FORUMS

PSA: You Can Optimize Your Note 4’s Recents Menu & RAM

The Note 4 never had the fastest Recents Menu, and despite its 3GB of RAM, … more

XDA Picks: Best Apps of the Week (July 25 – Aug 1)

Apps are at the front and center of any smartphone experience, and with over a … more

Voices Of XDA: Orbiting The Earth With Android

Editor’s note: This week’s feature has been written by forum … more

CloudPlayer: DIY HiFi Music Streaming Solution

In our Helpful Guide to Music Streaming Services, we mentioned several different services … more

Xperia PLAY R800x Verizon Update Coming April 30th, 67mb

3,753 posts
Thanks Meter: 1,624
 
By ozzmanj1, Senior Member on 26th April 2012, 10:48 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
2nd May 2012, 03:22 AM |#491  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leraeniesh

That probably has to follow with tomorrows gaming announcement.

Sent from my CM9 Kindle Fire

Hopefully

Sent from my R800x using xda premium
 
 
2nd May 2012, 04:11 AM |#492  
Senior Member
Flag New York
Thanks Meter: 165
 
More
So if I use flashtool to flash back to stock that will wipe all my apps correct? But then I can use Titanium to restore them (well the ones I backed up anyway)?

Tried to download the update and it failed on install, not sure why, it seems to have worked for others who are rooted with unlocked BL
2nd May 2012, 04:13 AM |#493  
ozzmanj1's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Utah - Somewhere in the Great Salt Lake
Thanks Meter: 1,624
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rogue Leader

So if I use flashtool to flash back to stock that will wipe all my apps correct? But then I can use Titanium to restore them (well the ones I backed up anyway)?

Tried to download the update and it failed on install, not sure why, it seems to have worked for others who are rooted with unlocked BL

We are all using the nandroid backup from netzn, restore via recovery nandroid restore, then wipe all data and factory reset. Then boot. I am using 2.3.4 and running doomkernel, though for doomkernel wifi see my network but doesnt connect
2nd May 2012, 04:17 AM |#494  
paxChristos's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator
Flag Milwaukee
Thanks Meter: 1,579
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jgregoryj1

We are all using the nandroid backup from netzn, restore via recovery nandroid restore, then wipe all data and factory reset. Then boot. I am using 2.3.4 and running doomkernel, though for doomkernel wifi see my network but doesnt connect

Have you tried with a static ip address to see if that works?
2nd May 2012, 04:35 AM |#495  
Senior Member
Flag New York
Thanks Meter: 165
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jgregoryj1

We are all using the nandroid backup from netzn, restore via recovery nandroid restore, then wipe all data and factory reset. Then boot. I am using 2.3.4 and running doomkernel, though for doomkernel wifi see my network but doesnt connect

Yeah but that backup is with an unlocked bootloader, mine is locked, will that screw it up?
2nd May 2012, 04:49 AM |#496  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
making junistr
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rogue Leader

Yeah but that backup is with an unlocked bootloader, mine is locked, will that screw it up?

Really if you have the time just try backing your stuff up with titanium and doing the flash 2.3.3, root then update thing.
2nd May 2012, 05:09 AM |#497  
ozzmanj1's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Utah - Somewhere in the Great Salt Lake
Thanks Meter: 1,624
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by paxChristos

Have you tried with a static ip address to see if that works?

Tried it, still the same. Everything else works great, its just no wifi connection, it sees it but nothing... hmmm... I think last time I had a similar issue i went to the file under system/libs/modules and long pressed and changed the permissions as they were not right, tried that tonight but the permissions were already set to what I was going to change it to, so same boat
2nd May 2012, 05:12 AM |#498  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 90
 
More
Silly cdma users when will you learn, you will always be shafted. Cdma network providers are hardcore to ensure you stay branded.
2nd May 2012, 05:28 AM |#499  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
rooted 2.3.4
did mine a little different, I used SE Update Service to get back to stock 2.3.3 because my BL is locked, and I didn't backup my original before I deleted a bunch of Verizon bloatware. Then I downloaded the update. I then rooted with SuperOneClick and once rooted I applied the update and it worked!!

Now have the newest 2.3.4 on a rooted R800x with a locked BL....Now I gotta go and delete all that Verizon bloatware that came with it
2nd May 2012, 05:31 AM |#500  
Senior Member
Flag New York
Thanks Meter: 165
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by DieB4uwake

did mine a little different, I used SE Update Service to get back to stock 2.3.3 because my BL is locked, and I didn't backup my original before I deleted a bunch of Verizon bloatware. Then I downloaded the update. I then rooted with SuperOneClick and once rooted I applied the update and it worked!!

Now have the newest 2.3.4 on a rooted R800x with a locked BL....Now I gotta go and delete all that Verizon bloatware that came with it

This is what I am doing right now. I also Ti - Backedup all my games, so I will be restoring them and then whacking some bloatware

Edit: Seems to have worked, lost my activation which is weird... checking on root now

Edit 2: It worked!
Last edited by Rogue Leader; 2nd May 2012 at 06:46 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to Rogue Leader For This Useful Post: [ View ]
2nd May 2012, 08:49 AM |#501  
Junior Member
Flag New Port Richey
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
I rooted my R800x with SuperOnceClick the day I got it (a few months ago). I installed OTA RootKeeper when this thread showed up. I haven't done any tinkering with the bootloader as I've been fairly contempt with stock (oddly enough, I flashed just about every ROM I could back when I had Windows Mobile). I have not messed with any system apps (that means: no deleting or moving to SD card.)

The update downloaded just fine for me and installed without any problems. I didn't have to unroot before doing either task, and it appears that I still have root after the update (OTA RootKeeper wasn't necessary).

Like DieB4uwake mentioned, the only thing I lost was my activation, but that's not an issue whatsoever really - just a few minute call and everything was back to normal.

I know this isn't the best way to measure things, but in the "all" tab under applications, it appears that I've lost 10MB of space due to whatever apps and updates Verizon installed. It would also appear that Madden can now be moved to the SD card, which gives back that 10MB lost in the update (maybe I'm wrong, but I could have sworn we couldn't move Madden to the SD card before the update).

I'm not entirely positive on this one either, but I believe Swype may have received a small update as well. If someone still on 2.3.3 wouldn't mind, could you post what version of Swype is installed so I can see if I'm right?

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes