FORUMS

Analysis & Opinion

Top Forum Discussions

[Q] Defy+ with Custom ROM loses network

14 posts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
By leigh8904, Junior Member on 4th May 2012, 03:58 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Hi recently bought a Motorola Defy+ 2.3.6, of course which has Motoblur I want to get rid of. I tried a number of custom ROMs (CM7.2 & WhiteRabbitEdition), I could get them to install and run fine. The problem is that after a few minutes (or hours), the phone seems to lose connection to the mobile network. The phone still shows 2 or 3 bars of coverage, but cannot make a call or send SMS. Reboot fixes the problem, but only for a while. I am on the Telstra 850/2100 network in Australia, baseband was set using baseband switcher. Wifi seems to be working fine.

I have tried:
- cm72-20120429-NIGHTLY-Defy+.zip from http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1618904.
- an earlier Epsylon3 build
- WhiteRabbitEdition v1.5.1 & v1.3.1 from http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1510063.

No such problem occurs when I revert to standard Motorola build.

Any ideas what could be wrong? Is anyone else successfully using custom ROM on Telstra?

Leigh.
 
 
4th May 2012, 04:18 AM |#2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
Have you tired changing your baseband to your country. it is some where in CYANOMODGEN settings.
4th May 2012, 04:22 AM |#3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Yes, I changed the baseband to Australia -> Telstra (850/2100).
4th May 2012, 06:36 AM |#4  
Christiancs1969's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag london
Thanks Meter: 3,309
 
Donate to Me
More
On boot after h or 3g connects quickly switch to 2g only for a min then back fixes it for me have a try I use euro skank roms quick and stablest

Sent from my MB525 using xda premium
The Following User Says Thank You to Christiancs1969 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
5th May 2012, 09:11 AM |#5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Thanks for the suggestion, it does seem to fix the problem, providing I leave it on 2G only. If I switch back to 3G, the problem re-occurs, albeit seems to take a bit longer to happen. 2G is fine for calls and SMS, but if I want to use high speed data, this is a bit of a pain. Also Telstra has broader coverage on 3G rather than 2G.

I also noticed that once it has "gone deaf" to the network, the "Search networks" never finds any mobile networks either. Also, I cannot change the "Use only 2G networks" setting any more.

My Defy+ model number is MB526.
5th May 2012, 06:44 PM |#6  
Christiancs1969's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag london
Thanks Meter: 3,309
 
Donate to Me
More
What rom are u using

Sent from my MB525 using xda premium
5th May 2012, 10:49 PM |#7  
lufc's Avatar
Retired Senior Moderator / Resident Priest
Flag Blackpool UK
Thanks Meter: 1,577
 
Donate to Me
More
Please use the Q&A Forum for questions &
Read the Forum Rules Ref Posting

Moving to Q&A
7th May 2012, 12:45 AM |#8  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Christiancs1969

What rom are u using

The more detailed testing I carried out with WhiteRabbitEdition-1.5-Plus.zip.
7th May 2012, 06:15 AM |#9  
Christiancs1969's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag london
Thanks Meter: 3,309
 
Donate to Me
More
Give euroskank a try just Google it

defy euroskank
The Following User Says Thank You to Christiancs1969 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
7th May 2012, 02:05 PM |#10  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Christiancs1969

Give euroskank a try just Google it

Just tried update-cm-7.2-20120507-Defy+-signed.05072012-0137 from http://fitsnugly.euroskank.com/giggl...id=jordan_plus, but sill no good . this one seemed to last quite a bit longer before the problem occurred, not sure if that was statistically significant though.

Any other ideas?

Thanks for your help,
Leigh.
7th May 2012, 09:30 PM |#11  
Christiancs1969's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag london
Thanks Meter: 3,309
 
Donate to Me
More
On each reboot switch to 2g before u reboot .......have u tryed roaming options in cm settings sometimes on the sim the default is a different network

Sent from my MB525 using Xparent Cyan Tapatalk 2

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes