5,597,261 Members 40,007 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[rom][nand][omgb] - 1.2.3{2.3.7}

Tip us?
 
LightC
Old
#541  
Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 30
Join Date: Jun 2009
I noticed that I experienced less hiccups using nand but I haven't tried xdandroid in over 6 months. I'm taking there has been some significant improvements.

WIFI Tether for Root only supports WEP, right? For some reason, my HP Touchpad running ICS is more friendly with WPA2-protected networks.

I will look into trying xdandroid again
 
arrrghhh
Old
(Last edited by arrrghhh; 2nd May 2012 at 06:16 PM.)
#542  
Retired Forum Moderator / Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 3099
Posts: 10,588
Join Date: Feb 2007

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by LightC View Post
I noticed that I experienced less hiccups using nand but I haven't tried xdandroid in over 6 months. I'm taking there has been some significant improvements.

WIFI Tether for Root only supports WEP, right? For some reason, my HP Touchpad running ICS is more friendly with WPA2-protected networks.

I will look into trying xdandroid again
The built-in tethering app supports infrastructure networks. Most third party ones only do ad-hoc, which I don't think the Touchpad supports.

There was some new wifi tethering app on the market tho, the name is escaping me... 1 sec.

Not sure if this was it, but it might work - http://android-wifi-tether.googlecode.com/

However, I'm hoping there's some effort to get newer kernels to run on NAND. There's definitely benefits, wifi tethering being one of them.
 
AkumaX
Old
#543  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 38
Posts: 190
Join Date: Feb 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by arrrghhh View Post
The built-in tethering app supports infrastructure networks. Most third party ones only do ad-hoc, which I don't think the Touchpad supports.

There was some new wifi tethering app on the market tho, the name is escaping me... 1 sec.

Not sure if this was it, but it might work - http://android-wifi-tether.googlecode.com/

However, I'm hoping there's some effort to get newer kernels to run on NAND. There's definitely benefits, wifi tethering being one of them.
are you looking for FoxFi?
HTC RhodiumW CDMA
Sprint Touch Pro2 (RHOD400) - WM 6.5 Stock
- On XDAndroid!
- GBX0B
- ??? kernel
 
arrrghhh
Old
#544  
Retired Forum Moderator / Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 3099
Posts: 10,588
Join Date: Feb 2007

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by AkumaX View Post
are you looking for FoxFi?
Sounds familiar. I haven't tried it myself, does it work on our junk in infrastructure mode?
 
LightC
Old
#545  
Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 30
Join Date: Jun 2009
Ah, FoxFi does work in infra mode. When I enable the hotspot in FoxFi, it seems that the built-in android hotspot activates as well. This would be fine if disabling in FoxFi would disable the built-in hotspot. However, when I disable the FoxFi hotspot, the android hotspot active status message does not go away. Additionally, if I try to re-activate the FoxFi hotspot after deactivating I get an error. Also results in an eventual crash / SOD.
 
arrrghhh
Old
#546  
Retired Forum Moderator / Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 3099
Posts: 10,588
Join Date: Feb 2007

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by LightC View Post
Ah, FoxFi does work in infra mode. When I enable the hotspot in FoxFi, it seems that the built-in android hotspot activates as well. This would be fine if disabling in FoxFi would disable the built-in hotspot. However, when I disable the FoxFi hotspot, the android hotspot active status message does not go away. Additionally, if I try to re-activate the FoxFi hotspot after deactivating I get an error. Also results in an eventual crash / SOD.
Logs please.
 
LightC
Old
#547  
Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 30
Join Date: Jun 2009
Ok, I'll try to post logs over the next few days.

By the way, do you guys use a widget to switch off 3G / mobile data sync? If so, could you direct me to the app? The built-in toggle widget only has enable / disable data sync. I'd prefer to have a one button widget that disables or enables 3G and the data sync in one go.
 
JDog2pt0
Old
#548  
JDog2pt0's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 192
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Morgan
Quote:
Originally Posted by LightC View Post
Ok, I'll try to post logs over the next few days.

By the way, do you guys use a widget to switch off 3G / mobile data sync? If so, could you direct me to the app? The built-in toggle widget only has enable / disable data sync. I'd prefer to have a one button widget that disables or enables 3G and the data sync in one go.
I've used both, and currently use the first one. (note they only turn off 3G but that pretty much turns off sync too )

https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...lua3N3aXRjaCJd

https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...mczZ29ub2ZmIl0.
 
CodaHighland
Old
#549  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 24
Posts: 137
Join Date: Feb 2012
As far as I know, such a widget is actually not possible because Android doesn't expose those settings to userspace. I use the 2G-3G OnOff one that JDog2pt0 linked (the second link) on my phone because I prefer to switch to 2G when I'm not actively using data, and all it does is open up the menu with the data options. (But the "data enabled" button is on the same menu.)
 
JDog2pt0
Old
#550  
JDog2pt0's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 192
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Morgan
Quote:
Originally Posted by CodaHighland View Post
As far as I know, such a widget is actually not possible because Android doesn't expose those settings to userspace. I use the 2G-3G OnOff one that JDog2pt0 linked (the second link) on my phone because I prefer to switch to 2G when I'm not actively using data, and all it does is open up the menu with the data options. (But the "data enabled" button is on the same menu.)
The first one actually turns the data on or off without opening up the menu. The second one opens the menu up and you turn the data on or off.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes