Document the Story of Your Social Life with 8tory

The different forms of social media are growing every day. It’s hard to imagine a day … more

Make Calling Your Loved Ones Easier and Cheaper this Diwali

Diwali, or Deepawali as some Indians call it, is the pride and joy of Indian … more

Big Android BBQ 5.0 Recap – XDA TV

This fifth annual Big Android BBQ has come and gone. The speakers have spoke, the sponsors have … more

Microsoft to Counter “OK Google” with Bing Torque

When Microsoft is making apps for Android, users should be aware that something … more
Post Reply

[Q] Mobile Data Question

OP Darkness30XX

3rd May 2012, 01:41 PM   |  #1  
Darkness30XX's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Miami
Thanks Meter: 19
 
97 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
I recently installed Mr.Apocalypses' Genesis ROM Beta7. Everything works like a boss, however, my mobile data randomly drops. Now, my mobile data works flawlessly on other ICS ROMs for my G2X, even CM9.

I would like to know why this can be an issue on some ROMs and not on others.
3rd May 2012, 02:44 PM   |  #2  
Spitfire's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Miami, FL
Thanks Meter: 82
 
446 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
More
You should probably pose this question in his ROM thread in development section. Better chance he will see it. It's a known issue but I don't know the reason why. I haven't tried any other ICS ROM's so I can't say which ones work/don't. They all use the same CM9 hax to start AFAIK.
3rd May 2012, 02:56 PM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Flag Laredo Tx
Thanks Meter: 29
 
132 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by xAshxMoneyx

You should probably pose this question in his ROM thread in development section. Better chance he will see it. It's a known issue but I don't know the reason why. I haven't tried any other ICS ROM's so I can't say which ones work/don't. They all use the same CM9 hax to start AFAIK.

I agree, post in his thread and he will more than likely see it or someone else with a similiar issue can try to help, or since its a known issue, you can try and wait for Mr.Apocalypse to try to make a fix hes an awesome dev and he will get around to it.

Good luck!

Sent from my LG-P999 using XDA
Last edited by russell956956; 3rd May 2012 at 03:01 PM.
3rd May 2012, 03:41 PM   |  #4  
Mr. Apocalypse's Avatar
Retired Recognized Developer
Flag Houston, Tx
Thanks Meter: 1,476
 
1,676 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
Donate to Me
More
The random data drops are issues that all ICS roms have, especially the ones that are 4.0.4 based. I explain this in the Genesis FAQ on post 2.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Mr. Apocalypse For This Useful Post: [ View ]
3rd May 2012, 03:57 PM   |  #5  
RedmanOPG's Avatar
Member
Flag San Diego
Thanks Meter: 12
 
87 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Apocalypse

The random data drops are issues that all ICS roms have, especially the ones that are 4.0.4 based. I explain this in the Genesis FAQ on post 2.

It's strange, when I first installed ics it was when Hellfire had just come out and nullifier was recommended when coming from gb builds. Just like everyone else I had to install twice, but I didn't get data drops. On the first few genesis betas I did the same thing and no data drops also. Only once I installed beta 5 and wiped with cwm and aroma did I see data drops. But when I installed beta 6, I only wiped with aroma and all is cherry. Better than cherry even, haven't noticed one issue except known and some freezes/touch screen issues in six guns. Could be coincidence or rom and kernel incompatibility issues, idk but just my experience. Great job on genesis Mr apoc, daily driver all day long! Woot

Sent from my LG-P999 using XDA
The Following User Says Thank You to RedmanOPG For This Useful Post: [ View ]
3rd May 2012, 04:27 PM   |  #6  
partylikeaninjastar's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag SF Bay Area
Thanks Meter: 185
 
797 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
What version of HFS did you come from?

Sent from my LG-P999 using XDA
3rd May 2012, 06:21 PM   |  #7  
RedmanOPG's Avatar
Member
Flag San Diego
Thanks Meter: 12
 
87 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
I believe the last hfs I was running was 1.4. Could be wrong I would have to check. Nothing wrong with hells rom though, I just like the aokp hybrid that mr apoc has built a bit more!

Sent from my LG-P999 using XDA
3rd May 2012, 07:29 PM   |  #8  
partylikeaninjastar's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag SF Bay Area
Thanks Meter: 185
 
797 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
I think HFS 1.4 was running Android 4.0.3 (I started with that ROM, too). Word on the forums is that data connectivity issues started with Android 4.0.4 which all current ROMs are using now and that will explain why you're now having data problems.

What I don't get is if that's the case, then why don't the ROMs just start using the old version again? Was it such an improvement that it's worth the hassle?

Sent from my LG-P999 using XDA
4th May 2012, 05:56 AM   |  #9  
Darkness30XX's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Miami
Thanks Meter: 19
 
97 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
As many of you can probably tell, I'm a newbie, so I'm restricted to the 10 posts before I could post in the Development sub thread. However, Mr. Apocalypse came by anyway and chimed in. Thanks to everyone for their contribution and to Mr. A for being such an awesome dev.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes