Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Block ads on your Android phone (2010-04-15)

OP phaelox

26th November 2011, 06:10 AM   |  #251  
Senior Member
Flag Atlanta, GA
Thanks Meter: 5
 
186 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2008
More
Trying to register on the website so that I can whitelist a site that by default is blocked.

Keep getting "There was a problem creating your account, please try again. If you still have problems please contact support."

Thoughts?
30th November 2011, 12:17 AM   |  #252  
Megatr0n.'s Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
127 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
More
Is there a reason why adfree android and adaway cripple my download speeds when running speedtest.net?

Adfree android is a little better than adaway (which really hurts my connection speeds), but I'm still seeing well over a 50% reduction in download speed when running adfree android. Now, my question is: is the speed reduction just a result of certain addresses being blocked that the speedtest.net app uses or is adfree's host changes really reducing the connection speeds? I'm debating whether blocking ads is really worth crippling my connection.
4th December 2011, 09:25 PM   |  #253  
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
45 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
I haven't seen any kind of slowdown of Verizon's 4G LTE on my Samsung Stratosphere.

I still see some ads though in Angry Birds Seasons. I've seen ones for some Zillow thing, a hotel booking app and, of all things, the iPhone 4S. If I wanted a damn iPhone then I wouldn't have seen the ad in the first place. Please find those domains and filter them, this is starting to piss me off.
15th December 2011, 07:18 PM   |  #254  
Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
78 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by p_025

I still see some ads though in Angry Birds Seasons. I've seen ones for some Zillow thing, a hotel booking app and, of all things, the iPhone 4S. If I wanted a damn iPhone then I wouldn't have seen the ad in the first place. Please find those domains and filter them, this is starting to piss me off.

I am seeing that too. I also found that the 2012 seasons switched to Nexage for the ad engine and - worst of all - refuses to move between levels without an internet connection. To top it all off tcpdump bundled in AdFree have not been able to reliably capture any ad activity. I'm also seeing stray ads in AndroZip and TubeMate as well, but I do have a way to block all data in apps that otherwise should not need to go online ever.

EDIT: Looks like the Wreck the Halls update switched again to AdMob.
Last edited by motopig; 15th December 2011 at 07:57 PM.
15th January 2012, 06:52 AM   |  #255  
bobbymokie's Avatar
Senior Member
abq
Thanks Meter: 116
 
638 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
Question, how can I tell what line to remove from the hosts file to no longer block a server? since installing adfree I can no longer view emails or click through to see sales from newegg, my all time favorite site for buying stuff I don't really need. It hurts. I see this in logcat, but don't know how it translates into the sites blocked by the hosts file. Any help would be appreciated
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	screenshot-1326584521919.jpg
Views:	298
Size:	54.0 KB
ID:	857489  
19th January 2012, 09:27 AM   |  #256  
StopSpazzing's Avatar
Member
Flag Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 1
 
32 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobbymokie

Question, how can I tell what line to remove from the hosts file to no longer block a server? since installing adfree I can no longer view emails or click through to see sales from newegg, my all time favorite site for buying stuff I don't really need. It hurts. I see this in logcat, but don't know how it translates into the sites blocked by the hosts file. Any help would be appreciated

I second this, any help would be fully appreciated!
17th February 2012, 07:04 AM   |  #257  
Junior Member
Flag bangalore
Thanks Meter: 0
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
hi, i tired doing this on a Xpera arc -s , i have root acccess, when i do adb push hosts.for.mobile.txt /etc/hosts it says adb: not found, what could be the issue.
Regards,
M.Baradharajan
9th March 2012, 02:29 PM   |  #258  
Senior Member
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 9
 
132 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2006
More
I'm having trouble getting this to work on ICS. Anyone else? [SGS2]
20th March 2012, 03:03 AM   |  #259  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 31
 
167 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by wyco

I'm having trouble getting this to work on ICS. Anyone else? [SGS2]

Works fine on my rooted Galaxy Nexus with ICS 4.0.4.

The app requires root. Are you stock?
1st May 2012, 02:14 AM   |  #260  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
Two Problems with AdFree
I have found two problems:

1) When I go into options and as to see the host file in just hangs.
2) nytimes/adx/bin - needs to be added to host file.

I also find that sometime the ads are blocked from the NYTimes app and then they return. I have a Motorola Photon 4G running at 1.3 GHz.

Thanks!

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
hosts block filter ads
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes