Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,786,479 Members 37,471 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Upgrading SD Cards

Tip us?
 
brymaster5000
Old
#1  
brymaster5000's Avatar
Recognized Contributor - OP
Thanks Meter 1,449
Posts: 1,789
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: New Hampshire

 
DONATE TO ME
Default Upgrading SD Cards

So I just got a 32GB sd card to replace my 16GB one. My 6 year old iPod doesn't hold a charge and the headphone jack doesn't work anymore. So my thought was now use my phone as my iPod (good bye Apple).

I was surprised at how easy it was to put the new one in. Plug it into the computer along with your phone and copy all of the app data (and pictures, etc. you want) onto the new one. Unmount the one in the phone, and put the new one in.

Not only do I now have double the space, but my phone is much snappier. I used the same class and brand, so I figure it must be the way the app data was written to the new one. Instead of apps randomly installing files while downloading/saving on your phone, I think the one way ticket across platforms put them in nice and neat.

Has anyone else experienced this? Is my assumption off the mark?
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to brymaster5000 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
FlyNNN
Old
#2  
FlyNNN's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 27
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Shhhh! ... don't tell any Apple users about this. Its a secret. Changing the battery and adding memory, priceless!
 
AliceBToklas
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 93
Posts: 372
Join Date: Dec 2009
Can't say I've noticed any speed increase, but it's a good path to take for your music. I had to go all the way to a 64GB card (yes, they do work) to hold all mine - and the various ROMs I tend to hold onto.
 
Amazingbman
Old
#4  
Amazingbman's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 126
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Walla Walla, WA
64gb for the win.

Sent from my Incredible 2 using xda premium
 
sacnotsack
Old
#5  
sacnotsack's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 232
Join Date: Dec 2010
I'll let ya know when I get my 32gb I ordered the other day from 1saleaday

Sent from my DINC2
 
phillibl
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 43
Posts: 235
Join Date: Apr 2012
My 32GB class10 should be coming today. I had some gift cards to my University's tech shop and I needed to use them before I graduate
 
faehsemc
Old
#7  
faehsemc's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 348
Posts: 1,353
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Titusville

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by sacnotsack View Post
I'll let ya know when I get my 32gb I ordered the other day from 1saleaday

Sent from my DINC2
I am using my 32 from them. It's pretty sweet. On boot, takes a little longer, but worth it

Sent from my Incredible 2 using Tapatalk 2
 
sacnotsack
Old
#8  
sacnotsack's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 232
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by faehsemc View Post
I am using my 32 from them. It's pretty sweet. On boot, takes a little longer, but worth it

Sent from my Incredible 2 using Tapatalk 2
I've noticed that if you have alot of apps installed to the sd card boot time is longer than if they are stored internally. Could that be the issue?

Sent from my DINC2
 
faehsemc
Old
#9  
faehsemc's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 348
Posts: 1,353
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Titusville

 
DONATE TO ME
I install most of my apps to phone. It really don't horrible, just like I said, only during boot. Once initial boot I'd complete, there's no lag

Sent from my Incredible 2 using Tapatalk 2
 
phonetool
Old
#10  
phonetool's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 146
Posts: 509
Join Date: Apr 2012
I just got a dinc2 and I'm planning to root, ROM, and hotrod the phone.
I have a new c10 16GB card for it and I'm wondering about the optimal setup. Any tips?
Special format?
Special partitions?

I'm coming from an OG Droid, so card usage was important. I know the dinc2 won't have nearly the issues the OG has, but I thought I'd ask...

Sent from my ADR6350 using Tapatalk 2

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes