[Q] Linux

2 posts
Thanks Meter: 0
By Sudoer, Junior Member on 24th January 2007, 04:33 PM
Thread Deleted Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Does anybody working on starting Linux on HP hw65xx?
24th January 2007, 06:16 PM |#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
Originally Posted by Sudoer

Does anybody working on starting Linux on HP hw65xx?

It boots already, but waits for somebody with the device to do more
25th January 2007, 12:06 PM |#3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
I have that wonderful device and I wish Linux on it. And I'd like to be tester.

I'm system administrator of one of Moscow commercial banks at Russia. And I working with Linux since 1997 (prefferred distributions Slackware/Slamd64).
22nd February 2007, 07:11 AM |#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
I have a hw6515 as well and am hereby volunteering my device for Linux testing:)

I'm an IT consultant in CRM/Enterprise asset management and been using Linux off and on for many years...not really a Linux newbie but need to get my skills refreshed.
13th March 2007, 02:45 PM |#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0

I have a bricked 6515 with the gsm part dead after a failed rom upgrade.
So my 6515 is very open for betatesting...

Do you know where to find tools & files to go to linux ?
What are the limitations at this moment ?
and how to manage the square screen ?


2nd July 2010, 04:34 PM |#6  
sir_leon's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
Lightbulb let's start from here
hi there i'm searching to build a group of people to try together to build a linux system for hw6515

i have found a lot of info on how to start.

i will try to install Familiar linux distro and maybe if it work Android!

let me know if you are interested.

for now no beta tester is needed.
4th May 2012, 03:46 AM |#7  
igor45's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 11
i know that it's years after the last post - however - FYI tried the wayback machine to get archive of linux resources for ipaQs - 6515 on the compatibility list, boots linux, but status of gui unknown

AND site reports that familiar does not install on this model.

I'm going to try the kernel and pkgs for the 4700 which is based on the same processor...just for fun.
Last edited by igor45; 4th May 2012 at 06:21 PM. Reason: correct information - link was outdated
Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes