Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Proximity sensor issue.

OP johnwaynegacy

20th April 2012, 07:06 AM   |  #11  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 58
 
150 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
My display stays off as well. Does not seem hardware related to me.

Sent from my ADR6425LVW using XDA
21st April 2012, 02:09 AM   |  #12  
Senior Member
Flag Hermitage
Thanks Meter: 231
 
1,518 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
My display stays off as well. Noticed this today when trying to switch to speakerphone. Just press the power button nothing really wrong with it.
29th April 2012, 11:36 PM   |  #13  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 59
 
352 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by krelvinaz

Despite the fact that nobody has actually had that happen yet???

So you will void the warranty instead... so if you really break it, you don't have no repair option at all.

This makes more sense... but even then there, it is not 100% you will get a refurbed unit or that you will have problems with what you get.

BTW, my stock unit doesn't turn the display on when you take your face away from the screen. I always have to press one of the volume keys to get the display back on (easier than reaching the power button)

I have already had this phone apart and the little green void sticker is already gone.
I guess if everyone is having this same issue, it must be a design flaw. I doubt I will correct it by changing the sensor. The screen is supposed to come back on when you remove the phone from your face, unless that's a software bug in sense.
30th April 2012, 03:36 AM   |  #14  
Senior Member
Flag Saratoga Springs, Utah
Thanks Meter: 69
 
218 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
More
The real question is does it work in 100% stock Gingerbread no custom anything. If it does work then it could be a app or the kernel if it doesn't work then its hardware.
How is this such a hard concept for people to grasp?

Sent from my ADR6425LVW using XDA
30th April 2012, 04:18 PM   |  #15  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 59
 
352 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by jazzyjames

The real question is does it work in 100% stock Gingerbread no custom anything. If it does work then it could be a app or the kernel if it doesn't work then its hardware.
How is this such a hard concept for people to grasp?

Sent from my ADR6425LVW using XDA

If you look at my op I was on 100% stock gingerbread other than a kernel. If everyone has the same problem, yes it is hardware related, but it is a design flaw. It is unlikely that everyone who posted has a bad proximity sensor.
1st May 2012, 02:11 AM   |  #16  
Senior Member
Flag Saratoga Springs, Utah
Thanks Meter: 69
 
218 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
More
Yes I did read and as you just posted your not on 100% pure stock. You said stock rom, but never said stock ics or gingerbread but like I said best way to test is go 100% stock no mods at all and even go the route of no extra apps, it may seem extreme but its crazy all apps that can cause issues.

Sent from my ADR6425LVW using XDA
1st May 2012, 05:59 AM   |  #17  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 59
 
352 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Here is the real question. Does your screen always go off when you cover the sensor. Mine does not. I have to try several times, and when it finally does turn off, it only sometimes comes back on. other times, I have to press the power button. Who else is experiencing this?
1st May 2012, 05:02 PM   |  #18  
Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
60 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Mine acts as if it had no proximity sensor at all. Programs say it does, but it always reads that something is zero cm. away from it... power button is the only way I've found to turn the screen back on.
The Following User Says Thank You to steven.rn For This Useful Post: [ View ]
2nd May 2012, 03:59 AM   |  #19  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 59
 
352 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
I bet a lot of HTC phones have this issue. When I searched the number for this sensor, a lot of their phones came up as results. I think we are all running bugged hardware.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes