Android TV Launcher Pushed to Google Play

Over the past decade, the tech universe has seen two drastic and widely contrasting changes with … more

Cyngn, OnePlus, Micromax – The Legal Battle

Recently, a battle has been waging in India over the rights to distribute the commercial … more

Lean Mean Battery Power Saving App Review

We talk a lot about battery topics here at XDA TV. We talk about everything from Power Banks to USB … more

Android 5.1 Possibly Coming February 2015

Google released Android 5.0 just over a month ago, and since then Lollipop has been trying to … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] galaxy player 5 international soft bricked

OP jnmaster

27th April 2012, 06:56 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
I recently got a galaxy player 5 international with froyo. I rooted it with no problems, but when I tried to flash a kernel with cwm recovery it would get stuck in a boot loop unless i went into the cwm recovery mode. I noticed that the kernel I used, rumirand's r14, was based off of GB and thought that might be my problem. I tried updating my firmware to GB using WT Ho's custom rom, and now it just hangs on the samsung logo, but I can still get into cwm. I made sure to wipe both caches and wipe data before installing the rom. Is this fixable or have I turned it into an expensive paperweight?
27th April 2012, 04:27 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag Réunion Island, Saint-Denis
Thanks Meter: 25
 
177 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
More
Did you try a factory reset?
27th April 2012, 05:45 PM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Flag Kragujevac
Thanks Meter: 217
 
801 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
I am not expert but i tried the same with R14 kernel and bricked but done the same with R13 and it worked .
27th April 2012, 09:03 PM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris4evernoob

Did you try a factory reset?

Now or before installing the rom? I did a factory reset before installing, but I haven't done one since.

Quote:
Originally Posted by DZonikg

I am not expert but i tried the same with R14 kernel and bricked but done the same with R13 and it worked .

I just flashed the R13 kernel, but I'm still in the same situation.
28th April 2012, 12:17 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Flag Réunion Island, Saint-Denis
Thanks Meter: 25
 
177 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
More
Instead of flashing a new kernel there should be factory reset option on the first set you have or in "mounts and storage"
29th April 2012, 12:26 AM   |  #6  
zilian28's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Goiânia
Thanks Meter: 35
 
113 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
Talking
I had this problem once and I managed to solve it flashing a full rom (like 2.3.5 rooted and with rj kernel). It seems some users are having problems when flashing only the kernel. After you solve the problem, flash back group rom.
29th April 2012, 04:31 AM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
I just tried the rom+kernel. It said it was successful but it must not have been because it was hanging on boot again, and now it won't respond to the power button. If I plug it in to the computer it gets an image of a battery turns off and repeats.
29th April 2012, 10:06 AM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 91
 
238 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by jnmaster

I just tried the rom+kernel. It said it was successful but it must not have been because it was hanging on boot again, and now it won't respond to the power button. If I plug it in to the computer it gets an image of a battery turns off and repeats.

Can you go back to CWM after flashing rom+kernel? If yes, usually it is a matter of wiping the data and Dalvik cache. Which ROM+Kernel did you flashed?
30th April 2012, 12:58 AM   |  #9  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by WT Ho

Can you go back to CWM after flashing rom+kernel? If yes, usually it is a matter of wiping the data and Dalvik cache. Which ROM+Kernel did you flashed?

No, I'm not able to get a response from the power button.

I used the ROM + kernel you posted http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1446774

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes