Android App Review: Google Inbox to Improve Your Life – XDA TV

Recently, Google+ exploded with the announcement of Google Inbox, as … more

Damp the LG G3 Thermal Throttling

As our mobile devices grow thinner and more powerfulwith each passing generation, it’s inevitable … more

Google Play Developer Distribution Agreement Due Tomorrow

Every once in a while, Google updates theGoogle PlayDeveloper Distribution … more

LG to Release Octa-Core “Nuclun” SoC in the LG G3 Screen

LG is set to follow the likes of Samsung and other manufacture its own … more
Post Reply

Upgrading SD Cards

OP brymaster5000

3rd May 2012, 05:51 PM   |  #1  
brymaster5000's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor
Flag New Hampshire
Thanks Meter: 1,543
 
1,863 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Donate to Me
More
So I just got a 32GB sd card to replace my 16GB one. My 6 year old iPod doesn't hold a charge and the headphone jack doesn't work anymore. So my thought was now use my phone as my iPod (good bye Apple).

I was surprised at how easy it was to put the new one in. Plug it into the computer along with your phone and copy all of the app data (and pictures, etc. you want) onto the new one. Unmount the one in the phone, and put the new one in.

Not only do I now have double the space, but my phone is much snappier. I used the same class and brand, so I figure it must be the way the app data was written to the new one. Instead of apps randomly installing files while downloading/saving on your phone, I think the one way ticket across platforms put them in nice and neat.

Has anyone else experienced this? Is my assumption off the mark?
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to brymaster5000 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
3rd May 2012, 06:12 PM   |  #2  
FlyNNN's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag Edmonton, Alberta
Thanks Meter: 0
 
27 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
Shhhh! ... don't tell any Apple users about this. Its a secret. Changing the battery and adding memory, priceless!
3rd May 2012, 08:52 PM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 93
 
372 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
Can't say I've noticed any speed increase, but it's a good path to take for your music. I had to go all the way to a 64GB card (yes, they do work) to hold all mine - and the various ROMs I tend to hold onto.
4th May 2012, 04:23 AM   |  #4  
Amazingbman's Avatar
Senior Member
Walla Walla, WA
Thanks Meter: 6
 
126 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
64gb for the win.

Sent from my Incredible 2 using xda premium
4th May 2012, 07:08 AM   |  #5  
sacnotsack's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 22
 
241 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
I'll let ya know when I get my 32gb I ordered the other day from 1saleaday

Sent from my DINC2
4th May 2012, 02:40 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 44
 
239 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
My 32GB class10 should be coming today. I had some gift cards to my University's tech shop and I needed to use them before I graduate
4th May 2012, 03:25 PM   |  #7  
faehsemc's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Titusville
Thanks Meter: 348
 
1,353 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sacnotsack

I'll let ya know when I get my 32gb I ordered the other day from 1saleaday

Sent from my DINC2

I am using my 32 from them. It's pretty sweet. On boot, takes a little longer, but worth it

Sent from my Incredible 2 using Tapatalk 2
4th May 2012, 04:58 PM   |  #8  
sacnotsack's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 22
 
241 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by faehsemc

I am using my 32 from them. It's pretty sweet. On boot, takes a little longer, but worth it

Sent from my Incredible 2 using Tapatalk 2

I've noticed that if you have alot of apps installed to the sd card boot time is longer than if they are stored internally. Could that be the issue?

Sent from my DINC2
4th May 2012, 07:45 PM   |  #9  
faehsemc's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Titusville
Thanks Meter: 348
 
1,353 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
Donate to Me
More
I install most of my apps to phone. It really don't horrible, just like I said, only during boot. Once initial boot I'd complete, there's no lag

Sent from my Incredible 2 using Tapatalk 2
15th May 2012, 05:42 AM   |  #10  
phonetool's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 146
 
509 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
I just got a dinc2 and I'm planning to root, ROM, and hotrod the phone.
I have a new c10 16GB card for it and I'm wondering about the optimal setup. Any tips?
Special format?
Special partitions?

I'm coming from an OG Droid, so card usage was important. I know the dinc2 won't have nearly the issues the OG has, but I thought I'd ask...

Sent from my ADR6350 using Tapatalk 2

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes