Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,732,778 Members 52,123 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

DISCONTINUED [DEV][WIP] ICS / CM9 (4.0.4) Alpha 5 - 3.1 kernel

Tip us?
 
botto00
Old
#641  
Member
Thanks Meter 438
Posts: 82
Join Date: Jun 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by swimmer 4 View Post
Why you will overclock the folio?
and why not?. With this kernel you can overclock or not. Allows you to choose
I do not see why not have that option, you never know when it can be useful
 
swimmer 4
Old
#642  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 43
Posts: 136
Join Date: May 2011

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by botto00 View Post
and why not?. With this kernel you can overclock or not. Allows you to choose
I do not see why not have that option, you never know when it can be useful
My folio is fast enough. Overclocking can damage your hardware of your folio.

Sent from my LT15i using XDA
 
botto00
Old
#643  
Member
Thanks Meter 438
Posts: 82
Join Date: Jun 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by swimmer 4 View Post
My folio is fast enough. Overclocking can damage your hardware of your folio.

Sent from my LT15i using XDA
By default the kernel boots at 1GHz.

The manufacturer's specifications allow a clock frequency up to 1.2 Ghz and modifications include undervolt so I doubt you can damage the hardware by using it. (I have no intention of damaging mine)

Applications are increasingly demanding more ram and CPU. Just give me Tablet more future

In any case it is your choice to use or not
The Following User Says Thank You to botto00 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
kgerva
Old
#644  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 20
Join Date: Sep 2009
@ botto00

Could you, please, post the zip version (installable with cwm) of your kernel?

otherwise

How can install the boot.img?
It is correct with "fastboot flash linux boot.img"

Thanks
 
painkiller_93
Old
#645  
painkiller_93's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 83
Join Date: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by kgerva View Post
@ botto00

Could you, please, post the zip version (installable with cwm) of your kernel?

otherwise

How can install the boot.img?
It is correct with "fastboot flash linux boot.img"

Thanks
yes, you have to install it using "fastboot flash linux boot.img"
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to painkiller_93 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
stefannsv
Old
#646  
stefannsv's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 83
Join Date: Mar 2006
Has anyone test this kernel?
@@@@@@@@@@
HTC ONE S with S4 CPU
@MaximusHD Rom with Sense 5@
Toshiba Folio 100
@JB CWM10 by derArtem@

cu
Stefan
 
painkiller_93
Old
#647  
painkiller_93's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 83
Join Date: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by stefannsv View Post
Has anyone test this kernel?
yes, It supports overclock up to 1.4 Ghz, ram management is better, but not that much. I get 6391 points in Antutu @ 1.4 Ghz, where before I got 5200 @ 1 Ghz
 
megeszlek
Old
#648  
Member
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 51
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Budapest
Quote:
Originally Posted by painkiller_93 View Post
yes, It supports overclock up to 1.4 Ghz, ram management is better, but not that much. I get 6391 points in Antutu @ 1.4 Ghz, where before I got 5200 @ 1 Ghz
I also tested it. The overall stability is good, but games are not working for me, and the browser crashes usually with flash contents.
 
DT84
Old
#649  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 40
Posts: 229
Join Date: Mar 2008
How much RAM does it free up?
 
botto00
Old
(Last edited by botto00; 3rd May 2012 at 11:55 PM.)
#650  
Member
Thanks Meter 438
Posts: 82
Join Date: Jun 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by megeszlek View Post
I also tested it. The overall stability is good, but games are not working for me, and the browser crashes usually with flash contents.
I tested for 3 consecutive days browsing and playing basically without fc or similar, I have tried almost all free TegraZone games and they worked OK
Try making full wipe
With which games will wrong?


Quote:
Originally Posted by DT84 View Post
How much RAM does it free up?
418Mb more or less for apps and SO

The Following User Says Thank You to botto00 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Tags
android 4.0.4, folio 100
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes