5,814,863 Members 49,609 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] [Help] Bricked Sprint Epic 4g!!

Tip us?
 
nikon120
Old
#11  
nikon120's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 328
Posts: 1,238
Join Date: Oct 2010
So your initial flash of CWM via ODIN failed. You then tried to do what? Flash a complete stock .tar file via ODIN and it failed on the modem.bin process?

It kind of sounds like a few things could be the culprit.
  • Did not use the .PIT file when flashing the CWM.tar
  • Bad or cheap USB cable
  • Bad download of CWM.tar and/or whatever you flashed 2nd
  • Moving of the device while using ODIN, which could have jostled the cable
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to nikon120 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
ajmacria
Old
#12  
Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 40
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by nikon120 View Post
So your initial flash of CWM via ODIN failed. You then tried to do what? Flash a complete stock .tar file via ODIN and it failed on the modem.bin process?

It kind of sounds like a few things could be the culprit.
  • Did not use the .PIT file when flashing the CWM.tar
  • Bad or cheap USB cable
  • Bad download of CWM.tar and/or whatever you flashed 2nd
  • Moving of the device while using ODIN, which could have jostled the cable
Well, not sure what the problem was, I have been using ODIN since last year when I got my EPIC and I never had problems. This time ODIN hang in the middle of the factory.rfs flashing (I waited for 20 minutes and it did not went through) so I turned everything OFF and :eek: surprise, phone was dead
I try battery CPR, build my own USB JIG (that works like a charm in a couple of frined's SAMSUNG phones ) but my phone still nothing.
The battery is at 4.045V, today I will use a charger to see if having the battery at maximum helps.
This is my last thing to try, if this do not work I will take the phone to SPRINT and see what they can do.
If they can fix it, cool, if not at least I hope they replace it
Thanks for the help and support
 
b16flybye
Old
#13  
b16flybye's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 88
Posts: 421
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Twin Cities
If your repartition was checked flashing a modem then you bricked it. Try connecting to odin with no battery or sd card BUT have your usb connected and see if that does anything.

Sent from my SPH-D700 using XDA App
The Following User Says Thank You to b16flybye For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
hscrugby
Old
#14  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by b16flybye View Post
If your repartition was checked flashing a modem then you bricked it. Try connecting to odin with no battery or sd card BUT have your usb connected and see if that does anything.

Sent from my SPH-D700 using XDA App
So if your phone is completely bricked, aka, ()$)(# windows update in the middle for a reboot.
The power button does nothing, can't get into download mode, no response to plugging it in with no battery etc etc.
Anything to be done with the phone besides throwing it at a wall?
 
ajmacria
Old
#15  
Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 40
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by b16flybye View Post
If your repartition was checked flashing a modem then you bricked it. Try connecting to odin with no battery or sd card BUT have your usb connected and see if that does anything.

Sent from my SPH-D700 using XDA App
Thanks for the suggestion.
I have already charged my batery till 100%, in a friend's cellphone the battery works like a charm and we are able to turn on the cell and go into download mode with my JIG and everything.
My phone does not do anything
Probably something went really bad during the update process that harm something else.
Will have to take it to SPRINT
Thanks all for the help and support
 
b16flybye
Old
#16  
b16flybye's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 88
Posts: 421
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Twin Cities
Yikes. Yeah, if your jig wont revive the phone then just get it to sprint. Don't forget to take the sd card out or they'll see your clockwork folder.

Sent from my SPH-D700 using XDA App
The Following User Says Thank You to b16flybye For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
ajmacria
Old
#17  
Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 40
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by b16flybye View Post
Yikes. Yeah, if your jig wont revive the phone then just get it to sprint. Don't forget to take the sd card out or they'll see your clockwork folder.

Sent from my SPH-D700 using XDA App
Yes I already made sure I erased all unneeded stuff from my SD CARD and will keep it in my house.
Will take my cell tomorrow to SPRINT, hopefully it will get fixed/replaced fast
 
MДЯCЦSДИT
Old
#18  
MДЯCЦSДИT's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 4,622
Posts: 6,129
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: in a box

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by b16flybye View Post
Yikes. Yeah, if your jig wont revive the phone then just get it to sprint. Don't forget to take the sd card out or they'll see your clockwork folder.

Sent from my SPH-D700 using XDA App
I've brought my phone in on MTD. Why would they look in your SD card (personal files) or know what clockwork mod is? They also have a new policy allowing root and jailbreak.

Sent from my SPH-D700 using Tapatalk 2
 
KennyG123
Old
#19  
KennyG123's Avatar
RC-RT Committee / Senior Moderator / Spider-Mod
Thanks Meter 26,213
Posts: 28,100
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Right behind you!

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by marcusant View Post
I've brought my phone in on MTD. Why would they look in your SD card (personal files) or know what clockwork mod is? They also have a new policy allowing root and jailbreak.

Sent from my SPH-D700 using Tapatalk 2
It is still at the Tech's discretion. The last thing someone wants to do is fight corporate after a tech blacklists your phone. And most techs are sporting rooted phones and kn.ow what clockworknod is.

Sent from my SPH-D700 using xda premium

Moderator Directory - - - FORUM RULES - - - Support Autism Awareness here
 
Thing O Doom
Old
#20  
Thing O Doom's Avatar
Recognized Contributor - OP
Thanks Meter 722
Posts: 1,530
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Phoenix

 
DONATE TO ME
Btw, I finally fixed it, and determined it was the evil stock cable. Note to self and all future odin-flashers NEVER USE THE DAMNED STOCK CABLE, I did and it took 3hrs of my life unbricking.
Is a B3ast?
NvFlash for B70+ Devices - Windows/Linux
PERI: A one-click Root and Recovery installer for .27 or less -- by me
The General ASUS Transformer tf101 Help Thread -- Ask Here

Device -- Asus Transformer TF101
Currently crack flashing...
KAT Kernel
Device -- Nexus 7
ReVOLT with TWRP
Franco kernel
--
If you need my help in a topic I have replied too but forgotten about, please quote my post and I will see it. Thanks for patience, I'm very busy c:

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes