Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,811,541 Members 52,862 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] need stock hboot to replace ugly Junu...labeled hboot

Tip us?
 
Snuzzo
Old
#11  
Snuzzo's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 5,754
Posts: 4,946
Join Date: Dec 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snuzzo View Post
No need for unlock codes anymore
There is more difference than this(allows more commands to be ran in prompts) but with an ENG hboot, you can keep it locked and s-off, along with still being able to flash anything your heart desires. ALTHOUGH if you wish to go back to s-on, flash an RUU of your choice first. As when you do write secureflag and a few reboots on an ENG hboot, you could brick.
 
con247
Old
#12  
con247's Avatar
Retired Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 3,117
Posts: 3,070
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Ann Arbor
Leave the hboot they give you. The tag might be annoying but it is better than having to re-unlock to use fastboot commands.
Current Phone: iPhone 5[s]
Check out my GS3 Splash Screen Changer
The Following User Says Thank You to con247 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
AJMetal87
Old
#13  
AJMetal87's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 119
Join Date: Oct 2010
Why is un- re locking not ideal? It takes 2 minutes.

Sent from my v6 supercharged Rezound.
 
LakerStar25
Old
(Last edited by LakerStar25; 26th April 2012 at 10:02 PM.)
#14  
LakerStar25's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 88
Posts: 511
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: LA
Quote:
Originally Posted by AJMetal87 View Post
Why is un- re locking not ideal? It takes 2 minutes.

Sent from my v6 supercharged Rezound.
Scotty posted earlier if your S-OFF then unlock and relock again it will alway show relocked again unless you RUU then S-ON and then S-OFF again. If you S-OFF and don't unlock it and RUU it will say locked but its best to use the patched hboots supplied to be able to use certain fastboot commands that way you don't have to unlock and not have a problem with it saying relocked.

Sent from my ICS Rezound
 
AJMetal87
Old
#15  
AJMetal87's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 119
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by LakerStar25 View Post
Scotty posted earlier if your S-OFF then unlock and relock again it will alway show relocked again unless you RUU then S-ON and then S-OFF again. If you S-OFF and don't unlock it and RUU it will say locked but its best to use the patched hboots supplied to be able to use certain fastboot commands that way you don't have to unlock and not have a problem with it saying relocked.

Sent from my ICS Rezound
Aside of the text difference on the bootloader and potential warranty comprimising, is there any other downfall?
 
Snuzzo
Old
#16  
Snuzzo's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 5,754
Posts: 4,946
Join Date: Dec 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
No downfall. But again, nor needed to unlock if s-off.

Sent from my ADR6425LVW using XDA

What do you get when you cross a cow with a lion?
One really messed up situation!
The Following User Says Thank You to Snuzzo For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
JeffBea
Old
#17  
JeffBea's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 90
Posts: 522
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Delaware, OH
I'm not trolling or trying to start a argument, but if that's a big deal to you to have the pink junabear banner across your hboot screen then you should have never s-off. I mean really. Who sits there and stares at the hboot screen and decides that it doesn't look good. Lmao.

Sent from my ADR6425LVW using XDA
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to JeffBea For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
krelvinaz
Old
#18  
krelvinaz's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 550
Posts: 2,306
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Mesa AZ
Especially when the stock hboot uses the same color banner but says locked instead?

Via Rezound using XDA Premium
Phone: TMobile - Samsung SM-900T Galaxy Note 3 - KitKat 4.4.2 Rooted/Stock - QI Wireless
Tablet: Nexus 7 (2012) 16gb Stock Rooted - 4.4.4 w/TWRP Recovery
Droid Like Devices: Several ChromeCasts, Amazon Fire TV (rooted)
Link: ReZoundn EVO 4g LTE and HTC Droid DNA Splash Screen Web Generator
 
jdmba
Old
#19  
jdmba's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 95
Posts: 1,473
Join Date: Aug 2007
Default GB

Anyone who was on Gingerbread when the did S-Off does *NOT* have the Juououuoouououpnutbear logo; just standard Eng HBoot.

This would be me.
-----------------------------------
HTC Rezound (Global Blue ROM).

Previous: HTC Incredible <- AT&T Tilt <- e815 <- Startac
 
blestsol
Old
#20  
blestsol's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 410
Posts: 2,637
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Baltimore
Bump. I need the stock Hboot to send back to Verizon. The GB hboot if anyone has it please.

Tags
hboot s-off
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes