Post Reply

Download the official a500 OTA ICS upgrade

OP OldGaf

29th April 2012, 09:27 PM   |  #81  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
I just installed this on a Packard Bell Liberty Tab G100, and it's working fine - Thanks. I followed the standard instructions, the same as for the A500.

-Mark.
The Following User Says Thank You to Mark RS For This Useful Post: [ View ]
29th April 2012, 09:28 PM   |  #82  
Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
72 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
The wifi is fine, the Acer update servers are having issues
29th April 2012, 10:34 PM   |  #83  
crazymanc's Avatar
Member
Flag manchester
Thanks Meter: 1
 
74 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
If i install this will it just be the same as if i recived the OTA update or is this what somebody has recived for there a500 if so would my a500 have to have the same gen and build as this file ?
30th April 2012, 02:09 AM   |  #84  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by rascalsblade

Alright finally got it after your idea I'm running ics now is it root able and how

I have the same problem. I followed the same procedure, but no luck. I am still stuck with the yellow triangle !


Any other idea??
30th April 2012, 03:14 AM   |  #85  
Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
72 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
Like I said before.

The "triangle !" thing is the tablet not seeing the Update.zip file or you SD card is hosed.
.
Make sure the update.zip is in the ROOT of the card also you may want to format the SD card fat32 using a computer before you use it, do not use "quick format". You may need to format it twice sometimes SD cards fail the long format the first time through.
30th April 2012, 03:34 AM   |  #86  
amphi66's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag PacNW
Thanks Meter: 117
 
364 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Using TimmyDeans V4, when this update.zip is copied to the root of the sdcard, is there any reason it cannot be installed via CWM (instead of Acer Recovery)using the "install update.zip from sdcard" option? --LarryS
30th April 2012, 07:24 AM   |  #87  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
Thank you, OldGaf for the upload! I installed in on my A500 & it is working perfectly.
30th April 2012, 03:30 PM   |  #88  
OldGaf's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 71
 
274 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by tonyblack

This update worked great for me (with the exception of loosing wifi channels 12 & 13). Have now got it rooted and even managed to get the Acer ring on here.

Glad it worked for you!

Can you tell me which method you used to root and where you got the ring?
30th April 2012, 03:59 PM   |  #89  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
miam, miam
The feeling is I that I have a new tablet. Good speed, fast and stable browsing, everything looks much better, movies and HD movies run smoothly, flash movies off the web run much better. There's only one problem( but this is not from ICS: the video and audio yahoo messenger plugin for ICS on A500 don't exist)
30th April 2012, 04:36 PM   |  #90  
tonyblack's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Great Malvern
Thanks Meter: 4
 
154 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by OldGaf

Glad it worked for you!

Can you tell me which method you used to root and where you got the ring?

I used Blackthundr v6 (roots and includes Acer ring)

http://forum.tegraowners.com/viewtopic.php?f=30&t=350

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes