Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Can't find GoKeyboard.apk anywhere on nook

OP brendan10211

26th April 2012, 02:57 PM   |  #1  
brendan10211's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Cary
Thanks Meter: 12
 
200 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
I have browsed my nook's file system for a while now and I can't seem to find anything related to go keyboard. I reinstalled it a few times, and it runs, but to enable it the apk must be in /system/app. Go keyboard tells me to go to settings->language and keyboard, then enable go keyboard, but that doesn't exist.

Please help? The only fix I can find for the broken android keyboard is installing another one, but it just doesn't work.
26th April 2012, 03:56 PM   |  #2  
Renate NST's Avatar
Recognized Contributor / Recognized Developer
Boston
Thanks Meter: 822
 
2,000 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
Different tools may enable settings for IME selection.

If you want to do it manually, you can use the method below.
I don't know what the package is for Go Keyboard, so I list my NullKbd package.

Code:
adb pull /data/data/com.android.providers.settings/databases/settings.db settings.db

sqlite3 settings.db
update secure set value='com.android.inputmethod.latin/.LatinIME:com.temblast.nullkbd/.NullKeyboard' where name='enabled_input_methods';
update secure set value='com.temblast.nullkbd/.NullKeyboard' where name='default_input_method';
.q

adb push settings.db /data/data/com.android.providers.settings/databases/settings.db
The Following User Says Thank You to Renate NST For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th April 2012, 04:58 PM   |  #3  
brendan10211's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Cary
Thanks Meter: 12
 
200 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
Thanks!

I checked the package name when it was running, and it was com.jp.gokeyboard. Should I replace null with that?
26th April 2012, 05:48 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 138
 
479 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
After installing, you should find the installed .apk under /data/app. Just move that to /system/app and reboot. You should then be able to set it as your default using NookTouch Tools.

I had Go Keyboard installed in this manner, but have since replaced it. Sorry, but I don't recall the full .apk name.
The Following User Says Thank You to bobstro For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th April 2012, 07:44 PM   |  #5  
brendan10211's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Cary
Thanks Meter: 12
 
200 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
Thanks for your help. I will look around in /data/app for the apk.

Question: What file browser do you use? I can't seem to browse /data with mine.
26th April 2012, 10:48 PM   |  #6  
Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
45 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Root Explorer or ES file manager (in ES in the settings you have to tick to make system rewritable)

Sent from my MB526 using xda premium
Last edited by zholy; 26th April 2012 at 10:50 PM.
27th April 2012, 02:34 AM   |  #7  
Renate NST's Avatar
Recognized Contributor / Recognized Developer
Boston
Thanks Meter: 822
 
2,000 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by brendan10211

I checked the package name when it was running, and it was com.jp.gokeyboard.

You did? It's actually jb. To be exact, com.jb.gokeyboard/.GoKeyboard

Code:
adb pull /data/data/com.android.providers.settings/databases/settings.db settings.db

sqlite3 settings.db
update secure set value='com.android.inputmethod.latin/.LatinIME:com.jb.gokeyboard/.GoKeyboard' where name='enabled_input_methods';
update secure set value='com.jb.gokeyboard/.GoKeyboard' where name='default_input_method';
.q

adb push settings.db /data/data/com.android.providers.settings/databases/settings.db
The Following User Says Thank You to Renate NST For This Useful Post: [ View ]
29th April 2012, 04:03 PM   |  #8  
brendan10211's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Cary
Thanks Meter: 12
 
200 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Renate NST

You did? It's actually jb. To be exact, com.jb.gokeyboard/.GoKeyboard

Code:
adb pull /data/data/com.android.providers.settings/databases/settings.db settings.db

sqlite3 settings.db
update secure set value='com.android.inputmethod.latin/.LatinIME:com.jb.gokeyboard/.GoKeyboard' where name='enabled_input_methods';
update secure set value='com.jb.gokeyboard/.GoKeyboard' where name='default_input_method';
.q

adb push settings.db /data/data/com.android.providers.settings/databases/settings.db

Glad I didn't actually do anything yet! thanks
29th April 2012, 08:43 PM   |  #9  
brendan10211's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Cary
Thanks Meter: 12
 
200 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
Sorry for double post..
But obviously I got it working. Thanks guys! Now to search for hackers keyboard.

Edit: can't seem to search market. How does one do searchmarket?

Sent from my NOOK
Last edited by brendan10211; 29th April 2012 at 08:47 PM.
30th April 2012, 11:43 AM   |  #10  
brendan10211's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Cary
Thanks Meter: 12
 
200 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
*poke*
Wait why do I ... crap i just.. never mind
i suck at this

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes