get ICS running well on the TF101? I guess I'll put the tablet back in the drawer until the next update; it continues to be useless.



Sent from my Transformer TF101 using Tapatalk 2

You might try the Wake Lock app to prevent the potentially catastrophic deep sleep reboots. I was happy using it for weeks, prior to this last update.

Sent from my Transformer TF101 using Tapatalk 2
29th April 2012, 09:53 PM |#786  
sbiriguda's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag L'Aquila
Thanks Meter: 155
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by knoxploration

My guess is something is gradually getting more and more corrupted

Agreed, more specifically: kernel memory corruption.
I can confirm that at least on one occasion some kernel data structures were badly corrupted (out of sheer luck, I managed to extract a full panic log from a ramdump) and one of the changes NVIDIA made in .21 hints that there is something stomping arbitrary kernel memory, but instead of finding the root cause they tried (unsuccessfully) to address one of the symptoms.
29th April 2012, 09:54 PM |#787  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 23
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jtrosky

my original. I've now placed the loaner into the dock and will start using it (was just sitting there before)...

EDIT: Ok, now the loaner has done the EXACT same thing! Too weird! Left the TF docked and "open", put into standby and a few minutes later I watched it reboot itself.

It did NOT get stuck as the Asus screen (neither did my transformer).

It's wild how they rebooted so close together like that after being up for so long!


So, are there any beta testers left that still have NOT experienced any random reboot/SOD issues?

Sent from my GT-P6210 using Tapatalk 2

What apps have you used on both? (browser, gmail, etc)

My TF just went over 31hr of uptime, with 26 of deep sleep. Wifi is ON, but I haven't used any apps (besides Andoku 2). I never wiped it, just a cold boot, first 24hr with wifi OFF, and for the past 7 hrs, wifi ON.

My next step would be start using some apps. Haven't decide which one, yet. That's why I asked which ones you used so maybe I could avoid or use just one and only of those.
29th April 2012, 10:14 PM |#788  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 969
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by luquiyahni

What apps have you used on both? (browser, gmail, etc)

My TF just went over 31hr of uptime, with 26 of deep sleep. Wifi is ON, but I haven't used any apps (besides Andoku 2). I never wiped it, just a cold boot, first 24hr with wifi OFF, and for the past 7 hrs, wifi ON.

My next step would be start using some apps. Haven't decide which one, yet. That's why I asked which ones you used so maybe I could avoid or use just one and only of those.

The only apps that installed after a complete factory restore are these:

- CPU Spy
- Dual Battery Widget
- Uptime Widget
- Tapatalk

I think that was it. I also used the Gmail/Email apps, stock browser, YouTube app, etc.... Just the basics...

Sent from my Transformer TF101 using Tapatalk 2
29th April 2012, 11:08 PM |#789  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 969
 
More
Ok, now what's still driving me crazy is that even if you flash a Honeycomb ROM via CMW, the reboot/SOD issues persist, even in Honeycomb. However, if I NVFLash Honeycomb, the problems go away in Honeycomb.

That tells me that the problem lies in one of the partitions that CWM doesn't write (NVFlash just re-creates all partitions).

So, I then compared the flash.cfg file for Honeycomb and one for ICS. All partition definitions are exactly the same, except for these two:

Partition 3 (PT)
In Honeycomb flash.cfg file, the size is "4096"
In ICS flah.cfg file, the size is "524288"!

Partition 10 (CAC)
In Honeycomb flash.cfg file, the size is "554700800"
In ICS flash.cfg file, the size is "555220992"

Is it normal for the partition sized to change so much between ICS/Honeycomb? The actual NVFLash command that is run is exactly the same....

Again, longshot, but....


I guess since I'm NVFlash, it can't hurt to try changing the ICS flash.cfg to match the Honeycomb flash.cfg... Although, if those partitions were that far off, I'dd suspect we'd see other issues... However, that partition 10 is the cache partition, I'm assuming - maybe ICS thinks the cache partition is really bigger than it is, so that when you get to that spot in the cache, it reboots? Again, longshot, I know...

Sent from my Transformer TF101 using Tapatalk 2
Last edited by jtrosky; 29th April 2012 at 11:26 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to jtrosky For This Useful Post: [ View ]
29th April 2012, 11:51 PM |#790  
*Detection*'s Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Durham
Thanks Meter: 839
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jtrosky

Ok, now what's still driving me crazy is that even if you flash a Honeycomb ROM via CMW, the reboot/SOD issues persist, even in Honeycomb. However, if I NVFLash Honeycomb, the problems go away in Honeycomb.

That tells me that the problem lies in one of the partitions that CWM doesn't write (NVFlash just re-creates all partitions).

So, I then compared the flash.cfg file for Honeycomb and one for ICS. All partition definitions are exactly the same, except for these two:

Partition 3 (PT)
In Honeycomb flash.cfg file, the size is "4096"
In ICS flah.cfg file, the size is "524288"!

Partition 10 (CAC)
In Honeycomb flash.cfg file, the size is "554700800"
In ICS flash.cfg file, the size is "555220992"

Is it normal for the partition sized to change so much between ICS/Honeycomb? The actual NVFLash command that is run is exactly the same....

Again, longshot, but....


I guess since I'm NVFlash, it can't hurt to try changing the ICS flash.cfg to match the Honeycomb flash.cfg... Although, if those partitions were that far off, I'dd suspect we'd see other issues... However, that partition 10 is the cache partition, I'm assuming - maybe ICS thinks the cache partition is really bigger than it is, so that when you get to that spot in the cache, it reboots? Again, longshot, I know...

Sent from my Transformer TF101 using Tapatalk 2

Interested to hear your results, I'm nvflashable too and your theory makes sense if those sizes are wrong

Wouldn't be the first time they got numbers wrong, even in HC some left speakers had the wrong value in the srs file and the one before last ICS update had majorly low volume on media files
29th April 2012, 11:52 PM |#791  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 34
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jtrosky

Ok, now what's still driving me crazy is that even if you flash a Honeycomb ROM via CMW, the reboot/SOD issues persist, even in Honeycomb. However, if I NVFLash Honeycomb, the problems go away in Honeycomb.

That tells me that the problem lies in one of the partitions that CWM doesn't write (NVFlash just re-creates all partitions).

So, I then compared the flash.cfg file for Honeycomb and one for ICS. All partition definitions are exactly the same, except for these two:

Partition 3 (PT)
In Honeycomb flash.cfg file, the size is "4096"
In ICS flah.cfg file, the size is "524288"!

Partition 10 (CAC)
In Honeycomb flash.cfg file, the size is "554700800"
In ICS flash.cfg file, the size is "555220992"

Is it normal for the partition sized to change so much between ICS/Honeycomb? The actual NVFLash command that is run is exactly the same....

Again, longshot, but....


I guess since I'm NVFlash, it can't hurt to try changing the ICS flash.cfg to match the Honeycomb flash.cfg... Although, if those partitions were that far off, I'dd suspect we'd see other issues... However, that partition 10 is the cache partition, I'm assuming - maybe ICS thinks the cache partition is really bigger than it is, so that when you get to that spot in the cache, it reboots? Again, longshot, I know...

Sent from my Transformer TF101 using Tapatalk 2

That at least could make sense, with the assumption being that the cache is what is stomping on the kernel...and goodness knows what else... It would also mean the environmental difference is how much cache is written out (data usage?) I'll be curious how the experiment works out.

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
tf101, transformer
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes