Post Reply

[DEV] Las Venturas - 2.6.35 kernel port for Hero // Version: 1.2 - 13 May

3rd May 2012, 01:54 AM   |  #1251  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 949
 
1,391 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
I started testing LV 1.1 today with Elelinux-7.2-Hero-v3.8 Android 2.3.7. I was curious if the gps-reboot would be gone. So far I haven't seen it

Thank you again Riemer. I never thought I would get rid of that damn bug.
3rd May 2012, 10:53 AM   |  #1252  
gkillerx's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 293
 
1,034 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by riemervdzee

I switched to the ROM to test the problems out, did the following:
1: flashed the ROM just let it boot. Mounting usb ofc works (due the flykernel)
2: Flashed LV 1.1, just let it boot again. Mounting usb doesn't work of course as I didn't wiped dalvik.
3: went to recovery again, wiped dalvik, booted the bugger and usb just works.

Are you sure you wiped dalvik after installing LV? I think the other "strange" bugs are related to not wiping as well.

(..)

Yep offcourse I wiped it. I'm flashing kernels now almost twice a week (TF101) So I know my way around flashing kernels

Meby it's just my stupid phone that is just slowly dieng out or that I have a simcard putted in ?
3rd May 2012, 11:49 AM   |  #1253  
riemervdzee's Avatar
OP Retired Recognized Developer
Flag Dokkum
Thanks Meter: 297
 
593 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
Try removing dalvik-cache manually. Go to recovery and open an adb shell:
mount data
rm -rf /data/dalvik-cache

I'm sure it is a dalvik cache problem. Which recovery are you using? Note that wiping cache doesn't work, as dalvik cache is stored somewhere else

Cheers, R
3rd May 2012, 12:32 PM   |  #1254  
1ceb0x's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bucharest
Thanks Meter: 5,212
 
4,724 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by riemervdzee

Try removing dalvik-cache manually. Go to recovery and open an adb shell:
mount data
rm -rf /data/dalvik-cache

I'm sure it is a dalvik cache problem. Which recovery are you using? Note that wiping cache doesn't work, as dalvik cache is stored somewhere else

Cheers, R

Yeah, if dalvik sits in sd card it will not be removed even if you select wipe dalvik-cache through recovery.
3rd May 2012, 02:25 PM   |  #1255  
gkillerx's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 293
 
1,034 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by riemervdzee

Try removing dalvik-cache manually. Go to recovery and open an adb shell:
mount data
rm -rf /data/dalvik-cache

I'm sure it is a dalvik cache problem. Which recovery are you using? Note that wiping cache doesn't work, as dalvik cache is stored somewhere else

Cheers, R

Uhm oké I checked my phone and found dalvik-cache on the following places:

/data/dalvik-cache
and also:
/system/sd/dalvik-cache

I guess the last one is my sd-ext partition? I'm using RA-HERO. So are they both used?
3rd May 2012, 02:40 PM   |  #1256  
riemervdzee's Avatar
OP Retired Recognized Developer
Flag Dokkum
Thanks Meter: 297
 
593 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
I just checked the install scripts and /data/dalvik-cache "symlinks" to /system/sd/dalvik-cache (only when you have an ext partition of course). Symlink = Symbolic Link, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Symbolic_link
This way the Android system still thinks the dalvik-cache is located at /data/ and can access it in a normal way, but underwater it is stored on the SD ext partition.

You can view the symlinks with "ls -l". An example would be:
lrwxrwxrwx 1 0 0 17 May 2 22:12 d -> /sys/kernel/debug

where /d/ is a symlink to /sys/kernel/debug/

Removing dalvik-cache under recovery, would delete the symlink reference only but not the contents on the SD ext partition. Simply because the ext-partition it ain't mounted under recovery (it is done via the init.d script).

Also.. I ain't sure it is safe to remove the dalvik-cache when the system is running, while removing it under recovery might be troubling as you have to mount the ext partition of your sd-card.
Which recovery are you using?

Edit: Small mock-up what you could write under recovery (via adb shell):
mount -o noatime,nodiratime -t auto /dev/block/mmcblk0p2 /sd-ext;
chown 1000:1000 /sd-ext;
chmod 771 /sd-ext;
rm -rf /sd-ext/dalvik-cache;
Last edited by riemervdzee; 3rd May 2012 at 02:52 PM.
3rd May 2012, 03:59 PM   |  #1257  
gkillerx's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 293
 
1,034 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by riemervdzee

(..)
Which recovery are you using?

Edit: Small mock-up what you could write under recovery (via adb shell):
mount -o noatime,nodiratime -t auto /dev/block/mmcblk0p2 /sd-ext;
chown 1000:1000 /sd-ext;
chmod 771 /sd-ext;
rm -rf /sd-ext/dalvik-cache;

Thanks for the support so far

As mentoined befor, I use RA-HERO as recovery img.

So to be clear. If I run those commands in recovery adb shell it should remove dalvik-cache completely?

I guess I also have to do:
Code:
mount data
rm -rf /data/dalvik-cache
3rd May 2012, 04:13 PM   |  #1258  
riemervdzee's Avatar
OP Retired Recognized Developer
Flag Dokkum
Thanks Meter: 297
 
593 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gkillerx

Thanks for the support so far

As mentoined befor, I use RA-HERO as recovery img.

So to be clear. If I run those commands in recovery adb shell it should remove dalvik-cache completely?

I guess I also have to do:

Code:
mount data
rm -rf /data/dalvik-cache

The commands I gave you, should work aye. make sure the mount command returns no error though. No need to rm /data/dalvik-cache btw.
The Following User Says Thank You to riemervdzee For This Useful Post: [ View ]
3rd May 2012, 08:19 PM   |  #1259  
gkillerx's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 293
 
1,034 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2009
Donate to Me
More
It worked, so far so good! Just played music and did stuff on the phone (send emails, and read whatsapps.) and no problems so far!

Thanks for the support so far

edit:
still having USB mounting issues

Edit2
Still having problems with playing music. When i am sorting music for a playlist it hangs, music stops and all my music is getting deselected! Argghhh stupid music! Kernel is sweet fast and snappy. I also tried supercharging but still same problems. I have 500 music numbers.
Last edited by gkillerx; 3rd May 2012 at 11:10 PM.
4th May 2012, 02:44 PM   |  #1260  
riemervdzee's Avatar
OP Retired Recognized Developer
Flag Dokkum
Thanks Meter: 297
 
593 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
Guess it ain't cleared correctly.. I suggest either a fresh install, or I can modify the scripts ele uses to get the dalvik on /data/ again, might be easier to wipe it in the future as well

Cheers, R

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
2.6.35, kernel
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes