Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[SUPERGUIDE] ICS-Root-Flash-Stock

OP slapshot30

29th April 2012, 05:10 PM   |  #351  
slapshot30's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Nebraska
Thanks Meter: 431
 
2,001 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Microbot2

That works. Thanks.
Strangely enough, I installed busybox, it says I have no root access.
My bootloader is unlocked, I followed the directions precisely.

I also used the guide last week, i used PH39IMG.zip, and vivid_cwm_root_ver.2.zip, it yielded no root then either.
I'll keep reading, thanks a lot.

That's odd, an unlocked bootloader + WC recovery should yield root. I'll look into it as well... Do you have the zip from the last version of this guide? It's named something like ROOT VER2 zip. Try flashing it in recovery if you still have it and then tell me if it says you have root then.

Sent from my HTC PH39100 using xda premium
29th April 2012, 05:46 PM   |  #352  
Member
Texas
Thanks Meter: 1
 
30 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by slapshot30

That's odd, an unlocked bootloader + WC recovery should yield root. I'll look into it as well... Do you have the zip from the last version of this guide? It's named something like ROOT VER2 zip. Try flashing it in recovery if you still have it and then tell me if it says you have root then.

Sent from my HTC PH39100 using xda premium

Still no root.
The file is vivid_cwm_root_ver2.zip. It seems to work fine, in fact it says so.
Then I check with busybox, and it says no root. I cleared cache, dalvik cache before I tried the second time, no joy.

I wonder if it would be a better idea to load Wc's ICS rooted ROM?
Last edited by Microbot2; 29th April 2012 at 06:08 PM. Reason: Clarify
29th April 2012, 08:36 PM   |  #353  
Member
Texas
Thanks Meter: 1
 
30 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Microbot2

Still no root.
The file is vivid_cwm_root_ver2.zip. It seems to work fine, in fact it says so.
Then I check with busybox, and it says no root. I cleared cache, dalvik cache before I tried the second time, no joy.

I wonder if it would be a better idea to load Wc's ICS rooted ROM?


I have root!
Thanks to Slapshot30, and all the Dev's who work so hard!
29th April 2012, 11:20 PM   |  #354  
slapshot30's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Nebraska
Thanks Meter: 431
 
2,001 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Microbot2

I have root!
Thanks to Slapshot30, and all the Dev's who work so hard!

What'd you have to do to make it stick, just flash WC's ROM?

Sent from my HTC PH39100 using xda premium
29th April 2012, 11:36 PM   |  #355  
slapshot30's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Nebraska
Thanks Meter: 431
 
2,001 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
More
Added instructions so that AT&T users do NOT have to S OFF if they don't want to mess with that.
30th April 2012, 12:23 AM   |  #356  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
What changed
I have two Vivids now. One I bricked and sent in to HTC repair (oddly with bootloader unlocked and rooted they did not charge me anything) and have a returned stock ICS AT&T Vivid. The other one I bought from AT&T and it had ICS as well. I used this guide on 3/31/2012 and got root. I am curious as I have unlocked the bootloader and flashed wcxrecovery.img with no root on the returned Vivid.

BTW you guys rock at this stuff and it is appreciated. Standing by.
Last edited by bbailey167; 30th April 2012 at 12:25 AM. Reason: doesn't make sense
30th April 2012, 12:32 AM   |  #357  
slapshot30's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Nebraska
Thanks Meter: 431
 
2,001 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bbailey167

I have two Vivids now. One I bricked and sent in to HTC repair (oddly with bootloader unlocked and rooted they did not charge me anything) and have a returned stock ICS AT&T Vivid. The other one I bought from AT&T and it had ICS as well. I used this guide on 3/31/2012 and got root. I am curious as I have unlocked the bootloader and flashed wcxrecovery.img with no root on the returned Vivid.

BTW you guys rock at this stuff and it is appreciated. Standing by.

So the vivid in question has unlocked bootloader, wcx recovery, and stock ROM, correct? Root is not sticking on the stock ROM, you'll need to flash a new kernel + ROM and then let me know if that does the trick.

Sent from my HTC PH39100 using xda premium
30th April 2012, 02:20 PM   |  #358  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
It might be Tuesday before I get a chance. Stand by.

Sent from my HTC PH39100 using XDA
30th April 2012, 04:13 PM   |  #359  
Member
Texas
Thanks Meter: 1
 
30 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by slapshot30

What'd you have to do to make it stick, just flash WC's ROM?

Sent from my HTC PH39100 using xda premium

Yes, I used #4 option. "fastboot flash recovery wcxrecovery.zip"- THIRD (Manual) (Pirateghost's method). I flashed the Rom, according to instructions, but I think it didn't work. I still have beats and old info, no tethering.

I think I'm going with WCX's sense ROM. I'll let you know how it goes.
Thanks, bro.
Last edited by Microbot2; 30th April 2012 at 08:27 PM.
30th April 2012, 05:01 PM   |  #360  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
O.K. So here we go. Yesterday when I was trying to root, I downloaded Titanium Backup and Superuser from the Play Store. Of course when I tried to use them, they said I did not have root (I was using WCXJB Root Pack instructions.) Today, I did the PH39img.zip install from ICS HBOOT (from joeykrim HTC Vivid/Holiday Support-- CWM 5.5.0.4.) Then I put the vivid_cwm_root_ver2.zip on my SD card and went to recovery and installed it. Just reading how to flash a kernel with GUI Flash Kernel and decided to go and see if Titanium Backup would do anything. As soon as I tried to open it, Superuser asked for permission (or whatever) and Titanium opened and said I have root. This was all with the Stock ICS that shipped with my "fixed" Vivid from HTC.

I'm really a NOOB, but the combination must be what I was missing. If this is a "duh" moment, I apologize.

Thank you for an awesome guide.
Last edited by bbailey167; 30th April 2012 at 05:03 PM. Reason: Missed information

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
htc, perm, root, vivid
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes