Sony to Extend its AOSP Program to Other Devices

Sony will be offering its users the possibility to use AOSP ROMs as an alternative to the … more

Project Ara Smartphone Will Run Modified Android L with Hot Swapping

Project Ara is a very exciting topic–both for hardware and … more

Streamline Android Theme Customization with Graphic Porter

I dont have a custom theme on my Android phone, and the reason for this is because … more

Boost the Brightness of Your Sony Xperia Z1’s LED

I think the last time anyone has ever used a physical torch to find their earphones, … more
Post Reply

What next?

27th April 2012, 09:52 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
57 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
Apologies if I'm asking what is more than likely obvious to you experts... I decided to root my Sensation xl today and have succeeded I unlocked bootloader and ran the permaroot on the main thread. My intention is to install a different rom, can I just go ahead and do it or do I have to do something else first? I keep seeing this clockwork mod but not sure if I need to do that? Many thanks
27th April 2012, 10:03 PM   |  #2  
benjamin.j.goodwin's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Northampton
Thanks Meter: 4,973
 
2,974 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by hammers4life

Apologies if I'm asking what is more than likely obvious to you experts... I decided to root my Sensation xl today and have succeeded I unlocked bootloader and ran the permaroot on the main thread. My intention is to install a different rom, can I just go ahead and do it or do I have to do something else first? I keep seeing this clockwork mod but not sure if I need to do that? Many thanks

First of all, I won't be horrible awesome that you've rooted but you've posted in the wrong section. Rather than just flaming you though I will try and help.


Make sure you follow the tutorials. So if you have rooted and done recovery, you need to flash the chinese ROM and boot.img if you haven't already.

Go to this thread and check the information for what you do after rooting and getting Clockwork MOD.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1466436

For your first install you don't have to install RCMix 3D you can choose whatever. Happy flashing!
The Following User Says Thank You to benjamin.j.goodwin For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th April 2012, 10:11 PM   |  #3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
57 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
I thought I might be in the wrong section lol. Ive been used to been spoon fed by Apple and need to switch my brain back on.....THANKYOU
27th April 2012, 10:20 PM   |  #4  
Gunman84's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Љубљана
Thanks Meter: 147
 
350 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by hammers4life

I thought I might be in the wrong section lol. Ive been used to been spoon fed by Apple and need to switch my brain back on.....THANKYOU

Funny
28th April 2012, 01:27 AM   |  #5  
shingers5's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag liverpool
Thanks Meter: 3,092
 
7,506 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by hammers4life

I thought I might be in the wrong section lol. Ive been used to been spoon fed by Apple and need to switch my brain back on.....THANKYOU

Lol nice laugh this. Yeah after rooting need to flash recovery as that's needed to install custom Roms. After flashing recovery you need Chinese boot.img and Rom of your choice

Sent from my HTC Sensation XL with Beats Audio X315e using xda premium
5th May 2012, 08:52 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Flag Dublin
Thanks Meter: 28
 
167 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by shingers5

Lol nice laugh this. Yeah after rooting need to flash recovery as that's needed to install custom Roms. After flashing recovery you need Chinese boot.img and Rom of your choice

Sent from my HTC Sensation XL with Beats Audio X315e using xda premium

But in the tutorials you say that the rcmix3d needs to be flashed first for those switching from stock ROM.

Sent from my HTC Sensation XL with Beats Audio X315e using XDA
5th May 2012, 10:02 PM   |  #7  
benjamin.j.goodwin's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Northampton
Thanks Meter: 4,973
 
2,974 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alsager

But in the tutorials you say that the rcmix3d needs to be flashed first for those switching from stock ROM.

Sent from my HTC Sensation XL with Beats Audio X315e using XDA

It's a suggestion but not a necessity, the reason it instructs to do so is that this is the method followed by many. Plus there were less ROMs then.

By all means do that, or instead of flashing RCMix3D when it says to, just pick one you like and flash.
The Following User Says Thank You to benjamin.j.goodwin For This Useful Post: [ View ]
5th May 2012, 10:14 PM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Flag Dublin
Thanks Meter: 28
 
167 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
More
thanks
Last edited by Alsager; 5th May 2012 at 10:44 PM.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes