Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,806,018 Members 44,533 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Guide][ALL DEVICES]ROOT + flash custom recovery + fix perfected spl [27 JAN 2012]

Tip us?
 
ScriptJunkie
Old
#641  
Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 31
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Austin
Question I know why now

Quote:
Originally Posted by ScriptJunkie View Post
Every time I try to change my SPL to an engineering one I soft-brick my phone, and I have to flash the 1.5 android SAPPIMG.nbh image to get it back. I followed the steps to the letter, but to get the custom recovery image I used the previous post to get the custom recovery image (so I wouldn't have to delete install-recovery.sh).
I tried all with android 1.5 and it allowed me to flash the ENG SPL. So I think that I was having problems because I was on android 2.2.1 and with a different radio. I think 2.2.1 only likes 1.33.0013 SPL. I tried four other different ENG SPLs and none worked.

Does anybody knows what ENG SPL can I use with 2.2.1 or how can I get S-OFF so I can mess with fastboot?
 
mumilover
Old
#642  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 625
Posts: 1,270
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Copenhagen

 
DONATE TO ME
This has been answered before..
Only 1.33.0013(d) will work for 2.2.1...
If I was helpful or you liked my tools, please remember to DONATE and/or hit that "Thanks" button.
APK(s) Installer tool
HTC Magic: 4 easy steps ROOT guide
Fastboot Commander v.1.51
Fastboot Commander(HTC magic version)
The Following User Says Thank You to mumilover For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
tony yayo
Old
#643  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 89
Posts: 647
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Chicago
So, I'm on 2.2.1 and tried to root with superoneclick. everything seems to work fine but superuser doesn't show up in my apps. tried to run root again and it says already rooted. would like to get to the next step of installing recovery. any help would be appreciated.
 
mumilover
Old
#644  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 625
Posts: 1,270
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Copenhagen

 
DONATE TO ME
Just follow the guide... super user app is not a necessity :0)
If I was helpful or you liked my tools, please remember to DONATE and/or hit that "Thanks" button.
APK(s) Installer tool
HTC Magic: 4 easy steps ROOT guide
Fastboot Commander v.1.51
Fastboot Commander(HTC magic version)
 
ScriptJunkie
Old
(Last edited by ScriptJunkie; 28th April 2012 at 12:16 AM.) Reason: found the spl
#645  
Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 31
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Austin
Quote:
Originally Posted by mumilover View Post
This has been answered before..
Only 1.33.0013(d) will work for 2.2.1...
Thanks and sorry for the redundant question.

Where can I get the 1.33.0013d SPL?

No worries, I found the post you were talking about. But 1.33.0013d does not take the S-OFF, it just allows to use one fastboot command. Is there a way that I can get full fastboot control with 2.2.1 update?

Is there a fast ROM that you would recommend for this set up?

SAPPHIRE PVT 32B SHIP S-ON G
HBOOT-1.33.0013d (SAPP30000)
CLPD-10
RADIO-2.22.27.08

Thanks, you are the most helpful person I have found in this forum.
 
tony yayo
Old
#646  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 89
Posts: 647
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Chicago
Quote:
Originally Posted by mumilover View Post
Just follow the guide... super user app is not a necessity :0)
Figured it was key to being rooted. Ok, so how do I run app that requires super user?
 
ScriptJunkie
Old
#647  
Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 31
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Austin
Quote:
Originally Posted by tony yayo View Post
Figured it was key to being rooted. Ok, so how do I run app that requires super user?
A easy quick check (to see if you are properly rooted) is to download a terminal in your phone and type su. If the $ changes to # you are set.

You have to allow root privileges to the terminal for this to work. But this comes from the root app. So if you say is not there I don't know.

I rooted with SuperOneClick and I had to reboot for the root app to work.
 
tony yayo
Old
#648  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 89
Posts: 647
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Chicago
Quote:
Originally Posted by ScriptJunkie View Post
A easy quick check (to see if you are properly rooted) is to download a terminal in your phone and type su. If the $ changes to # you are set.

You have to allow root privileges to the terminal for this to work. But this comes from the root app. So if you say is not there I don't know.

I rooted with SuperOneClick and I had to reboot for the root app to work.
yeah it's still not taking. as i said i'm on 2.2.1, maybe i need to use something other than superoneclick? guess i'll have to read around.
 
ScriptJunkie
Old
#649  
Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 31
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Austin
Quote:
Originally Posted by tony yayo View Post
yeah it's still not taking. as i said i'm on 2.2.1, maybe i need to use something other than superoneclick? guess i'll have to read around.
I rooted my mytouch on 2.2.1 with SuperOneClick and it all went smooth. But, I'm not a Dev or anything so I don't know what went wrong when you rooted. You right, I'm sure you can find some help on the SuperOneClick thread.
 
tony yayo
Old
#650  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 89
Posts: 647
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Chicago
Quote:
Originally Posted by ScriptJunkie View Post
I rooted my mytouch on 2.2.1 with SuperOneClick and it all went smooth. But, I'm not a Dev or anything so I don't know what went wrong when you rooted. You right, I'm sure you can find some help on the SuperOneClick thread.
Think i might try a factory reset and start over.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes