Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,740,412 Members 45,113 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

no audio coming from mhl adapter

Tip us?
 
raed81
Old
#1  
raed81's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 43
Posts: 461
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: steling heights -MI
Default no audio coming from mhl adapter

hey guys ...just got my mhl adapter today and it only streams video without audio any ideas or solution for this ?
 
mcord11758
Old
#2  
mcord11758's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1188
Posts: 7,845
Join Date: Sep 2010
Which type of adapter? I have the HTC branded adapter and have no sound issues
Sent from my HTC Flyer P510e using xda premium
 
aostl
Old
#3  
aostl's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 38
Posts: 939
Join Date: Feb 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by raed81 View Post
hey guys ...just got my mhl adapter today and it only streams video without audio any ideas or solution for this ?
Happens too me too. I about gave up on it, but tried it with watch app and it worked. Don't know why. The same adapter works all the time on my phone.

Sent from my HTC Flyer P510e using xda premium
 
raed81
Old
#4  
raed81's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 43
Posts: 461
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: steling heights -MI
I bought it from ebay... The only way to get audio is through 3.5 headphones or speakers

Sent from my PG41200 using xda premium
 
DigitalMD
Old
(Last edited by DigitalMD; 4th January 2012 at 06:07 AM.)
#5  
DigitalMD's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 603
Posts: 2,804
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Washington DC
Try with a different (newer) HDMI cable. All HDMI cables are not the same and just because it works with some DVD player does not mean it will work with the MHL box. I have seen cases where this is caused by the cable.
Days of open internet are almost over as the biggies look for more revenue streaming from your wallet..Soon the internet will be a shell of its current self. With the government wanting their taxes and the big ISPs planning to charge extra for access to specific content (like facebook) and throttle your speed.
 
GrandAdmiral
Old
#6  
GrandAdmiral's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 35
Posts: 475
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New Orleans
Quote:
Originally Posted by aostl View Post
Happens too me too. I about gave up on it, but tried it with watch app and it worked. Don't know why. The same adapter works all the time on my phone.

Sent from my HTC Flyer P510e using xda premium
I agree with this. When I use a 3rd party app like BS Lite everything is choppy. When I use the stock app everything works fine.

Sent from GrandAdmiral's phone using Tapatalk.
 
isam2k
Old
#7  
isam2k's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Geneva
Anyone figured it out yet? I just bought a Blackmagic Intensity Pro card to make gameplay/review vids of android games, but I dont get any audio. The capture software gives me 16 audio channels I can record from, but even by turning on all 16 I dont get any audio.

There's a slight chance there might be something wrong with the card or the equipment I use, but i highly doubt that.

Configuration: Samsung Galaxy Nexus -> Samsung HDTV Adapter -> A to A HDMI Cable -> Blackmagic Intensity Pro -> (Capture Software: Blackmagic Media Express)

I do use my Samsung Galaxy Nexus with the official Samsung HDMI/MHL - adapter.

Any suggestions?
 
DigitalMD
Old
(Last edited by DigitalMD; 4th May 2012 at 02:29 PM.)
#8  
DigitalMD's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 603
Posts: 2,804
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Washington DC
None of you guys asking about sound on HDMI have said what device you are connecting to. I get perfect audio on my Samsung HDTV from the generic MHL adapter on the Flyer via HDMI cable. Not every TV or device is capable of receiving audio over HDMI. That's why they added the extra 3.5 analog audio jack as an option.

The Blackmagic Intensity Pro should work fine with either HDMI audio or analog audio. have you checked it with a known good HDMI source such as a DVD player or Cable box?
Days of open internet are almost over as the biggies look for more revenue streaming from your wallet..Soon the internet will be a shell of its current self. With the government wanting their taxes and the big ISPs planning to charge extra for access to specific content (like facebook) and throttle your speed.
 
Ash359
Old
#9  
Ash359's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 670
Posts: 2,000
Join Date: Nov 2012
I am having the same issue with my galaxy note. solo no solution?
 
Ash359
Old
#10  
Ash359's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 670
Posts: 2,000
Join Date: Nov 2012
I am returning my MHL and getting a replacement which they will test before sending to me. Hopefully it is the cable and not my phone.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I717 using xda app-developers app

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Control Your Toast Notifications with SlicedToasts

Toasts are delicious, even in their Android flavor. In Android, toast doesn’t lead … more

Rotation Lets You Take Full Control of Your Device’s Orientation Settings

To be brutally honest, the native options for screen … more

Change the Alarm Icon in the Status Bar with Xposed

It’s hard to find a more hated object than your alarm clock. They wake us up nearly … more

Return to Outer Space Outer Space with Ship Up Game

Since the release of Flappy Birds, we’ve had the “fortune” to see … more