FORUMS

HTC Delivering Ads Straight to Sense Home

HTC’s 2015 has been a year marked by a desperate search for revenue.The HTC One M9 … more

Galaxy S6 & Edge get €100 Price Cut—New Models Incoming

Samsung has dropped the price of both the Galaxy S6 and S6 Edge by … more

How To Port Fully Featured Sony Xperia Z4 Camera

Xperia Z4’s hardware may not impress, but its software is definitely … more

Experimental TWRP Available For Moto G 2015

XDA Senior Member squid2 has posted experimental builds of TWRP for the Moto G … more

What next?

57 posts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
By hammers4life, Member on 27th April 2012, 09:52 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Apologies if I'm asking what is more than likely obvious to you experts... I decided to root my Sensation xl today and have succeeded I unlocked bootloader and ran the permaroot on the main thread. My intention is to install a different rom, can I just go ahead and do it or do I have to do something else first? I keep seeing this clockwork mod but not sure if I need to do that? Many thanks
 
 
27th April 2012, 10:03 PM |#2  
benjamin.j.goodwin's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Northampton
Thanks Meter: 5,005
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by hammers4life

Apologies if I'm asking what is more than likely obvious to you experts... I decided to root my Sensation xl today and have succeeded I unlocked bootloader and ran the permaroot on the main thread. My intention is to install a different rom, can I just go ahead and do it or do I have to do something else first? I keep seeing this clockwork mod but not sure if I need to do that? Many thanks

First of all, I won't be horrible awesome that you've rooted but you've posted in the wrong section. Rather than just flaming you though I will try and help.


Make sure you follow the tutorials. So if you have rooted and done recovery, you need to flash the chinese ROM and boot.img if you haven't already.

Go to this thread and check the information for what you do after rooting and getting Clockwork MOD.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1466436

For your first install you don't have to install RCMix 3D you can choose whatever. Happy flashing!
The Following User Says Thank You to benjamin.j.goodwin For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th April 2012, 10:11 PM |#3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
I thought I might be in the wrong section lol. Ive been used to been spoon fed by Apple and need to switch my brain back on.....THANKYOU
27th April 2012, 10:20 PM |#4  
Gunman84's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Љубљана
Thanks Meter: 175
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by hammers4life

I thought I might be in the wrong section lol. Ive been used to been spoon fed by Apple and need to switch my brain back on.....THANKYOU

Funny
28th April 2012, 01:27 AM |#5  
shingers5's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag liverpool
Thanks Meter: 3,107
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by hammers4life

I thought I might be in the wrong section lol. Ive been used to been spoon fed by Apple and need to switch my brain back on.....THANKYOU

Lol nice laugh this. Yeah after rooting need to flash recovery as that's needed to install custom Roms. After flashing recovery you need Chinese boot.img and Rom of your choice

Sent from my HTC Sensation XL with Beats Audio X315e using xda premium
5th May 2012, 08:52 PM |#6  
Senior Member
Flag Dublin
Thanks Meter: 28
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by shingers5

Lol nice laugh this. Yeah after rooting need to flash recovery as that's needed to install custom Roms. After flashing recovery you need Chinese boot.img and Rom of your choice

Sent from my HTC Sensation XL with Beats Audio X315e using xda premium

But in the tutorials you say that the rcmix3d needs to be flashed first for those switching from stock ROM.

Sent from my HTC Sensation XL with Beats Audio X315e using XDA
5th May 2012, 10:02 PM |#7  
benjamin.j.goodwin's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Northampton
Thanks Meter: 5,005
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alsager

But in the tutorials you say that the rcmix3d needs to be flashed first for those switching from stock ROM.

Sent from my HTC Sensation XL with Beats Audio X315e using XDA

It's a suggestion but not a necessity, the reason it instructs to do so is that this is the method followed by many. Plus there were less ROMs then.

By all means do that, or instead of flashing RCMix3D when it says to, just pick one you like and flash.
The Following User Says Thank You to benjamin.j.goodwin For This Useful Post: [ View ]
5th May 2012, 10:14 PM |#8  
Senior Member
Flag Dublin
Thanks Meter: 28
 
More
thanks
Last edited by Alsager; 5th May 2012 at 10:44 PM.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes