Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,808,448 Members 40,435 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Defy+ with Custom ROM loses network

Tip us?
 
leigh8904
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 14
Join Date: May 2012
Unhappy [Q] Defy+ with Custom ROM loses network

Hi recently bought a Motorola Defy+ 2.3.6, of course which has Motoblur I want to get rid of. I tried a number of custom ROMs (CM7.2 & WhiteRabbitEdition), I could get them to install and run fine. The problem is that after a few minutes (or hours), the phone seems to lose connection to the mobile network. The phone still shows 2 or 3 bars of coverage, but cannot make a call or send SMS. Reboot fixes the problem, but only for a while. I am on the Telstra 850/2100 network in Australia, baseband was set using baseband switcher. Wifi seems to be working fine.

I have tried:
- cm72-20120429-NIGHTLY-Defy+.zip from http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1618904.
- an earlier Epsylon3 build
- WhiteRabbitEdition v1.5.1 & v1.3.1 from http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1510063.

No such problem occurs when I revert to standard Motorola build.

Any ideas what could be wrong? Is anyone else successfully using custom ROM on Telstra?

Leigh.
 
lief.erl
Old
#2  
Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 59
Join Date: Mar 2012
Have you tired changing your baseband to your country. it is some where in CYANOMODGEN settings.
 
leigh8904
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 14
Join Date: May 2012
Yes, I changed the baseband to Australia -> Telstra (850/2100).
 
Christiancs1969
Old
#4  
Christiancs1969's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2,998
Posts: 4,143
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: london
On boot after h or 3g connects quickly switch to 2g only for a min then back fixes it for me have a try I use euro skank roms quick and stablest

Sent from my MB525 using xda premium
The Following User Says Thank You to Christiancs1969 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
leigh8904
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 14
Join Date: May 2012
Thanks for the suggestion, it does seem to fix the problem, providing I leave it on 2G only. If I switch back to 3G, the problem re-occurs, albeit seems to take a bit longer to happen. 2G is fine for calls and SMS, but if I want to use high speed data, this is a bit of a pain. Also Telstra has broader coverage on 3G rather than 2G.

I also noticed that once it has "gone deaf" to the network, the "Search networks" never finds any mobile networks either. Also, I cannot change the "Use only 2G networks" setting any more.

My Defy+ model number is MB526.
 
Christiancs1969
Old
#6  
Christiancs1969's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2,998
Posts: 4,143
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: london
What rom are u using

Sent from my MB525 using xda premium
 
lufc
Old
#7  
lufc's Avatar
Senior Moderator / Resident Priest
Thanks Meter 1,485
Posts: 9,512
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Blackpool UK

 
DONATE TO ME
Please use the Q&A Forum for questions &
Read the Forum Rules Ref Posting

Moving to Q&A
Pay attention and participate,Encourage,
not discourage, Listen to advice and accept instruction,
and in the end you will be wise.......... Prov. 19:20
 
leigh8904
Old
#8  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 14
Join Date: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Christiancs1969 View Post
What rom are u using
The more detailed testing I carried out with WhiteRabbitEdition-1.5-Plus.zip.
 
Christiancs1969
Old
#9  
Christiancs1969's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2,998
Posts: 4,143
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: london
Give euroskank a try just Google it

defy euroskank
The Following User Says Thank You to Christiancs1969 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
leigh8904
Old
#10  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 14
Join Date: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Christiancs1969 View Post
Give euroskank a try just Google it
Just tried update-cm-7.2-20120507-Defy+-signed.05072012-0137 from http://fitsnugly.euroskank.com/giggl...id=jordan_plus, but sill no good . this one seemed to last quite a bit longer before the problem occurred, not sure if that was statistically significant though.

Any other ideas?

Thanks for your help,
Leigh.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes