Post Reply

[Q] [Help] Bricked Sprint Epic 4g!!

OP Thing O Doom

2nd May 2012, 10:02 PM   |  #11  
nikon120's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 328
 
1,238 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
So your initial flash of CWM via ODIN failed. You then tried to do what? Flash a complete stock .tar file via ODIN and it failed on the modem.bin process?

It kind of sounds like a few things could be the culprit.
  • Did not use the .PIT file when flashing the CWM.tar
  • Bad or cheap USB cable
  • Bad download of CWM.tar and/or whatever you flashed 2nd
  • Moving of the device while using ODIN, which could have jostled the cable
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to nikon120 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
2nd May 2012, 10:36 PM   |  #12  
Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
40 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by nikon120

So your initial flash of CWM via ODIN failed. You then tried to do what? Flash a complete stock .tar file via ODIN and it failed on the modem.bin process?

It kind of sounds like a few things could be the culprit.

  • Did not use the .PIT file when flashing the CWM.tar
  • Bad or cheap USB cable
  • Bad download of CWM.tar and/or whatever you flashed 2nd
  • Moving of the device while using ODIN, which could have jostled the cable

Well, not sure what the problem was, I have been using ODIN since last year when I got my EPIC and I never had problems. This time ODIN hang in the middle of the factory.rfs flashing (I waited for 20 minutes and it did not went through) so I turned everything OFF and :eek: surprise, phone was dead
I try battery CPR, build my own USB JIG (that works like a charm in a couple of frined's SAMSUNG phones ) but my phone still nothing.
The battery is at 4.045V, today I will use a charger to see if having the battery at maximum helps.
This is my last thing to try, if this do not work I will take the phone to SPRINT and see what they can do.
If they can fix it, cool, if not at least I hope they replace it
Thanks for the help and support
3rd May 2012, 08:17 AM   |  #13  
b16flybye's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Twin Cities
Thanks Meter: 88
 
421 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
More
If your repartition was checked flashing a modem then you bricked it. Try connecting to odin with no battery or sd card BUT have your usb connected and see if that does anything.

Sent from my SPH-D700 using XDA App
The Following User Says Thank You to b16flybye For This Useful Post: [ View ]
3rd May 2012, 03:19 PM   |  #14  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by b16flybye

If your repartition was checked flashing a modem then you bricked it. Try connecting to odin with no battery or sd card BUT have your usb connected and see if that does anything.

Sent from my SPH-D700 using XDA App

So if your phone is completely bricked, aka, ()$)(# windows update in the middle for a reboot.
The power button does nothing, can't get into download mode, no response to plugging it in with no battery etc etc.
Anything to be done with the phone besides throwing it at a wall?
3rd May 2012, 03:38 PM   |  #15  
Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
40 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by b16flybye

If your repartition was checked flashing a modem then you bricked it. Try connecting to odin with no battery or sd card BUT have your usb connected and see if that does anything.

Sent from my SPH-D700 using XDA App

Thanks for the suggestion.
I have already charged my batery till 100%, in a friend's cellphone the battery works like a charm and we are able to turn on the cell and go into download mode with my JIG and everything.
My phone does not do anything
Probably something went really bad during the update process that harm something else.
Will have to take it to SPRINT
Thanks all for the help and support
3rd May 2012, 09:13 PM   |  #16  
b16flybye's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Twin Cities
Thanks Meter: 88
 
421 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
More
Yikes. Yeah, if your jig wont revive the phone then just get it to sprint. Don't forget to take the sd card out or they'll see your clockwork folder.

Sent from my SPH-D700 using XDA App
The Following User Says Thank You to b16flybye For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th May 2012, 03:39 PM   |  #17  
Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
40 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by b16flybye

Yikes. Yeah, if your jig wont revive the phone then just get it to sprint. Don't forget to take the sd card out or they'll see your clockwork folder.

Sent from my SPH-D700 using XDA App

Yes I already made sure I erased all unneeded stuff from my SD CARD and will keep it in my house.
Will take my cell tomorrow to SPRINT, hopefully it will get fixed/replaced fast
4th May 2012, 08:09 PM   |  #18  
MДЯCЦSДИT's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag in a box
Thanks Meter: 4,622
 
6,129 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by b16flybye

Yikes. Yeah, if your jig wont revive the phone then just get it to sprint. Don't forget to take the sd card out or they'll see your clockwork folder.

Sent from my SPH-D700 using XDA App

I've brought my phone in on MTD. Why would they look in your SD card (personal files) or know what clockwork mod is? They also have a new policy allowing root and jailbreak.

Sent from my SPH-D700 using Tapatalk 2
4th May 2012, 09:13 PM   |  #19  
KennyG123's Avatar
RC-RT Committee / Senior Moderator / Spider-Mod
Flag Right behind you!
Thanks Meter: 26,536
 
28,367 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by marcusant

I've brought my phone in on MTD. Why would they look in your SD card (personal files) or know what clockwork mod is? They also have a new policy allowing root and jailbreak.

Sent from my SPH-D700 using Tapatalk 2

It is still at the Tech's discretion. The last thing someone wants to do is fight corporate after a tech blacklists your phone. And most techs are sporting rooted phones and kn.ow what clockworknod is.

Sent from my SPH-D700 using xda premium
6th May 2012, 06:31 AM   |  #20  
Thing O Doom's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor
Flag Phoenix
Thanks Meter: 723
 
1,530 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
Donate to Me
More
Btw, I finally fixed it, and determined it was the evil stock cable. Note to self and all future odin-flashers NEVER USE THE DAMNED STOCK CABLE, I did and it took 3hrs of my life unbricking.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes