FORUMS

PSA: You Can Optimize Your Note 4’s Recents Menu & RAM

The Note 4 never had the fastest Recents Menu, and despite its 3GB of RAM, … more

XDA Picks: Best Apps of the Week (July 25 – Aug 1)

Apps are at the front and center of any smartphone experience, and with over a … more

Voices Of XDA: Orbiting The Earth With Android

Editor’s note: This week’s feature has been written by forum … more

CloudPlayer: DIY HiFi Music Streaming Solution

In our Helpful Guide to Music Streaming Services, we mentioned several different services … more

[Q] build prop settings to get full market access.

229 posts
Thanks Meter: 36
 
By jmac9, Senior Member on 16th April 2012, 06:49 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
I posted this in Q&A and got zero responses so please no flaming about posting this there.......someone here knows because i got the info from here long ago. What changes in builds prop are done to "trick" the market? Nexus S in somewhere....just can't recall. TIA.
 
 
27th April 2012, 12:48 AM |#2  
Keuka79's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmac9

I posted this in Q&A and got zero responses so please no flaming about posting this there.......someone here knows because i got the info from here long ago. What changes in builds prop are done to "trick" the market? Nexus S in somewhere....just can't recall. TIA.

I would also like to know that. I run mine at 200 DPI but and thats a little too low for the full market access.

It also pisses me off when I post a question in the proper section and no one responds.
27th April 2012, 01:59 AM |#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 467
 
More
Then bump the post in the proper section. Don't knowingly and willfully break the rules.

Sent from my SCH-I500 using xda premium
The Following User Says Thank You to bobloblaw1 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th April 2012, 07:35 AM |#4  
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 3,163
 
Donate to Me
More
whole lotta derpin goin on...

First: ask an intelligible question if you want a sufficient answer. I for one have no idea wtf the OP is asking exactly since he gave virtually no details.

Second: don't ask in development when you know you shouldn't! See first response....

Third: getting "pissed off" when no one answers is extremely lame and immature. Either no one knew the answer, or no one knew wtf you were talking about and didn't feel like playing 20 questions. See first response....

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using XDA
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to jt1134 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th April 2012, 07:47 PM |#5  
Senior Member
Flag Newfoundland
Thanks Meter: 26
 
More
I bought the app LCD Density modder pro, it comes with a modifed play store that reports your LCD Density at 240dpi to the market.

This fixes the "App not compatible errors"

I've been flashing a lot of ICS roms lately and I was sick of booting ICS, running LCD modded, installing the modded files, rebooting... etc.. etc.. so I made myself a CWM zip file that I just flash right after I flash a rom.

Even tho it's a personal file, I gave LCD Density modded all the credit. Although I know of other sources the show you how to do the mods yourself. I don't know if I'm allow to post the CWM zip file here for you guys to download, or even if you do in fact want to download it.

So, if it's ok for me to post the file, can a mod let me know? Please and thanks. I will post it in the main form for others and let you guys know where it's too.

Thanks
Maniac


Quote:
Originally Posted by jmac9

I posted this in Q&A and got zero responses so please no flaming about posting this there.......someone here knows because i got the info from here long ago. What changes in builds prop are done to "trick" the market? Nexus S in somewhere....just can't recall. TIA.

The Following User Says Thank You to MrManiacNF For This Useful Post: [ View ]
30th April 2012, 11:15 PM |#6  
Keuka79's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrManiacNF

I bought the app LCD Density modder pro, it comes with a modifed play store that reports your LCD Density at 240dpi to the market.

This fixes the "App not compatible errors"

I've been flashing a lot of ICS roms lately and I was sick of booting ICS, running LCD modded, installing the modded files, rebooting... etc.. etc.. so I made myself a CWM zip file that I just flash right after I flash a rom.

Even tho it's a personal file, I gave LCD Density modded all the credit. Although I know of other sources the show you how to do the mods yourself. I don't know if I'm allow to post the CWM zip file here for you guys to download, or even if you do in fact want to download it.

So, if it's ok for me to post the file, can a mod let me know? Please and thanks. I will post it in the main form for others and let you guys know where it's too.

Thanks
Maniac

Thank you for the response. I'll be sure to be more mature about my responses here. I wouldn't want anyone telling my 65 year old mother one me. I'd hate to have to explain all of that to her. I'll simply say puzzled from now on.
2nd May 2012, 10:40 PM |#7  
jmac9's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Omaha, NE
Thanks Meter: 36
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jt1134

whole lotta derpin goin on...

First: ask an intelligible question if you want a sufficient answer. I for one have no idea wtf the OP is asking exactly since he gave virtually no details.

Second: don't ask in development when you know you shouldn't! See first response....

Third: getting "pissed off" when no one answers is extremely lame and immature. Either no one knew the answer, or no one knew wtf you were talking about and didn't feel like playing 20 questions. See first response....

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using XDA

Sorry for not explaining it better (being the OP). It sounded very clear inside my head when typing.......and that is a problem I know!

When trying to download some apps in the Market (Crackle TV app for example) I get the error "this app is not compatible with your phone". There was a "trick" posted awhile back that by changing something in the build prop using a text editor that would make the market think I had a newer modeled phone and thus could get the apps to download.

I had run for months with the market thinking I had a Nexus I believe (again, sorry I can't remember what I had changed it to) for a long time with no issues, but these latest builds of ICS just aren't playing nice with the Play Store.

I truly thought it was a common thing people were doing with the fascinate in order to have full access to the market/play store. Thus, I just condensed my question thinking it was going to get multiple hits and a quick answer. My mistake there again.
Last edited by jmac9; 2nd May 2012 at 10:44 PM.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes