Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,808,901 Members 52,188 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Blank screen and no signs of life

Tip us?
 
schuflea
Old
#1  
schuflea's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 23
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Kansas City
Default Blank screen and no signs of life

So I was in the middle of messing with my note, rooted already and working great. Just downloaded a ROM to the SD. Not installing anything. Note not plugged in but 98% on battery.
All of a sudden the screen is blank. Can't get anything to turn on. Don't see anything on the screen. Nothing. Changed battery, plugged it in, no dice nothing.

Ideas? Hardware issue?
Any and all help is appreciated.
 
schuflea
Old
#2  
schuflea's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 23
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Kansas City
By the way was on stock ROM.
 
schuflea
Old
#3  
schuflea's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 23
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Kansas City
Really any help is appreciated.
 
silver03wrx
Old
#4  
silver03wrx's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 2,688
Posts: 3,314
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: westminster maryland

 
DONATE TO ME
Try downloading and running the is odin one click. And try to put your phone in download mode. if it does not work. hardware failure and youll need a new device
 
lmike6453
Old
#5  
lmike6453's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 318
Posts: 709
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Phila
I would try the above, download mode, all different modes of the phone to see what's working.

Also i would try holding the power button for 8 mississippi seconds and see if it vibrates.
 
chazthespazz
Old
#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Jul 2009
Default hmmm

Quote:
Originally Posted by lmike6453 View Post
I would try the above, download mode, all different modes of the phone to see what's working.

Also i would try holding the power button for 8 mississippi seconds and see if it vibrates.
I have the same problem, and no vibration when i hold the power button. I take out the battery try different comboc, and nothing, seems like a dead phone, but i did nothing to mess it up...

---------- Post added at 07:42 PM ---------- Previous post was at 07:23 PM ----------

I think i found the problem, after reviewing whAT i think i had done, I was tryuing to root and install a custom rom to galaxy note, but in odin i flashed cwm recovery to the bootloader instead of PDA...can this be fixed?
 
LittleRedDot
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 206
Posts: 1,134
Join Date: Jan 2012
Sometimes phones die... Good new is sammy will probably never know that you rooted it when you send it in for exchange.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I717 using Tapatalk 2
 
chazthespazz
Old
#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Jul 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by LittleRedDot View Post
Sometimes phones die... Good new is sammy will probably never know that you rooted it when you send it in for exchange.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I717 using Tapatalk 2
wow thanks yeah thats what i was thinking, if there is not water damage or anything and no power, then they should give a new one?

right? i dont see how they could diagnose it if no power
 
android4545
Old
#9  
android4545's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 44
Posts: 253
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Hoboken, NJ
If your not getting any response try holding the volume up and down buttons at the same time and plugging it into a charger that brought my phone into recovery mode, I did a factory reset and I was up and running again

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I717 using xda premium
 
chazthespazz
Old
#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Jul 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by android4545 View Post
If your not getting any response try holding the volume up and down buttons at the same time and plugging it into a charger that brought my phone into recovery mode, I did a factory reset and I was up and running again

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I717 using xda premium
nada, could it be from me using the bootloader tab for installing CWR?

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes