Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,728,638 Members 54,335 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] received gps dongle today but where is the software?

Tip us?
 
wifesabitch
Old
#21  
wifesabitch's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 48
Posts: 405
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Toronto
I don't think this thread is that crazy.

On the actual dongle it says "Please update your system software to the latest version before using the GPS Extension kit".

I found this thread because my dongle doesn't work AT ALL. Kinda assumed6 I'm missing software or something so I did a search and found this thread.
I was probably just given sh*tty hardware, not surprising coming from Asus.
 
sachinkumar1312
Old
#22  
Member
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 73
Join Date: May 2012
Location: New Delhi
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaycustom View Post
...... Are rooted and unlocked Prime owners getting one? Thanks...
And how does ASUS knows if you have a rooted and/or an unlocked Prime?
 
addi1000
Old
#23  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 11
Join Date: Oct 2009
guys, just plug in the dongle and start Google Maps and you will have a better GPS signal. there is no software to install
 
wifesabitch
Old
#24  
wifesabitch's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 48
Posts: 405
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Toronto
Quote:
Originally Posted by addi1000 View Post
guys, just plug in the dongle and start Google Maps and you will have a better GPS signal. there is no software to install
Wish I was that easy, it can't find my location for me.
 
hero_of_the_day
Old
(Last edited by hero_of_the_day; 3rd May 2012 at 05:40 PM.)
#25  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 21
Join Date: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by wifesabitch View Post
Wish I was that easy, it can't find my location for me.
I'm with you. Had the dongle for a few days now, GPS still doesn't work. My signal gets better according to whatever GPS program I downloaded from the market, but google maps still doesn't lock onto me.

EDIT: Grabbed my device so I can give actual info. I'm using GPS Test. Without the dongle it sees 0 satellites in view. With the dongle it jumps to 16, but "In Use" stays at 0, which I assume means it's not locking on. I have had better before where the in use went up to like 6 or so I believe, but it didn't last long. Before I could even get directions in google maps, it would say signal lost. I've driven around with it once to make sure it's not my location and it never locked on.
 
wifesabitch
Old
#26  
wifesabitch's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 48
Posts: 405
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Toronto
Just called Asus "support" about this.
Like everything else, they are of no help and just told me to RMA it (dongle AND tablet ). Like I'm going to do that. Haha

I wouldn't have even bothered but I'm going on a trip this weekend and it would have been nice to use it.
 
originalnabisco
Old
#27  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 108
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Honolulu
After finally finally getting my GPS dongle, I put it in and was confused because I thought there would be a notification of sorts appearing. There was no notification. So I tested GPSTest. No GPS.
However upon waiting for about 2 minutes, out of the blue, satellites starting appearing very rapidly and I got locks very rapidly as well. (Which I would have never gotten with stock GPS)
It seems like it does work, but there is some initialization time for the GPS dongle. Or maybe I just have a faulty dongle. But at least it works.
 
flyingwolf
Old
#28  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 49
Posts: 406
Join Date: Dec 2007
Initialization time is around 2 to 5 minutes, just let it sit and have some patience.
Shooter S-Off
Hboot ENG 1.04
Radio 1.09.00.0706
 
goodintentions
Old
#29  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 732
Posts: 2,545
Join Date: Aug 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Jesus H christ, people!

(1) YOU DO NOT NEED FURTHER SOFTWARE SUPPORT. AS LONG AS YOU'RE ON .21 YOU'RE GOOD.

(2) YOU NEED AN APP LIKE SYGIC OR COPILOT TO NAVIGATE AROUND WITHOUT INTERNET CONNECTION.

(3) YOU NEED TO PLUG THE DONGLE INTO YOUR TFP AND GIVE IT SOME TIME TO LOCK ONTO THE GPS SIGNAL.

This place is like an amusement park. It never ceases to amaze me.
Feeling overwhelmed by all these instructions meant for smarties? Well, you're in luck because I've made a Viewsonic G-Tablet For Dummies where all the instructions are dumbed down for dummies.
The Following User Says Thank You to goodintentions For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
robertg9
Old
#30  
robertg9's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 26
Posts: 217
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Sterling, VA.
Quote:
Originally Posted by goodintentions View Post
Jesus H christ, people!

GIVE IT SOME TIME TO LOCK ONTO THE GPS SIGNAL.

This place is like an amusement park. It never ceases to amaze me.
"amusement park"??? I'm thinking that it's more like a Day Care Center, filled with over-indulged, Narcissistic children.

Some info on getting a GPS lock - The first lock will take some time. It varies, even with dedicated GPS units. If you're lucky, about a min but it could take longer. I've had units that have taken well over 5 min.
Why? Because the GPS receiver has to download an entire emperis table to be able to triangulate your position. The best results are obtainable when the Sats are about 45 Degrees off the horizon...If they are directly overhead or on the horizon, it takes longer to do the triangulation.

The data that it downloads is only good for 7 days. If you don't use it in a week, it discards the data and starts all over again.
There can also be a problem if you move a great distance between readings, such as Locking your position on your drive to LA Airport - then turning everything off, and not restarting it until you arrive at Dulles Airport in Virginia.
That did happen to me one time, flying from Albany, NY to Washington, DC with a stop at Newark....When I turned my GPS on at Newark, showed I had a locked signal, but the map showed my location as in the middle of a lake in Northern NY.
Another issue some may run into is "correct" altitude measurements. That is really determined by the software app. Some vendors use a "true" circle as the shape of the earth - others use a "neat" oblong shape. The earth is neither of those. Some apps will allow you to add a correction factor, if you know your true altitude....most don't.
The last issue that can show up for some users is that it doesn't work at all inside your car, but will work outside the car. The cause of this issue is a "heated" front windshield. The only solution to that issue is an external antenna (or placing the GPS receiver outside the car). Sometimes having the receiver near a side or rear window will solve that issue. Don't know how you'll solve it with the dongle.

One app that MAY help reduce the amount of time it takes to achieve a lock is "GPSFix" in Google Play. It is supposed to keep it active, using AGPS, giving the sats and app a chance to achieve lock. Since I haven't gotten my dongle yet, I cannot verify that it works as advertised.

I do believe that the dongle will WORK AS ADVERTISED. Any issues you have are probably user issues caused by the lack of knowledge on how the GPS really works.

Happy driving
Bob
Verizon TP2/Win6.5
Asus Transformer Prime

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes