Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,736,958 Members 52,458 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Help PLEASE random disaster

Tip us?
 
tradejak66
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 20
Posts: 132
Join Date: Apr 2011
Default Help PLEASE random disaster

I was running virtuous primodonna. i wasnt doing anything, but my phone randomly illuminated with a black screen. i pulled the batter and when i rebooted it stayed at splash screen, then the screen showed random screwed up lines and all this. then it rebooted by itself and went to recovery. I've wiped my data and cache and dalvik but nothing works. i've tried restoring backups but it says that its failing to recover the system. please someone help

If no one knows. can someone please provide me with a rom that will brick my phone so it WONT BOOT UP WHATSOEVER. that way i can go to the tmo store for replacement? so they cant go into recovery and figure out i've rooted it. PLEASE someone
 
invasion2
Old
#2  
invasion2's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1290
Posts: 2,853
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Space, the ONLY Frontier
Quote:
Originally Posted by tradejak66 View Post
I was running virtuous primodonna. i wasnt doing anything, but my phone randomly illuminated with a black screen. i pulled the batter and when i rebooted it stayed at splash screen, then the screen showed random screwed up lines and all this. then it rebooted by itself and went to recovery. I've wiped my data and cache and dalvik but nothing works. i've tried restoring backups but it says that its failing to recover the system. please someone help

If no one knows. can someone please provide me with a rom that will brick my phone so it WONT BOOT UP WHATSOEVER. that way i can go to the tmo store for replacement? so they cant go into recovery and figure out i've rooted it. PLEASE someone
Let's not brick your phone intentionally just yet! Try getting hold of a PD15IMG.zip (2.2.1 or 2.3.4, either works unless you want to root again, then go for 2.2.1). Boot into bootloader with the PD15IMG on the root of your SD, then let it update. If it doesn't and says Fail-PU, then you are bricked and could send it back to T-Mobile. Or you could try flashing another ROM. Hope this helps!
The Following User Says Thank You to invasion2 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
tradejak66
Old
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 20
Posts: 132
Join Date: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by invasion2 View Post
Let's not brick your phone intentionally just yet! Try getting hold of a PD15IMG.zip (2.2.1 or 2.3.4, either works unless you want to root again, then go for 2.2.1). Boot into bootloader with the PD15IMG on the root of your SD, then let it update. If it doesn't and says Fail-PU, then you are bricked and could send it back to T-Mobile. Or you could try flashing another ROM. Hope this helps!
tried that too..... and i dont want to send it back to t-mobile since they can still look and see its rooted. so yes thats why i need to brick it lol. please.
 
invasion2
Old
#4  
invasion2's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1290
Posts: 2,853
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Space, the ONLY Frontier
Quote:
Originally Posted by tradejak66 View Post
tried that too..... and i dont want to send it back to t-mobile since they can still look and see its rooted. so yes thats why i need to brick it lol. please.
OK since that did not work, place the PD15IMG on your SD, and when it is updating, pull the battery. That will brick it for sure (I think..). Press thanks if I helped.
The Following User Says Thank You to invasion2 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
tradejak66
Old
#5  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 20
Posts: 132
Join Date: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by invasion2 View Post
OK since that did not work, place the PD15IMG on your SD, and when it is updating, pull the battery. That will brick it for sure (I think..). Press thanks if I helped.
k hold up let me try
 
DonDizzurp
Old
#6  
DonDizzurp's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 396
Posts: 2,310
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: The Internet
Quote:
Originally Posted by tradejak66 View Post
I was running virtuous primodonna. i wasnt doing anything, but my phone randomly illuminated with a black screen. i pulled the batter and when i rebooted it stayed at splash screen, then the screen showed random screwed up lines and all this. then it rebooted by itself and went to recovery. I've wiped my data and cache and dalvik but nothing works. i've tried restoring backups but it says that its failing to recover the system. please someone help

If no one knows. can someone please provide me with a rom that will brick my phone so it WONT BOOT UP WHATSOEVER. that way i can go to the tmo store for replacement? so they cant go into recovery and figure out i've rooted it. PLEASE someone
do this: wipe data/factory reset
wipe cache
wipe dalvik

flash the original ROM (the one you have a backup of, but not the actual back up)
THEN restore the backup, it shouldnt get stuck at system anymore

i had a similar problem and this helped. hopefully it works for you
Current Phone: Phone hopping


Current Tablet: LG G-Pad 8.3
ROM: CyanogenMod v11 (nightly)
Kernel: Original CM11 Kernel
Recovery: TWRP v2.6.3.2


 
...
 
...
 
keep going
 
...
 
...
 
lol you clicked for no reason
 
The Following User Says Thank You to DonDizzurp For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
tradejak66
Old
#7  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 20
Posts: 132
Join Date: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by invasion2 View Post
OK since that did not work, place the PD15IMG on your SD, and when it is updating, pull the battery. That will brick it for sure (I think..). Press thanks if I helped.
I've tried twice and it still boots :0
 
invasion2
Old
#8  
invasion2's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1290
Posts: 2,853
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Space, the ONLY Frontier
Quote:
Originally Posted by tradejak66 View Post
I've tried twice and it still boots :0
Whoops. I think it's flashing a new radio then. Flash the radio just like you did with the PD15IMG and take the battery out during the process. If it still boots, I'll look into how to brick it lol!
The Following User Says Thank You to invasion2 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
tradejak66
Old
#9  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 20
Posts: 132
Join Date: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by invasion2 View Post
Whoops. I think it's flashing a new radio then. Flash the radio just like you did with the PD15IMG and take the battery out during the process. If it still boots, I'll look into how to brick it lol!
lol. start looking now just in case.
 
tradejak66
Old
#10  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 20
Posts: 132
Join Date: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by invasion2 View Post
Whoops. I think it's flashing a new radio then. Flash the radio just like you did with the PD15IMG and take the battery out during the process. If it still boots, I'll look into how to brick it lol!
I can't even access the recovery anymore. i have the PD15image thing pop up everytime so i cant get to the sd card whatsoever. i took out my sdcard then tried to access the recovery but it doesnt work

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes