Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,806,072 Members 47,040 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Xperia PLAY R800x Verizon Update Coming April 30th, 67mb

Tip us?
 
Wii89
Old
#491  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 25
Join Date: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leraeniesh View Post
That probably has to follow with tomorrows gaming announcement.

Sent from my CM9 Kindle Fire
Hopefully

Sent from my R800x using xda premium
 
Rogue Leader
Old
#492  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 161
Posts: 1,072
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: New York
So if I use flashtool to flash back to stock that will wipe all my apps correct? But then I can use Titanium to restore them (well the ones I backed up anyway)?

Tried to download the update and it failed on install, not sure why, it seems to have worked for others who are rooted with unlocked BL
 
ozzmanj1
Old
#493  
ozzmanj1's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1,509
Posts: 3,581
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Utah - Somewhere in the Great Salt Lake
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rogue Leader View Post
So if I use flashtool to flash back to stock that will wipe all my apps correct? But then I can use Titanium to restore them (well the ones I backed up anyway)?

Tried to download the update and it failed on install, not sure why, it seems to have worked for others who are rooted with unlocked BL
We are all using the nandroid backup from netzn, restore via recovery nandroid restore, then wipe all data and factory reset. Then boot. I am using 2.3.4 and running doomkernel, though for doomkernel wifi see my network but doesnt connect
 
paxChristos
Old
#494  
paxChristos's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator
Thanks Meter 1,487
Posts: 2,036
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Milwaukee

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by jgregoryj1 View Post
We are all using the nandroid backup from netzn, restore via recovery nandroid restore, then wipe all data and factory reset. Then boot. I am using 2.3.4 and running doomkernel, though for doomkernel wifi see my network but doesnt connect
Have you tried with a static ip address to see if that works?
Tips:
*Logcat or it never happened. *Search before posting *Go to User CP -> Edit Options -> switch "Number of Posts to Show Per Page" to 50. *Reporting Posts

Looks like I won't be doing anything android for a long time

Thanks for the lul'z

Pax
 
Rogue Leader
Old
#495  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 161
Posts: 1,072
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: New York
Quote:
Originally Posted by jgregoryj1 View Post
We are all using the nandroid backup from netzn, restore via recovery nandroid restore, then wipe all data and factory reset. Then boot. I am using 2.3.4 and running doomkernel, though for doomkernel wifi see my network but doesnt connect
Yeah but that backup is with an unlocked bootloader, mine is locked, will that screw it up?
 
luebbers
Old
#496  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 12
Join Date: Feb 2012
Default making junistr

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rogue Leader View Post
Yeah but that backup is with an unlocked bootloader, mine is locked, will that screw it up?
Really if you have the time just try backing your stuff up with titanium and doing the flash 2.3.3, root then update thing.
 
ozzmanj1
Old
#497  
ozzmanj1's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1,509
Posts: 3,581
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Utah - Somewhere in the Great Salt Lake
Quote:
Originally Posted by paxChristos View Post
Have you tried with a static ip address to see if that works?
Tried it, still the same. Everything else works great, its just no wifi connection, it sees it but nothing... hmmm... I think last time I had a similar issue i went to the file under system/libs/modules and long pressed and changed the permissions as they were not right, tried that tonight but the permissions were already set to what I was going to change it to, so same boat
 
swebosdev
Old
#498  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 90
Posts: 513
Join Date: Aug 2011
Silly cdma users when will you learn, you will always be shafted. Cdma network providers are hardcore to ensure you stay branded.
 
DieB4uwake
Old
#499  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Mar 2012
Default rooted 2.3.4

did mine a little different, I used SE Update Service to get back to stock 2.3.3 because my BL is locked, and I didn't backup my original before I deleted a bunch of Verizon bloatware. Then I downloaded the update. I then rooted with SuperOneClick and once rooted I applied the update and it worked!!

Now have the newest 2.3.4 on a rooted R800x with a locked BL....Now I gotta go and delete all that Verizon bloatware that came with it
 
Rogue Leader
Old
(Last edited by Rogue Leader; 2nd May 2012 at 06:46 AM.)
#500  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 161
Posts: 1,072
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: New York
Quote:
Originally Posted by DieB4uwake View Post
did mine a little different, I used SE Update Service to get back to stock 2.3.3 because my BL is locked, and I didn't backup my original before I deleted a bunch of Verizon bloatware. Then I downloaded the update. I then rooted with SuperOneClick and once rooted I applied the update and it worked!!

Now have the newest 2.3.4 on a rooted R800x with a locked BL....Now I gotta go and delete all that Verizon bloatware that came with it
This is what I am doing right now. I also Ti - Backedup all my games, so I will be restoring them and then whacking some bloatware

Edit: Seems to have worked, lost my activation which is weird... checking on root now

Edit 2: It worked!

The Following User Says Thank You to Rogue Leader For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes