FORUMS

Analysis & Opinion

Top Forum Discussions

DISCONTINUED [DEV][WIP] ICS / CM9 (4.0.4) Alpha 5 - 3.1 kernel

210 posts
Thanks Meter: 611
 
By DerArtem, Senior Member on 29th January 2012, 06:34 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
2nd May 2012, 09:07 PM |#641  
Member
Thanks Meter: 446
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by swimmer 4

Why you will overclock the folio?

and why not?. With this kernel you can overclock or not. Allows you to choose
I do not see why not have that option, you never know when it can be useful
 
 
2nd May 2012, 10:11 PM |#642  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 43
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by botto00

and why not?. With this kernel you can overclock or not. Allows you to choose
I do not see why not have that option, you never know when it can be useful

My folio is fast enough. Overclocking can damage your hardware of your folio.

Sent from my LT15i using XDA
2nd May 2012, 10:35 PM |#643  
Member
Thanks Meter: 446
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by swimmer 4

My folio is fast enough. Overclocking can damage your hardware of your folio.

Sent from my LT15i using XDA

By default the kernel boots at 1GHz.

The manufacturer's specifications allow a clock frequency up to 1.2 Ghz and modifications include undervolt so I doubt you can damage the hardware by using it. (I have no intention of damaging mine)

Applications are increasingly demanding more ram and CPU. Just give me Tablet more future

In any case it is your choice to use or not
The Following User Says Thank You to botto00 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
3rd May 2012, 09:48 AM |#644  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
@ botto00

Could you, please, post the zip version (installable with cwm) of your kernel?

otherwise

How can install the boot.img?
It is correct with "fastboot flash linux boot.img"

Thanks
3rd May 2012, 10:10 AM |#645  
painkiller_93's Avatar
Member
Flag Valladolid
Thanks Meter: 17
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kgerva

@ botto00

Could you, please, post the zip version (installable with cwm) of your kernel?

otherwise

How can install the boot.img?
It is correct with "fastboot flash linux boot.img"

Thanks

yes, you have to install it using "fastboot flash linux boot.img"
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to painkiller_93 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
3rd May 2012, 02:16 PM |#646  
stefannsv's Avatar
Member
Flag Egglkofen
Thanks Meter: 15
 
More
Has anyone test this kernel?
3rd May 2012, 02:26 PM |#647  
painkiller_93's Avatar
Member
Flag Valladolid
Thanks Meter: 17
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by stefannsv

Has anyone test this kernel?

yes, It supports overclock up to 1.4 Ghz, ram management is better, but not that much. I get 6391 points in Antutu @ 1.4 Ghz, where before I got 5200 @ 1 Ghz
3rd May 2012, 03:12 PM |#648  
Member
Flag Budapest
Thanks Meter: 9
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by painkiller_93

yes, It supports overclock up to 1.4 Ghz, ram management is better, but not that much. I get 6391 points in Antutu @ 1.4 Ghz, where before I got 5200 @ 1 Ghz

I also tested it. The overall stability is good, but games are not working for me, and the browser crashes usually with flash contents.
3rd May 2012, 06:32 PM |#649  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 72
 
More
How much RAM does it free up?
3rd May 2012, 11:46 PM |#650  
Member
Thanks Meter: 446
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by megeszlek

I also tested it. The overall stability is good, but games are not working for me, and the browser crashes usually with flash contents.

I tested for 3 consecutive days browsing and playing basically without fc or similar, I have tried almost all free TegraZone games and they worked OK
Try making full wipe
With which games will wrong?


Quote:
Originally Posted by DT84

How much RAM does it free up?

418Mb more or less for apps and SO
Last edited by botto00; 3rd May 2012 at 11:55 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to botto00 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th May 2012, 08:41 AM |#651  
Member
Flag Budapest
Thanks Meter: 9
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by botto00

I tested for 3 consecutive days browsing and playing basically without fc or similar, I have tried almost all free TegraZone games and they worked OK
Try making full wipe
With which games will wrong?

Maybe your right, I forgot to wipe. I had issues with Reckless Racing, Bang Bang Racing THD and Hockey Nations.

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
android 4.0.4, folio 100
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes