FORUMS

Devs Beware – Automatic Backup Privacy Risks

One new feature of “Android M” (speculation on potential names welcomed … more

Android M to Bring New App Drawer

It has now been seen that Android M will receive a new app drawer as part of the stock … more

Which IO Announcement Are You Most Excited About?

The keynote we had all been waiting for has just ended and it’s time to enjoy … more

Google Launches Google Photos At I/O 2015 Keynote

While rumors have been floating around for a while, the Google I/O 2015 has made … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[ROOT][T769] Rooted kernel for Blaze 4G :: 4/9/12

4th May 2012, 06:30 AM |#61  
k0nane's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Flag 127.0.0.1
Thanks Meter: 3,775
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by itsLYNDZ

Just got everything working finally. Now its taking FOREVER to send a text message. Even with 4 bars and 4G. Once I type it and hit send it just hangs there sending. i tried sending an SMS to my own number to see how long it would take and it took over 5 mins. Not sure whats going on. I tried this with both stock messaging and GO SMS. Same results.

Did you wipe data in the factory recovery?
 
 
5th May 2012, 03:07 PM |#62  
Rugged96's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Nashville
Thanks Meter: 11
 
More
will root access allow me to change the quick launch buttons on the bottom. i really don't like the messaging app and would prefer to have my email on the bottom quick launch.
5th May 2012, 04:03 PM |#63  
Cirkustanz's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 83
 
More
You don't need root to do that. Try using any of launcher programs available in the market.

Personally I use launcher pro plus. Go launcher and ADW are also popular.
The Following User Says Thank You to Cirkustanz For This Useful Post: [ View ]
9th May 2012, 04:21 PM |#64  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Flash Duration?
Any idea how long it typically takes to do either the blaze-root-kernel.tar (6+ MB) flash or the SGH-T769-UVLB7-hitsquad.tar (602+ MB) recovery flash?

btw: I couldn't find any previously logged info. regarding expected flash times.
Last edited by red wagon; 9th May 2012 at 04:25 PM. Reason: cya'ing
9th May 2012, 05:27 PM |#65  
shabbypenguin's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 5,341
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by red wagon

Any idea how long it typically takes to do either the blaze-root-kernel.tar (6+ MB) flash or the SGH-T769-UVLB7-hitsquad.tar (602+ MB) recovery flash?

btw: I couldn't find any previously logged info. regarding expected flash times.

should be less than 30 seconds for it
9th May 2012, 07:17 PM |#66  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by shabbypenguin

should be less than 30 seconds for it

Thanks, I was wondering how long I need to wait for these to finish in case it doesn't finish really quickly.
11th May 2012, 03:02 AM |#67  
Junior Member
Flag Detroit
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Reliability of Flash
I know this Kernel is pretty new to being rooted. I am interested to hear if most who have tried had good results?
Last edited by michdj00; 11th May 2012 at 10:29 PM.
11th May 2012, 05:43 AM |#68  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Flashed using this ROM.

Used Titanium Backup to remove some bloat (I did my research!).

But now I cannot make or receive calls. Any idea what is happening?

EDIT: performed a factory reset... which didn't help, but after switching Network Mode to "GSM only" I can use the phone again... is this normal?
Last edited by rogueofmv; 11th May 2012 at 06:57 AM.
11th May 2012, 05:30 PM |#69  
shabbypenguin's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 5,341
 
Donate to Me
More
this isnt a rom. it is just a rooted kernel, there are 7 pages of people thanking and saying things worked great.
12th May 2012, 12:16 AM |#70  
Cirkustanz's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 83
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rogueofmv

Flashed using this ROM.

Used Titanium Backup to remove some bloat (I did my research!).

But now I cannot make or receive calls. Any idea what is happening?

EDIT: performed a factory reset... which didn't help, but after switching Network Mode to "GSM only" I can use the phone again... is this normal?

I bet you ten bucks you removed something you should not have.

I only really have a guess as to why switching your phone to gsm only enabled it to work, but that should have nothing to do with disabling apps. But, as far as I'm aware, you would have no reason to ever mess with the network mode so.........

BTW, removing whatever apps you did, won't make your phone perform faster so your motivation was probably wrong from the beginning.

Also, I'd bet another 10 bucks you don't have a clear understanding of what factory reset really does. I'm mentioning this because I'd bet that 10 bucks that you think it's a get out of jail free card.

It's not. (would be nice though!)
The Following User Says Thank You to Cirkustanz For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Galaxy S Blaze 4G Android Development by ThreadRank