FORUMS

Beats Music No Longer Accepting New Accounts

Whenever Apple launches a new product or service, it definitely manages to grab the … more

Do You Do Self-Repairs on Your Devices?

As smartphone designs become more and more complex, self-repairs on devices are also becoming … more

Sony Z4 Slips Out of Top 5 Smartphones in Japan

In a bid to streamline its flagship series which had been losing credibility over the … more

Sprint’s New Unlimited Plan with Ridiculous Capped Speeds

The carrier game in the United States is perpetually rushing forward at … more

Android tether 3.1 beta

62 posts
Thanks Meter: 11
 
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
2nd May 2012, 04:20 PM |#11  
BleedsOrangeandBlue's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Charleston, SC
Thanks Meter: 50
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sasquatch080

I understand Play Store is Google. I had the impression that carriers can block certain apps from appearing in the Play Store. When I was on sprint they blocked wireless tether app. I'm probably wrong about Verizon.

Sent from my SCH-I510 using xda premium

Google was just cooperating with the carriers.

http://www.theverge.com/2011/05/02/v...fcc-violation/
 
 
2nd May 2012, 05:22 PM |#12  
OP Member
Flag Sylva, NC
Thanks Meter: 11
 
Donate to Me
More
All I can say is I'm glad it's back in the market and I'm glad I finally got a 3.1 version to work on my charge

Sent from my SCH-I510 using xda premium
2nd May 2012, 09:20 PM |#13  
Senior Member
Flag Lake Tapps, Some where in the Pacific NW
Thanks Meter: 27
 
More
I love wifi tether with unlimited data...it's just like being hooked up to HSD at home.
3rd May 2012, 09:07 PM |#14  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 54
 
More
FoxFi works fine for me. Don't have to deal with rebooting on the wifi tether app.
3rd May 2012, 09:24 PM |#15  
shrike1978's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Atlanta, GA
Thanks Meter: 3,095
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by DKYang

FoxFi works fine for me. Don't have to deal with rebooting on the wifi tether app.

I use Wifi Tether and I don't have to reboot either. It's as simple as unchecking a box in the config. I don't trust FoxFi. Anything that uses the built in tethering is going to automatically be easier to detect than something like Wifi Tether or Open Garden.
The Following User Says Thank You to shrike1978 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
7th May 2012, 02:10 PM |#16  
Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by shrike1978

I use Wifi Tether and I don't have to reboot either. It's as simple as unchecking a box in the config. I don't trust FoxFi. Anything that uses the built in tethering is going to automatically be easier to detect than something like Wifi Tether or Open Garden.

Which check box? The wi-fi driver reload option? I'd love to be able to skip the reboot (on 3.1-beta11).


Sent from my GT-P7510 using Tapatalk 2
7th May 2012, 02:35 PM |#17  
OP Member
Flag Sylva, NC
Thanks Meter: 11
 
Donate to Me
More
Yes uncheck that box and you should be good to go

Sent from my SCH-I510 using xda premium
The Following User Says Thank You to xAudacityx For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes